Happy Fourth!

July 4, 2008 at 12:20 pm 6 comments

Swiss chard

For those of you here in the States, I hope you are enjoying your long holiday weekend with lots of family gatherings and fireworks displays.  I’m visiting my small hometown, where there’s an annual festival with one of those Norman Rockwell-esque Main Street parades, including the local high school’s marching band and dozens of homemade floats.  There’s also plenty of chicken barbeque and homemade ice cream flowing. 

raw manicotti

I’ve also been picking some homegrown blueberries here on my parents’ farm.  I can’t wait to get a recipe together with them to share with you.  Right now though, it’s time I pass along this manicotti recipe I’ve been hoarding for a week.  This dish is a great way to sneak healthy vegetables past picky eaters at the dinner or picnic table.  It tastes like a traditional cheesy Italian indulgence, but instead this manicotti is hiding the vitamin and mineral one-two punch of Swiss chard and broccoli. 

Homemade sauce

If you’re a fan of only one of these vegetables, the recipe can easily be adapted to just using four cups of one or the other.  The original recipe didn’t call for it, but next time I think I’ll add a little mozzarella on top too to help keep the manicotti more moist. 

Mixing the filling

I’ve been growing Swiss chard in both my garden and in pots on my deck.  Container vegetables are a new experiment for me now that we have a huge deck right off the kitchen.  I’ve really been impressed by not only how well my plants are growing and producing, but also by how ornamental they are.  Don’t hesitate to tuck in some Swiss chard with your flowering annuals, either in containers or beds.  The foliage is really quite lovely, especially on the multicolored varieties.  I can’t wait to see the yellow stems of my Swiss chard accentuated by the yellow pear tomatoes growing in the same container; delicious AND pretty!

Swiss chard in container

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a dish of homemade chocolate ice cream callin’ my name.  So tell me, what are you doing to celebrate Independence Day?   

Stuffing the manicotti

Swiss Chard & Broccoli Baked Manicotti
Adapted from Vegetarian: the best ever recipe collection

For the filling:

12 manicotti tubes, cooked according to package directions
3 C. broccoli florets, steamed or boiled until tender
1 C. chopped swiss chard, blanched and drained
1 ½ C. fresh breadcrumbs
2/3 C. heavy cream or milk
4 T. olive oil
1 C. low fat ricotta cheese
Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
½ C. grated Parmesan or Pecorino cheese
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the sauce:

2 T. olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
3 garlic cloves, crushed and minced
1 large (29 oz) can of diced tomatoes
2 T. tomato paste
1 t. dried oregano
1 t. dried marjoram or thyme
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
Pine nuts (optional)

In a blender, process the broccoli and swiss chard until smooth.  Set aside.  In a medium bowl, combine breadcrumbs with the cream/milk and olive oil.  Stir until well combined.  Add the ricotta, broccoli/chard puree, nutmeg and half of the grated cheese.  Mix, season with salt and pepper, and set aside.

To make the sauce, heat the remaining olive oil in a frying pan and add the onions and garlic.  Cook, stirring often, until softened. Stir in the tomato paste until onions are coated.  Add the diced tomatoes (juice too) and seasonings.  Stir and bring to a boil for 2 or 3 minutes.  Pour half of the sauce in a large greased baking dish. 

Preheat the oven to 375 F.  Using a piping bag or a ziplock bag with a small hole cut in one corner, carefully fill the cooked manicotti tubes with the filling.  It might help to stand the tubes up on a cutting board, or just pipe in filling in each end.  Place filled tubes in a single layer in the baking dish with the sauce. 

When all the manicotti are filled and in the dish, spoon the remaining sauce over the top and sprinkle with the remaining cheese. Top with pine nuts if desired.  Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden and bubbly.  Serve hot.

(serves 6)

Swiss Chard and Broccoli Baked Manicotti

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

A Vanilla Rose Here’s the Scoop

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. De in D.C.  |  July 4, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I adore swiss chard. I’ve been growing some in the built-in planters at the end of the deck, and it’s doing wonderfully there, and looks so pretty!

    This recipe looks divine. I was going to make some chard/basil pesto tomorrow, but might need to do this instead.

    Reply
  • 2. gintoino  |  July 4, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    What can I say jennie? It looks delicious as all your recipes and I’m sure I will try them in the near future. And now for the really interesting part, home made chocolate icecream?! Where do you live again? I’m going there! ;-)

    Reply
  • 3. VegeYum Ganga  |  July 4, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    It looks so delicious. Here the greens are wonderful at this time of year. And those tomatoes look divine too.

    I have a few small plants in a pot – I keep picking the leaves as soon as they are big enough to be legally picked, and I make tomato, orange, pear and feta salads with them. I am not sure they will ever grow big enough to cook, if I keep picking them this way.

    Reply
  • 4. Christine  |  July 4, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I have swiss chard in a container as well, but it’s not really growing as quickly as I expected…I’m a little anxious for it to grow up! (I’m the young leaves would be fantastic, but I’d have to pick the whole box at once.) As soon as it matures, I’m trying this manicotti…

    My container zucchini hasn’t been so fruitful (just one squash so far), but I’ve had a couple of Early Girl tomatoes, and my Roma tomato plant has lots of green ones coming along. I also have high hopes for my container cucumbers, but they look like they need another couple weeks. We’re not talking massive bounty here, but I love them anyway!

    Reply
  • 5. Pann  |  July 6, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Chard is really fun to grow… and it will survive winter around here, too. I have a plant that I put in around October last year, and it’s only now starting to flower and go to seed. Really a wonderful veggie, too!

    Can you show some pictures that give us an idea for the size of your veggie containers?

    Reply
  • 6. jan schultz  |  November 30, 2012 at 4:55 am

    You have great recipes yet you do not have a friendly print button. WHY?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

