The Unthinkable

August 13, 2008 at 4:18 pm 8 comments

yellow tomato

I turned on the heat the other night!  Do you know how crazy a statement that is for mid-August in southeastern Pennsylvania??  It’s utterly unthinkable.  But the unthinkable happened when the normally muggy hot night time temperatures started falling to the 50s this week. The 50s!!  I adore autumn weather so I was in my glory, sporting sweaters for my early morning work in the garden and wearing my favorite threadbare hooded sweatshirt while I studied on the porch in the evenings. 

Eggplant

I immediately started thinking about all the stuff I needed to get done in the garden before frost, like dividing some of perennials and digging out the sweet potatoes.  I had to stop my racing thoughts and remind myself that it was still just August and that things will no doubt warm up again for quite some time before autumn is truly here.  I have to say, though, that if it stayed like this, I wouldn’t complain a bit. 

Carrots

Besides thoughts of putting the garden to bed for the winter, I started craving soup.  And not just a light summery soup either.  Nope, I wanted a hearty thick soup that warms you from the inside out.   A “stew” really…  I started looking over the basket of produce I’d just brought in from the garden and contemplating my options: lots of yellow cherry tomatoes, a big bunch of King Midas carrots, and some lovely tender Black Beauty eggplants.  A quick search and I found the perfect recipe: Roasted Tomato and Eggplant Soup

Ready to roast

I really enjoy the mildness of yellow tomatoes, no matter how they’re served.  I believe this soup benefited from the lower acidity of having yellow tomatoes in it.  They also gave it a lovely hue of gold.  That being said, the original recipe called for your average red tomato and I’m sure that’d be fine too.  The roasted eggplant and garbanzo beans impart an almost meatiness to the soup (and certainly a nuttiness from the beans).  I was timid with my curry powder but next time I might very well double it, especially when the real chill of winter comes. 

I’m still shaking my head.  Thick hot soup.  In August. 

Who’d have thought it?!? 

Soup pot

Roasted Eggplant and Tomato Soup
Adapted from Everyday Food

2 pints yellow/orange cherry tomatoes, halved lengthwise
2 C. carrots, sliced into thin rounds
8-10 garlic cloves
4 T. olive oil
Coarse salt and ground pepper
2 medium eggplant, cut into 3/4-inch chunks
1 can (15.5 oz) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 t. curry powder
2-2 ½ C. water
fresh cilantro, for garnish

Preheat oven to 425°F, with racks on top and bottom.

On a rimmed baking sheet lined with foil, toss together tomatoes, carrots, garlic, 2 tablespoons of oil, a pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper. Spread in a single layer, with the tomatoes cut sides down.

On another rimmed baking sheet lined with foil, toss together eggplant, chickpeas, curry powder, remaining two tablespoons of oil, a pinch of salt and pepper. Spread in a single layer. Place both sheets in oven (tomato mixture on the top rack). Roast until tender, tossing mixtures halfway through, about 35 minutes.

Purée tomato mixture (including juices) in a blender or food processor until smooth. Add a little water if needed to get it going.  Transfer to a large saucepan. Stir in eggplant mixture and add enough water to thin to the desired consistency. Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Season with salt and pepper. Serve, sprinkled with cilantro; garnish with toasted bread if desired.

(serves 4)

Roasted Tomato and Eggplant Soup

Entry filed under: Recipes, Soup. Tags: , , , , .

Cartoons & Ice Cream A Comeback Story

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I am in NEPA and I definitely thought about turning the heat on, but pulled out the down comforter instead. The next morning I begrudgingly put long (yoga) pants and a hoodie on though, until the sun warmed the house back up! Brrrrr….

    Reply
  • 2. eggsonsunday  |  August 14, 2008 at 8:25 am

    We are in Central NY, and have been experiencing the same 50-degree overnight temps…I love it too. :) I briefly thought yesterday about whether or not I should worry about my basil and frost, but then (like you) reminded myself that it’s only August and hopefully won’t reach that point for another 2 months or so!

    Reply
  • 3. grace  |  August 14, 2008 at 11:02 am

    i can’t help but feel like it’s too early for 50-degree temps! it’s never too early for a soup as awesome as this though. i’d eat it on the hottest day of the year. :)

    Reply
  • 4. Maria  |  August 14, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I like the looks of this one, even on a hot summer day!

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  August 14, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Well, the heat is back, but I hope you’ll all try the soup anyway! :)

    Reply
  • 6. sharon  |  August 15, 2008 at 6:56 am

    This soup looks amazing!!! The weather in paris is chilly as well, I’m cooking up a Moroccan soup for lunch! Soup in August! Who woulda’ thought!

    Reply
  • 7. Sasha  |  August 15, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Yum. We had some autumnal weather a few weeks ago; I ended up making pasta with kale and sausage from Mark Bittman (http://bitten.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/04/11/last-of-the-winter-pastas/). Very unvegetarian, but surprisingly yummy!

    Reply
  • 8. Creamy Cauliflower Garlic Soup « Straight from the Farm  |  December 5, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    […] I hadn’t made a big pot of soup since…um, let’s see…filing through the archives…ah, there!  Well, August wasn’t so long ago.  But before that, the last batch was made in January.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

