Inside Out, But Oh So Right

November 21, 2007 at 11:11 am 18 comments

Pumpkin pie truffles in gift box 

I gave you pumpkin pop-ups with brown sugar icing for Halloween.  Now I’m going to give you something even better for Thanksgiving — a very grown-up piece of candy that I’d venture to say even trumps the pop-ups.  Wanna peak under the wrapping?  I give you Inside Out Pumpkin Pie Truffles!  “Inside out” because the “filling” is rolled in a “crust” of graham cracker crumbs.  Or, if that only makes sense in my warped brain, just call them Pumpkin Pie Truffles. 

Pumpkin puree and brandy

I am an artist and pumpkin is my canvas.  I’m not saying this with the least bit of pretension (okay, maybe a teeny bit).  It’s just that any time I tackle pumpkin (in this case, the very last of the pumpkin puree from the cabin), I get a little wacky and creative.  Like all art, some people appreciate my gastronomic tapestries more than others.  For instance, I entered these little lovelies in a PIE contest yesterday, but they didn’t win.  Disappointing?  Yes.  But considering it was a pie contest and these, for all their virtues, are not pie, it was to be expected. 

White chocolate and graham crackers

Oh, you want to know why I entered them into a pie contest?  It was a work thing.  See, at my office there’s this annual pie (making, not eating) contest right before Thanksgiving, and since it’s nothing terribly official, you can enter just about anything you want as long as the word “pie” shows up somewhere in your entry.  Commuter cyclist that I am, hauling a true-blue pie into work wasn’t really an option.  Truffles seemed a good alternative.  Pumpkin pie truffles seemed a very good alternative…. This is how my zany mind works. 

Melted chocolate pumpkin mixture Chocolate pumpkin mixture once its set up

D and I are also trekking to Albany for Thanksgiving and pie isn’t likely to hold up to that trip very well either.  Wrapped in the little “take-out” boxes I printed and assembled, the truffles will be the perfect Thanksgiving hostess gift.   Awww, so cute, right?

But really, despite the lack of a blue ribbon beside these babies, I can’t imagine something more delicious than the marriage of white chocolate, pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.  Oh yea, and a little brandy.  Can you? 

My army of truffles, lined up for duty

Since all the cool  kids are doin’ it, I thought I’d wrap up this post with a collection of Turkey Day table worthy recipes from the archives, one for each course.    

AppetizerChestnut Leek Parcels
Soup: Roasted Rosemary Potato Leek Soup
Salad: Candy Cane Beet Salad with Orange and Fennel
Main Dish: Caramelized Leeks and Herbed Goat Cheese Lasagna in Roasted Butternut Squash Sauce
Side Dish: Sorrel and Chevre Eggless Quiche
DessertApple Dumplings
That Nibble You Have After You Wake Up From Your 3 Hour NapBeet Chips

Woops, I couldn't help eating one

INSIDE OUT PUMPKIN PIE TRUFFLES
A Straight from the Farm Original (loosely based off EagleBrand Truffle Recipe)

4 1/2 c. white chocolate (the best brand you can find)
1/3 c. pumpkin puree
14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk
1 T. brandy or cognac
1 vanilla bean
3 t. cinnamon
1 t. freshly ground nutmeg
1/2 t. ground cloves
2 c. graham cracker crumbs

In a double boiler or large heavy saucepan, melt chocolate and condensed milk together over low heat. Once chocolate is melted and smooth, add pumpkin and brandy/cognac and stir to combine.  Cut vanilla bean in half and scrap out each half using the backside of a knife.  Discard pod and add beans to pumpkin chocolate mixture.  Stir in the remaining spices and remove from heat. 

Chill mixture for 45 minutes or until it sets up and rolls easily into 1 inch balls.  Roll balls using your hands (this creates a sticky surface on the truffles) and then roll in the graham cracker crumbs to coat well.

Chill finished truffles for at least 30 minutes before serving.  Package in a nice box and present as a gift to your holiday party hosts or coworkers.  To store truffles, keep refrigerated.  They also freeze well. 

(makes 50-60 truffles)

Inside out Pumpkin Pie Truffles

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: .

Filling In The Blanks Quotable Kamp

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marimann  |  November 21, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    This recipes sounds really delicious, they look really delicious, I bet they are- really delicious. I love truffles, mostly of the dark chocolate sort, but pumpkin with graham crackers, white chocolate and brandy may just have me going to the liquor store. I’ve been making pumpkin/date/walnut bread in my crockpot today and the house smells like pumpkin pie- just the right aroma for reading your post! I like the little boxes too….

    Reply
  • 2. taylor  |  November 21, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    Yum! These ARE delicious. (I sampled one.) Halloween, Thanksgiving…can’t wait until Christmas.

    Reply
  • 3. Patricia Scarpin  |  November 22, 2007 at 5:30 am

    These are luscious!
    One can never go wrong with truffles.

    Reply
  • 4. Dayna  |  November 22, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    These are darling and delicious.
    I’m having one of those “Why didn’t I think of this ?” moments.
    Fabulous!

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  November 22, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Marimann – Dark chocolate truffles are definitely my standard favorite but these are perfectly seasonal so, like Eddy’s Pumpkin Ice Cream, I’ll have to dedicate at least one month of my year to eating these truffles exclusively. :) I was actually toying with the idea of coating them in dark chocolate instead of the crumbs….I still might do that as my first batch is just about gone.

    Your bread sounds divine! Is the recipe on your site? I’ll have to check it ou. Happy Thanksgiving! :)

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  November 22, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Taylor – I’m so glad you got a chance to try these, btw. I’d offer more but they’re almost gone. Woops! Time to make another batch. Maybe they can be my white elephant food gift at the bloggers meet-up. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  November 22, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Thanks, Patricia! You’re chocolate cake from the other day looked lucious too! :)

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  November 22, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Dayna – I’m glad you like the idea! It was definitely a “eureka!” moment for me when I tasted the first one and realized my wacky idea worked! :)

    Reply
  • 9. Shannalee  |  October 29, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    I’ve been looking for just the thing to make with my pumpkin puree I made last night. This looks great! I’m going to try it tonight!

    Reply
  • 10. Begin with Pumpkin | food loves writing  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:05 am

    […] Pumpkin Pie Truffles Adapted from Straight from the Farm […]

    Reply
  • 11. ingrid  |  December 29, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Okay, I’ve printed this recipe out, too! Most of your photos on this post did not show up but who needs ‘em?! Love the idea! and I’m shocked you didn’t win the blue ribbon!
    ~ingrid

    Reply
    • 12. Jennie  |  December 29, 2008 at 3:20 pm

      Welcome, Ingrid! I’m so glad you found the site! And you are certainly making the rounds through all my favorite recipes. Love the comments! Keep ‘em coming. :) Thanks for alerting me to the photos being on the fritz. They should be fixed. I hope you enjoy all the recipes!!!

      Reply
  • […] I recently made another batch of these Pumpkn Pie Truffles for a holiday event and was reminded by all the “ohmygosh” comments that this is a recipe worth revisiting, especially around the holidays when homemade edible gifts are very handy to have for those sometimes tough-to-buy-for coworkers, neighbors, and hostesses.    Below is the recipe, but if you’d like to read more about how it was developed, stop on over at the original post in the archives.  […]

    Reply
  • 14. stephanja  |  December 21, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Hi, My name is Stephanja..my sister really wants me to make some pumpkin pie truffles like some she tried at our local mall…your recipe seems very good, but I have one question. The truffles she tried were covered in chocolate..do you think if I took your recipe and just added the chocolate at the end it would turn out okay? Thanks a lot..

    Reply
  • 16. "a cool way to improve"  |  October 12, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    “a cool way to improve”

    “[…]x My spouse and i ended up being really joyful when Edward could round up his nz[…]”

    Reply
  • 17. infrared light therapy  |  August 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    I really like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and
    coverage! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve you guys to my blogroll.

    Reply
  • 18. Eleonor  |  August 27, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

