Playing Favorites

September 15, 2008 at 12:55 pm 11 comments

Eggplant on red

Have I mentioned before the warming spiced dishes of India are my favorite cuisine?  Well, it is.  What’s yours, by the way?  I often find myself contemplating what my readers are like and what their food habits are… No, I’m not a budding stalker, but rather I’d like to know more about the food you like and what makes you tick in the kitchen.  Since I spend a great deal of time talking about the food I like, it’s only fair I get to see your collective perspectives too.  So, pony up and tell me what you like to eat!  Favorite cuisine, favorite vegetable (cooked? raw?), favorite snack on a stick… you name it! 

Chooped cherry tomatoes

While I can’t think of a favorite snack on a stick at the moment (chocolate covered grasshoppers – no!), but I do immediately know my favorite cooked vegetable.  Eggplant.  I could eat eggplant a million different ways and never get tired of it.  My absolute favorite preparation is eggplant parmesan, for which I’ve offered a great recipe in the archives.  But there are a few Indian dishes that use eggplant that could easily topple my champion from its podium, given just the right blend of spices. 

Saute of vegetables

Until I had 5 Spices, 50 Dishes in my possession, I had a hard time replicating the amazing food I had in Indian restaurants, including the eggplant ones.  Now, thanks to this recipe for Spicy Eggplant with Tomatoes in particular, I’m ready to give my homemade eggplant parmesan a run for its money.  This time was my first attempt at this deliciously spicy and sweet (from the tomatoes) dish – very good, but not perfect just yet.  With a few tweaks to the spice increments, I know I’ll be in heaven.  As with all the recipes form Ruta’s book, this one is fast and simple: perfect for weeknight dinners.

Upclose of spicy eggplant with tomatoes

Good thing I’ve got a steady supply of “Black Beauty” and “Little Fingers” eggplants coming in from my garden.  If you’re a fellow eggplant enthusiast like me, you’ll be pleased to know there’s also a steady supply of eggplant recipes coming out of the SFTF kitchen at the moment. While you wait for those, don’t forget to tell me about your favorites…

Spicy Eggplant with Tomatoes

Spicy Eggplant with Tomatoes
Taken from 5 Spices, 50 Dishes

1 large Italian eggplant, cut into ½ inch cubes
3 T. canola or vegetable oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 t. finely grated garlic
1 t. finely grated fresh ginger
1 t. ground turmeric
½ t. cayenne
1 t. ground cumin
1 ½ C. chopped fresh tomato
1 ½ t. salt
1 t. sugar

* The amount of spices listed gives this a medium amount of heat.  Increase or decrease the cayenne pepper for varying degrees of spiciness. 

Heat the oil in a large skillet or wok over medium heat.  Sautee the onion until softened, about five minutes.  Add the garlic, ginger, turmeric, cumin, and cayenne.  Continue to sautee for another 2 mintues.  If the mixture begins to stick to the pan, deglaze with a tablespoon of water and scrape the bottom with the spatula.

Add the eggplant, tomatoes, salt and sugar.  Toss until the eggplant is well-coated with the spices.  Cover and cook over medium-low heat until the eggplant is soft but not mushy, about 10 minutes.  Serve warm over couscous or rice. 

(serves 4)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Meatless Cooking Done Right Cult Fruit

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  September 15, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    hey there! thanks for the superb-looking eggplant recipe! I love eggplants too, and I’ve been experimenting with different recipes all summer. I love the caponata at smittenkitchen.com and the morroccan eggplant from worldshealthiestfoods.com. as for my faves, I love love love steamed broccoli and green beans and tomatoes are my fave raw veggie. I also LOVE indian spiced food.

    Reply
  • 2. Enjay  |  September 15, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I have to try that eggplant recipe, thanks for pointing it out!
    Hrmm…As for favorites, well, there’s so much out there that is really good, and so much more that I haven’t tried that I’m hard pressed to limit myself. I like French, German, Italian (both Italian and American-Italian), Greek, and right now I’m really into Lowcountry. Tomatoes are hands down my favorite veggie, cooked or raw, although I relish the vegetable spectrum. Broccoli roasted with a little lemon, salt, pepper and butter is a close second. Favorite food on a stick? Lamb kebabs, with a tomato, basil and mozzarella plate. I have that for lunch every chance I get. YUM!

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:20 am

    my fav cuisine has to be mexican/tex-mex. Eggplant is in fact my fav. vegetable, my favorite raw vegetable varies with the season…green beans, tomatoes, bell peppers. I also love winter squashes…yummm. I think my favorite dish is pecan crusted chicken, the one i make has a dijon/sour cream/butter sauce. So good…! Favorite dessert is more difficult, but i think mud pie…the mud pie from the west coast, not the south, layers or coffee ice cream, choc fudge, oreo cookie crumbs and nuts all packed into an oreo cookie crumb crust. Yumm.

    Reply
  • 4. Lori  |  September 16, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I just came to your blog from CarrotsNCake. Couldn’t believe the eggplant because I just pulled two out from the oven moments ago. I’m making some Baba Ghanoush.

    I love many cuisines, but I think authentic German sausages, with pototoes and sauerkraut would have to be my favorite. Indian, Thai and Greek are high on the list too. :)

    Reply
  • 5. solsticekennels  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    I love the taste and smell of Rosemary so I find lots of ways to use it!

    Thanks for sharing all the wonderful photos and food.

    Reply
  • 6. twistedsunshine  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Nice pics! I’d love to try this recipe.

    As for your question, I love eating desserts. My favorite cuisine is Chinese. My favorite vegetable right now is iceberg lettuce. Crispy, cold and refresing… My favorite snack… sandwiches!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Hillary  |  September 17, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Yum…great dish with beautiful color! I’m jealous of those tomatoes :)

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Wow, I can see why you people come to this site… you’re all as wild about vegetables as I am! :) And, of course, I love dessert too… I probably should have thrown in there what’s your favorite course in a meal. Yup, dessert. Some of those dishes you all mentioned sound fantastic! Anyone want to start sharing recipes too? :)

    Reply
  • 9. time’s almost up « susanpeich  |  September 14, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    […] eggplant” and even after that I had to click around before I found this awesome recipe for Spicy Eggplant with Tomatoes.  The pictures showed the same types of orange, yellow, and red cherry tomatoes that I get from my […]

    Reply
  • […] by the children.  Eggplant in some of the last few eggplant recipes I wanted to try this year:  this and this!  And also in some of our favorites that we haven’t yet made this year:  moussaka […]

    Reply
  • 11. Week 9 | Stone's Throw Urban Farm  |  August 5, 2013 at 9:00 am

    […] And there’s a little inspiration for your eggplant: http://straightfromthefarm.net/2008/09/15/spicy-eggplant-with-tomatoes-recipe/#more- […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

