Fall Prelude

August 29, 2008 at 11:05 am 3 comments

Sweet corn

I don’t know about where you are, but around here, the smell of fall has been in the air all week.  It’s especially heavy in the dewy cool morning light.  I smile like the Mona Lisa when I’m walking to class or working in my garden.  I’ve pulled the light sweaters out of the cedar chest.  What is it about autumn that just makes life a little sweeter?  And is there anyone out there that “hates” fall the way some people hate winter or summer?  I can’t imagine disliking cool nights, crisp mornings, and warm (but not hot) sun in the afternoon. 

Bread and eggs 

With the advent of autumn on my doorstep, I start to move my menus from light cool fare to hearty comforting dishes.  Today’s Corn and Tomato Bread Pudding is a great bridge between the bounty of summer and the more selective nature of fall.  Fresh sweet corn cut off the cob pairs beautifully with hefty cubes of whole wheat bread, slivers of oven-dried tomatoes, and a generous sprinkling of sharp cheese. 

Oven dried tomatoes

I must say I was rather pleased to find my oven-dried tomatoes from last year that I’d tucked away in a cupboard and all but forgotten the past six months were still in perfect condition and very tasty in this dish.  I’m actually about to start making a new batch of them now that my tomato plants are in overdrive, but its good to know the dried ones last so long.  In lieu of your own oven-dried tomatoes, use store-bought sun-dried (don’t be fooled; there’s no “sun” involved, just sulfur) tomatoes that are packed dry, not in oil. 

Pouring eggs and herbs on bread

This dish makes for fantastic segues…first oven-dried tomatoes and now on to oven-dried corn.  Yes, I’ll be drying more corn this year.  I’d encourage you to do the same.  And, after making this bread pudding, I think it’s a perfect candidate for dried corn in winter too.  I plan to reconstitute the dried corn in a little warm milk and then continue with the recipe as instructed.  It’s a relief to know I can still savor the flavors of local sweet corn and tomatoes in the midst of a snow storm. 

Basil leaves

And, while on the subject of preserving summer’s flavors, don’t forget to gather up plenty of fresh basil to puree and freeze.  I’m fairly certain tossing a thawed cube of basil puree in the winter version of this bread pudding would be a smashing success. But!  Don’t wait for cold gusts of wind to try this recipe.  It really is a superb late summer dish too, with all the intensity of flavor that only fresh produce can provide.

Corn and Tomato Bread Pudding

Ironically, after all this hubbub about heartier dishes for fall and getting prepared for winter, I just made a few other recipes I’ll be posting shortly that are all about the easy breezy summer salad mentality.  But when you think about it, that’s just what this short and sweet time of year is all about: getting to take your pick of both seasons! 

Corn & Tomato Bread Pudding
Adapted from Fresh and Simple Vegetable Dinners

3 tablespoons chopped dried tomatoes
4 beaten eggs
1 ½ C. half & half
1 T. fresh chopped basil
4 C. cubed day-old wheat bread
1 ½ C. fresh corn kernels
1 C. shredded cheddar or herbed hard cheese

Place dried tomato in a small bowl and cover with hot water.  Allow to soak for 10-15 minutes to soften.  Drain.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, half & half, and basil.  Set aside.  In an ungreased two-quart baking dish, toss together the bread cubes, corn, cheese, and softened tomatoes pieces.  (If you wish to make this dish ahead of time, cover and refrigerate the egg mixture and bread mixture separately for up to 24 hours.)

Carefully pour the egg mixture over the bread in the baking dish.  Bake at 375 F for 35-40 minutes, uncovered, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool slightly and serve with fresh wedges of tomato. 

(serves 6)

Serving

Entry filed under: Bread, Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Sour Sendoff Corn Out the Ears

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ari (Baking and Books)  |  August 30, 2008 at 10:33 am

    It’s been feeling more like Fall around here too and I love it! Fall is one of my favorite seasons (Spring being a tied) – I can’t get enough of warming dishes, mulled cider, crisp nights and the smell of falling leaves.

    So I’m with you on loving Fall. ;)

    Reply
  • 2. solsticekennels  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Out in the desert it doesn’t feel like fall until November! But it doesn’t stop me from wishing for it.

    Thanks for the great blog, glad I found it I’m enjoying it.

    Reply
  • 3. Jerry Martin  |  September 21, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I live in the high desert so the nights are getting colder. In fact, I just brought in the last of my corn so it wouldn’t freeze and will start drying it tomorrow. I froze and canned some of the corn and still have a few tomatoes to can, they will have to ripen inside. We have a short growing season here, it can freeze the last week of May or first of June. My corn and Lima beans mature about this time of year. I am hoping I can get another 8 pints of Lima beans before it freezes but the leaves are starting to burn a little. It is a fine art to getting anything to grow here (dry, cold climate) but it has been fairly productive. But the harvest is pretty much done and I like to sit back, have some coffee and wait for my fresh ground cornbread to bake and make some soup from all the veggies we canned or froze. Snow will be here soon and i’m ready for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 424 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

