Sour Sendoff

August 26, 2008 at 11:15 am 6 comments

Last of the lemon cucumbers

I had a sad moment this weekend when I surveyed my garden and realized it was time for the cucumber vines to be ripped out.  They’d just maxed themselves out over the last three months, and they didn’t have any proverbial gas left in the tank to do their cucumber making thing.  So, I wrestled them off the tomato vines they’d got entangled with and tossed them in the compost heap…but not before I searched each vine for any last little lemon cucumbers.  

Fresh dill

It’s funny how many cucumbers a person misses when they’re harvesting.  Those little (or big) buggers like to hide under the leaves and blend in with their surroundings, evading plucking yet another time.  Does this happen to anyone else or am I just really bad at picking cucumbers?  Well, in any case, I discovered some mammoth lemon cucumbers once I had the vines held up by the toes, turning them every direction to see what was on them. 

Sliced cucumbers

Some were the size of softballs and must have been on there all season!  Of course, once cucumbers – lemon and regular slicing varieties alike – get too big, they’re really no good for eating.  I hate to give away trade secrets, but I also like to inform my readers so here’s a bit of farmers market wisdom for you:  If a farmer’s got a great deal on giant cucumbers, don’t be suckered in.  Even if a cucumber the size of a child’s baseball bat can be all yours for the very small price of a one humble dollar, it’s not even worth that.  But you’re all such savvy seasonal eaters, you probably already knew that.

Sour Cucumbers with Fresh Dill

But let’s get back to today’s recipe for Sour Cucumbers with Fresh Dill. After I’d pitched the softball sized lemon cucumbers (ha, get it?) into the compost heap along with the spent vines, I had a grand sum of five reasonably sized cucumbers left to use in a final cucumber recipe for the season.  I wanted them to be showcased, not smothered, in a simple dish so I could savor the last homegrown cucumbers I’ll have for many months. 

Adding onions to cucumbers

I’ve made this cucumber-turned-nearly-pickle preparation many times in the past, but just recently realized I’d never shared it with you fine folks.  Really, nothing could be simpler for a summer side dish, and the cucumber slices get even better after a few days in the fridge.  As such, I plan on eating just a few bites at a time next to my lunchtime sandwich so I can make the final cucumber harvest last as long as possible. 

 A bite

Sour Cucumber with Fresh Dill
Taken from The Cook’s Encyclopedia of Four Ingredient Cooking

5-6 lemon or 2 small regular cucumbers
½ large onion
4-5 T. white wine or apple cider vinegar
2-3 T. chopped fresh dill

Using a mandolin or sharp knife, slice the cucumbers and onion as thinly as possible.  In a medium bowl, combine the cucumber and onion slices and toss with a generous pinch of salt.  Let the mixture sit for 5-10 minutes to release water.

Add the vinegar and chopped dill and toss so everything is thoroughly combined.  Chill the cucumber mixture in a sealed container for at least a few hours  or until ready to serve.

(serves 4)

Dish of cucumbers and dill

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Too Good to be True? Fall Prelude

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. [eatingclub] vancouver || js  |  August 26, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Those small cucumbers look so cute! Of course, there’s nothing like the combination of dill with cucumbers: I just am drawn to it.

    Reply
  • 2. krishkat  |  August 26, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Your lemon cucumbers look so damn good! My plant is eeny weeny and not very exciting. I’m going to show these pictures to my plant to get him jumpstarted :)

    Reply
  • 3. Rebecca  |  August 27, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    This looks great–my husband loves cucumbers. On quilmes–there must be someplace that carries it near you! It really is a treat–I discovered it by accident in our local shop (in Littleton, CO) which is nothing special. The next time, I had to ask for it, they were hiding it in the back! So ask around, and enjoy!

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  August 28, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I picked the last of our cucumbers yesterday, too. And also..often miss those that are especially well camoflaged. I have a jar of a sort of pickled cucumbers in our fridge, too…a few bites at a time.

    Reply
  • 5. Nate  |  August 28, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Wow, I wish I could grow cucumbers as good as yours. What’s your secret?

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  August 28, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Nate – Cucumbers can be tricky to grow…they are susceptible to lots of diseases and bug damage. The closest thing I have to a “secret” is giving them plenty of space and keeping them weeded and mulched. Good “hygene” in the garden does a world of good for growing healthy vegetables. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 429 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

