What’s Up, Doc?

September 27, 2007 at 10:14 am 9 comments

Use fresh carrots and grate them yourself for really good cake

It’s funny the things that spur you to make a recipe sometimes… This time it was a leftover gift card from last Christmas that led me to buy a couple pretty plates at Anthropology that then in turn made me think of how nice a piece of cake would look atop those plates that then reminded me that I had sweet fresh carrots at home that would make an excellent carrot cake. 

Grated Carrots

I think the above photo justifies the purchase of the pretty plates even before I got around to making the cake.  I tip my hat to this plate – without it I likely would’t have made cake with the farm’s sweet little Purple Haze and Kinko carrots, making my best carrot cake to date thanks to the intense natural flavors of the farm fresh carrots grated right before I tossed them in the batter. 

spices and shredded carrots

Carrot cake’s nothing new or exciting for me, but I’ve always “cheated” in the past by using the bagged shredded carrots from the supermarket since I’m a little lazy and usually pressed for time.  I’ll not make that mistake again.  If you haven’t tried getting local carrots to put in your cake, you’d be well advised to do so.   The other key, of course, is the freshness of your spices.  People – if you’re aren’t grating your own nutmeg by now, get yourself a microplane and see what you’re missing! 

Cake batter coming together with grated carrots and dried fruit

Let’s talk about the dried fruit and nut component of the traditional carrot cake recipe, shall we?  The nuts, in my opinion, are easy.  Skip them.  Alright, some of you might not agree so I’ll try to be more helpful than that.  I believe that nuts in baked goods are best when a) they are toasted first and b) they are finely chopped or ground so they don’t interfer with the natural “crumb” of the cake/cookie/bread/etc.   Please feel free to beg to differ, but that’s my two cents for what it’s worth.  As for the dried fruit, most carrot cake recipes call for raisins.  I’ve found that mixing it up a litte bit makes a richer mix of flavors – sweet raisins, tangy cranberries, tart cherries, and floral blueberries.  Always give the dried fruit a quick soak in hot water while you mix up the rest of the ingredients before draining and adding to the batter.  This plumps them up a bit and resorts some of their juicy flavors.

I shoud warn you though that this cake is prone to cause household fighting by times.  D and I both wanted the last piece…he got it in the end.  Lucky for me, carrots are a root vegetable that’ll be around on the farm for several more weeks (and keep for awhile too) so I’ll have plenty of time to make more cake.

Naked Carrot Cake - Oh My!

CARROT CAKE
Adapted from The Metropolitan Bakery Cookbook

Cake

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
2 t. ground cinnamon
1/4 t. ground allspice
1 t. freshly grated nutmeg
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1 t. baking soda
1/2 c. extra virgin olive oil
3/4 c. pear sauce (or apple sauce)
1 1/2 c. sugar
4 eggs
3 c. grated carrots
3/4 c. mixed dried fruit (mine were raisins, cranberries,and blueberries)
1 c. toasted pecans, coarsely chopped (optional)
2 T. hot water

Cream Cheese Icing

6 oz. cream cheese
3 T. butter
1 t. vanilla extract
1 c. confectioners’ sugar

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Icing

Preheat the oven to 350 F and prepare a bundt pan with a good coat of nonstick baking spray. Set out the ingredients for the icing so they come to room temperature.
 
Sift together the flour, spices and baking powder and soda and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together oil, pear sauce and sugar until everything is well combined.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Slowly stir in the flour mixture until just combined. Do not over mix!  Add the carrots, dried fruit and pecans (if using). Finally add the hot water. 

Pour the batter into the prepared bundt pan and bake on the center oven rack for 45 minutes.  Test with a skewer inserted into the center to see if it comes out clean. When the skewer is clean, remove cake from oven and allow to cool completely on a wire rack. 

While the cake is cooling, make the icing by beating together the cream cheese and butter.  Add the vanilla and beat again.  Add half the confectioners’ sugar and stir slowly to start and then beat well to get rid of lumps.  Taste the icing to determine if it’s sweet enough for you.  If not, add more sugar until you’ve reached your desired sweetness. 

When cake is completely cooled, remove from bundt pan and put on a nice plate.  Spread icing over top and sides.  Garnish with a very light dusting of cinnamon and a few chopped nuts if desired. 

(serves 12 – or two if you’re at my house)

Carrot Cake on a Pretty Plate

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: .

Thinkin’ Outside the Rind It’s Cooling Off!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Panda  |  September 27, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Mmmmm.

    Reply
  • 2. taylor  |  September 27, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I go into Anthropologie just to look at the plates; I want to buy one of each. In my dreams I have a pantry just for china.

    I’ll eat any nut in cake – fine or coarse – but that’s because I’m a sugar whore. I’ll agree that they’re better fine, though.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  September 27, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Taylor – When you get that pantry just for china, will you let me come borrow plates? I’ll “pay” you with lots of sugary treats! :)

    Reply
  • 4. Joanna  |  September 27, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    I like the idea of varying the dried fruit! I’ll have to keep this cake in mind for some dance potluck…

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  September 28, 2007 at 6:14 am

    Joanna – This would be great for any potluck. In fact, I just tried a new method of making individual servings of cake last night…sorta an update on the cupcake. Stay tuned for that, which is probably quite useful for potlucks too. :)

    Reply
  • 6. Tina  |  August 1, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Sounds divine!

    Reply
  • 7. Deconstructed Pear & Pecan Salad « Straight from the Farm  |  November 22, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    […] Bean Curry Roasted Beets over Gingered Millet Saffron Pan Seared Brussel Sprouts and Cauliflower Carrot Cake Creamy Cauliflower Garlic Soup Cranberry Vanilla Coffee Cake with White Chocolate Ganache […]

    Reply
  • […] I’m rather traditional when it comes to my savory side dishes on the dinner table.  I like them to be straightforward in their savory classification, and glazed carrots have always been a little too sweet for me.  I know, I’m being a stickler, but that’s just the way I feel about basic glazed carrots.   When I want my carrots sweet, I put them in deliciously moist cakes.  […]

    Reply
  • 9. julia jefferson  |  April 13, 2013 at 5:46 am

    julia jefferson…

    […]c if you always use your swimming pools, you will need to use some quality po ua[…]…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

