The 411 on Kohlrabi Storage

June 18, 2007 at 7:47 am 7 comments

kohlrabi-prepare-to-be-prepared.jpg

I wanted to write just a quick word on how to select and store kohlrabi.  This time of the year (early summer), look for kohlrabi that is about 2 inches in diameter with unmarked skin and healthy looking leaves.  In autumn, you can use bigger kohlrabi, up to 4 inches in diameter, without running the risk of getting one that’s too tough and woody. 

To store kohlrabi, snip off the leaves close to the bulbous portion (which is really a swollen stem, not a root bulb).  Then trim off the stems from the leaves.  Store the leaves in a ziploc bag with a damp paper towel.  Store the bulbous stem in separate ziploc bag without a paper towel.  Both will keep for a week if stored properly in your crisper drawer. 

p.s. – I promise this kohlrabi posts stint will be done by the end of this week.  With squash and baby leeks coming on at the farm, a change in the recipe line-up is sure to follow. 

Entry filed under: Extra Credit. Tags: .

Something Original Sweet Beet Treat & More

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brooke  |  June 19, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Great blog! I’m so jealous of your close proximity to farm fresh produce. I joined a CSA this year, but would love to have a garden big enough to feed my family. Alas, my townhouse will not support that, so for now I will have to live with CSA and farmer’s market produce. I am looking forward to see what you do with your fresh food :)

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  June 20, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Thanks, Brooke! Yes, I’m definitely spoiled with the farm being so close at hand. But at least you have a CSA! They’re so popular here in Philadelphia that I couldn’t join one the past two years as they were all filled up.

    Reply
  • 3. Gracia  |  July 13, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Had to look up how to store kohlrabi since I’m taking some to a BBQ this weekend in my relish tray. I feel very luck to live in Omaha NE because 1 mile from where I live and on my way to the nearest grocery store we have Wenninghoff Farms, a lovely farmers market. They grow everything in our short growing season and we love it. My daughter and I also have our own vege garden with peas, beans, tomatoes and cukes but we don’t grow much else. We eat fresh all summer long and well into the fall. I make salsa and spaghetti sauce etc for the winter months. Like your website!

    Reply
  • 4. Gary Hively  |  July 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Hi, I’ve never used the leaves before. What do you suggest for them. Is it to be used like kale or swiss chard? Thanks. Gary

    Reply
  • 5. livsmedel med vitamin b5  |  May 11, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    livsmedel med vitamin b5…

    [...]1 whoah this weblog is excellent i like studying your articles. Stay up the g bt[...]…

    Reply
  • 6. maggie  |  October 7, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    I’ve read you sauté or steam the leaves like spinach. I’m also going to make some Asian rolls with rice wraps and going to use both parts in the wrap.

    Reply
  • 7. How to: Storing vegetables, part two « Neogen Blog  |  June 14, 2014 at 10:02 am

    […] Kohlrabi: Cut leaves and stems that are close to the bulbous portion. You can keep the leaves in a plastic bag with a damp paper towel, and the bulbous portion in a plastic bag without a towel. Both can go in the crisper. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 419 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

