I’m Blushing…

March 11, 2008 at 2:31 pm 13 comments

My entry for Click! Metal 
My entry for Click! Metal photo event.

…or maybe it’s just the sunburn I got in Portugal!  Yes, that’s right, I’M BACK!   But am unfortunately short on time today as I come back into orbit from what was a truly amazing trip to Portugal.  I will definitely be filling you in on all the details and showing off a bunch of atmospheric photos in some upcoming posts. 

But right now, I wanted to toot my horn just a teeny bit and tell you about being awarded two wonderful (and prestigious among food bloggers) food photography honors in recent days!  What a lovely homecoming surprise! 

Click Flour Badge   rosemary olive oil potato bread

My picture of Rosemary Olive Oil Potato Bread got a blue ribbon for the Click! Flour Photo Event.  Original post and recipe are here.

DMBLGIT February Badge  Georgia Peanut Soup

My picture of Georgia Peanut Soup got a red ribbon for the DMBLGIT February 2008 contest.  Original post and recipe are here

Thank you!    Obrigada!    Merci! 

Also lovely to come home to were all the comments everyone left while I was gone – I promise to make my way through responding to them all as the week progresses.  I might also blush a bit to admit that I missed this little dialogue thing we’ve got going here…   Let the good times roll! 

Entry filed under: Extra Credit, Worth Mentioning. Tags: , , , , .

Quotable Hart Muitos Mercados

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Congrats! Congrats!! And welcome back! :)

    Reply
  • 2. gintoino  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Congratulations! Its good to have you back to “this little dialogue thing”
    I’m so happy you enjoyed your trip to Portugal. You were very lucky with the weather, so I imagine you got quite a sunburn!
    Looking forward to see thos pics
    Welcome back!

    Reply
  • 3. bee  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    congrats, jennie. you have mail.

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  March 12, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Thanks, Rachel! Can’t wait to share the details with you! :)

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  March 12, 2008 at 7:53 am

    Gintoino – Thanks! I did get so very lucky with the weather in Portugal…in fact, I meant to ask you if that was typical for this time of year. The weather reports I checked just before leaving said it would be rainy and cool. But for the entire two weeks I was there, it didn’t rain at all, was brilliant sunshine, and very warm. It was amazing! Pictures still being downloaded and sorted but will have them ready soon. I need your help though…there was this one pastry I got from the market in Porto and I really really want to know what it was and if there is a recipe for it! I have a picture I’ll post soon, but to get your started thinking, it was a long flat flakey pastry with custard on top and toasted coconut flakes all over. It had a very coconut flavor. It was SO good! Help me find it, por favor! :)

    Reply
  • 6. gintoino  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Hum…I’m trying to think what could it be….Was it something like this?

    And the weather isn’t like this…this has been a very warm winter/spring. Specially up north is usually is cooler and rainier than this year.

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  March 12, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    no, not quite. Here, I got the picture uploaded… what do you think it is? http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2089/2328888639_bf9be3e330.jpg

    Well, I’m very glad I got so lucky with the weather! First time that’s every happened on a trip. Usually I get the massive rain storms for a week straight. :)

    Reply
  • 8. gintoino  |  March 12, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Ok, I got the picture. That’s not a traditional pastry so probably the recipe wont be easy to find. That’s what we usually call a “folhado” ( a big group of pastry made with that special flaky pastry called “massa folhada”) Massa folhada is a special type of pastry (not very easy to do I think) that involves lots of butter and kneading. I will try to get you the recipe. ;-)

    Reply
  • 9. Christine  |  March 12, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Yay! Congrats! And welcome back, I missed you!

    Reply
  • 10. gintoino  |  March 13, 2008 at 3:53 am

    Hello again jennie :-)
    Just sent you a recipe of “massa folhada”. I hope that with that it will be easyer to replicate the pastry you had in Portugal

    Reply
  • 11. Jennie  |  March 13, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks so much, Gintoino! The recipe looks a little “scary”, but I think I can make it work. For as good as this tasted, it will be worth a few experimental tries! :)

    Reply
  • 12. michelle  |  March 13, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    congrats – those are really lovely photos.

    Reply
  • 13. jugalbandi » CLICK: Metal. The winners are …  |  April 7, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    [...] Filter Coffee @ Samaithu Paarkalaam Steel of light @ teczcape – an escape to food Patina Pretties @ Straight From The Farm Steaming @ Indian Food Rocks Idli Stand @ When My Soup Came Alive Kitchen Reflections @ Dalla Mia [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 423 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

