A Vanilla Rose

June 30, 2008 at 4:29 pm 6 comments

Rosemary

I bet you and your friends have a few summertime traditions.  Maybe an annual girls or guys day at the beach?  An annual 4th of July BBQ?  Maybe even a camping trip?  A group of my friends, who have long scattered across several state lines and life stages (singles, newly weds, divorcees, and new parents are all among them), come together once a year on a Saturday in June to sit under the same tree in a big back yard, drink a lot of beer, play horseshoes and pretend for a little while that we’re still carefree and 20. 

Doesn't it look so refreshing

Quite frankly though, I’ve outgrown what little taste I had for a keg of lager beer.   So, this year I decided I’d try a taking along the ingredients for a cocktail.  While I do like some traditions, I’m always on the hunt for a brand spankin’ new culinary concoction, drinks recipes being no exception.   Plus, like any reunion attendee who’s honest with him or herself, I wanted to bring something funky and interesting to boost my “cool” factor.

Steeping the syrup

Resulting syrup

Spurred by my success with the Lavender Lemon Soda recipe, I thought I’d try another simple syrup infused with a fresh herb that would add a little somethin’-somethin’ to my cocktail.  The rosemary plants in my garden called out to me immediately.  But I really didn’t know what to put with the flavor of rosemary in a sweet context (which brings up a question: have any of you ever had a “savory” cocktail, besides a Bloody Mary?  I couldn’t think of any).  I remembered the Lemon Rosemary cake from last autumn, but took a sharp right turn from that formula when I noticed the long-neglected bottle of vanilla vodka that I’d been using to prop up some cookbooks. 

Stoli vanilla and vanilla beans

Fresh rosemary and a vanilla bean steeped in a warm simple syrup would make a heavenly perfume, save for the sticky factor.   The resulting cocktail was heavenly too.  But I think the next batch I make will skip the vodka and become a lemonade of a most complex and captivating flavor. 

Cheers!

Rosemary on ice

Vanilla Rosemary Spritzer
A Straight from the Farm Original

1 large bunch of fresh rosemary (5-6 stems)
1 vanilla bean
3/4 C. sugar or sugar substitute
1 C. water
Vanilla vodka
Club soda
Crushed ice

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the rosemary (reserve a few of the tops of the stem for garnish), vanilla bean, sugar and water.  Bring to a gentle simmer for 2-3 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool for at least an hour.  Strain the syrup into a jar or other container and chill until ready to use. 

To make the cocktail, combine 2 parts syrup with 1 part vodka over ice and fill the glass with club soda.   Adjust ratio according to taste.  Garnish with a sprig of rosemary and serve.

(makes enough syrup for 6-8 drinks)

Vanilla Rosemary Spritzer

Entry filed under: Beverages, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Beauty Bounty Happy Fourth!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dawn of Dawn's Recipes  |  June 30, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Sounds awesome! Now I know what to do with all that rosemary I’ve got growing on my porch!

    Reply
  • 2. bee  |  June 30, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    how about a rosemary margarita?

    Reply
  • 3. Mary  |  June 30, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Yummy looking beverage! And there’s an award for you on my blog!

    Reply
  • 4. Holly  |  July 1, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    one of my favorite cocktails that i guess would be considered “savory” is the dirty martini. :) extra dirty with lots of olive juice. mmmm.

    Reply
  • 5. Simply...Gluten-free  |  July 3, 2008 at 6:02 am

    It is so nice that your and your friends have a tradition. This drink looks so refreshing.

    Reply
  • 6. cindy  |  July 5, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    i was going to suggest a dirty martini…extra dirty as well. your spritzer sounds wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 423 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

