Ground Cherry & Chamomile Jam

October 16, 2008 at 8:05 am 16 comments

Spoonful of jam

Forgive me.  This post is about to be one of the shortest on SFTF.  I’m in the throes of a week of final exams and it’s not been pretty:  studying ‘til the wee hours of the night and cheese and crackers for dinner two nights running so far.  But I didn’t want to leave you for too long without some culinary inspiration and one last recipe for ground cherries that I have tucked away in my drafts. 

Ground cherries in husks

 
Ground cherry season is just about at a close.  I have some fruit left on my plants which I’ll harvest when I pull them out of the ground next week during the process of putting my garden to bed for the winter.  I knew right from the start I wanted to make jam with these lovely little fruits, but was wondering what I could to spice up the jam idea a bit.  I ran across another blogger’s account of making Ground Cherry and Chamomile Jam and I knew right away that’s what I wanted to make.  I used my own honey I’d harvested from my hive earlier this year.  I didn’t have my own chamomile to use for this batch, but I’ve just harvested a bunch of chamomile flowers to dry that I’ll be sure to use for the next batch. 

Ground cherries cooking

This jam is floral and fruity, with the ground cherry itself playing a rather secondary role to the honey and chamomile.  That is until you hold it for a moment on your tongue and realize the ground cherry’s pineapple-y zest is doing quite a lively dance itself in the very pleasant aftertaste of this jam. 

Jam with spoon in jar

This jam is quite beautiful too: glowing amber suspends little pearls that once were seeds.  Those seeds might put some folks off, in which case you could always just strain the hot jam before putting it in jars.  I personally like the subtle contrasting crunch of the seeds amid the silky sweetness of the jam. 

Upside down jam jars

recipe after the jump

Ground Cherry & Chamomile Jam
Adapted from David Matthew’s Blog

6 C. husked and washed ground cherries
3 C. sugar
1 1/2 C. wildflower honey
1/2 C. water
1 lemon, juiced
2 C. chamomile tea

Combine sugar, honey, water and lemon juice in a large heavy sauce pan and bring to a boil. Add ground cherries and simmer for about 5 minutes or until most cherries have burst open. Remove from heat and mash with a large spoon to ensure fruit is broken up.

Transfer to a large bowl and cover with a parchment paper (don’t let the paper touch the fruit). Refrigerate for at least 3 hours or overnight if you’d like.

Take two cups of fruit mixture and strain through a fine mesh strainer, using a spoon as needed to push as much liquid through as possible. Transfer strained liquid along with the unstrained fruit mixture back to the saucepan and return to a boil. Add chamomile infusion, simmer until proper consistency and can.

(makes 4-5 small jars)

Ground cherries in jam pot

Entry filed under: Preserves, Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , , .

Bam! Just for Fun

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lo (Burp!)  |  October 16, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Oh, wow. This brings back memories.
    My grandmother grew ground cherries when I was a girl. She never made jam, but I remember eating them like crazy out of hand.

    This recipe looks truly inspired.

    Reply
  • 2. Tammy  |  October 16, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I am so planting ground cherries next year. I think I would like the seeds as well. The look reminds me of my grandmother’s fig preserves.

    Reply
  • 3. Andrea  |  October 16, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Those are such beautiful, almost iridescent jars. I’ve never been one to mind seeds in my jam (I love raspberry more than almost anything else) and I’m sure this was lovely. I hope to cook with ground cherries a bit more next year, maybe by then I’ll finally work up the courage for a jam!

    Reply
  • 4. Tina  |  October 17, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Wow, this is amazing! I would love to try this recipe!

    Reply
  • 5. myinvestorsplace  |  October 19, 2008 at 4:13 am

    What a great Jam recipe… brings back the days of Grandma…I will try to make your cherry & chamomile jam over the next week or so…thanks

    Andy
    http://www.recipebuddys.com

    Reply
  • 6. kittyboo  |  October 19, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Mmmmm, it sounds and looks divine! Beautiful pics too!

    Reply
  • 7. smorgasbroad  |  October 19, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    that looks fantastic. so pretty. i also have a jam recipe stuffed in my blog drafts that i need to finish. inspiration!

    Reply
  • 8. Seckel Pears with Honey and Ginger « david matthew  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    [...] I wanted to thank another blogger at Straight from the Farm who put up a really nice post about my Ground Cherry Chamomile Jam and I wanted to congratulate another reader, Kathryn, who [...]

    Reply
  • 9. Jam Favors « chick chick chickadee  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    [...] to get a baroo? from your guests: Kaya (Asian Coconut Jam with Pandan Essence) Green Tomato Jam Ground Cherry & Chamomile Jam Fig & Cocoa [...]

    Reply
  • 10. Last One…for Now « Straight from the Farm  |  December 2, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    [...] with this year for preserves proved very successful; thus my teeny bit of smugness.  I have Ground Cherry Chamomile Jam, Apple Rhubarb Jam…and now Spiced Fig and Pear Preserves (jam really, but “preserves” [...]

    Reply
  • 11. Alternative Cherries « Straight from the Farm  |  October 18, 2009 at 9:14 am

    [...] Physalis pruinosa or ground cherry that I’ve featured in this recipe, and this recipe, and this recipe in the past.  I really love these golden orbs.  I discovered over the summer that this plant grows [...]

    Reply
  • 12. Beverly Dvorak  |  May 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    My grandmother used to make ground cherry preserves and they were the best. I have ordered seeds,but if anyone knows how I can order live plants please let me know

    Reply
  • 13. Groundcherry Jam « late night jam  |  September 13, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    [...] batch of jam with some groundcherries from the farmer’s market.  We referenced recipes here and here for techniques and sugar ratios. Groundcherries, husked and washed Groundcherries, after [...]

    Reply
  • 14. mongcong  |  February 5, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Just halved the recipe (I only had 3 cups groundcherries left in the freezer) , and left out the chamomile. Seems to be setting up nicely. I’ve made a lot of jam, this is one of the prettiest. With so little fruit to start, I also didn’t bother straining. Thanks for the guideline.

    Reply
  • 15. "in the know"  |  October 12, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    “in the know”

    “[...]m I want reading through and I conceive this blog got some really utilitaria ut[...]“

    Reply
  • 16. "www"  |  October 13, 2013 at 3:49 am

    “www”

    “[...]m Respect to post author, some fantastic information . sj[...]“

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 416 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 416 other followers

