Summer Swan Song

November 3, 2008 at 12:18 pm 10 comments

Kiwi Lemon Tarts

It seems counterintuitive, I know, to bring before you a very summery looking dessert in November when such refreshing fruits as kiwi should be long out of season.  But I have a little trick up my sleeve.  The kiwis in this dish are not your ordinary fuzzy green fruit. 

Kiwis on vines

Nope.  They are hardy Actinidia arguta, a variety of kiwi native to China that grows quite readily here in Pennsylvania.  These particular kiwi are only the size of large grapes and grow on woody vines also similar to those of grapes.  Plants are usually dioecious, meaning you need a male and a female plant growing together to get any fruit, although there are one or two varieties that contain both male and female flowers on the same plant.   But perhaps that’s more information than you really need at the moment.

Hardy kiwis

What you do need to know is that these dwarf versions taste pretty much identical to their larger cousins grown in the tropics, with one or two advantages.  First, you can get these locally grown, which is always a huge plus.  Second, their skin is smooth and thin so you don’t have to peel them.  I personally adore the large fuzzy kiwis but always found peeling them a bit intimidating since their stem end is always tough to cut through cleanly, often leaving me with kiwi mush instead of nice neat slices. 

bowl of kiwis

This season was my first encounter with hardy kiwis, although I’ve known about them for awhile, and this particular vine isn’t one I’m growing myself.  Believe me, after tasting these lovelies, I’m keen to get my own vines.  What I think I like best about them is when they come into season: late fall.  I equate kiwis with the soft fruits of summer, such as raspberries and strawberries.  Just when you think the pleasures of summer are long gone on the chill of autumn days, a reprieve comes in the form of juicy little hardy kiwis.

Ball of dough for crustdough shaped

I started checking these vines in early October, getting a few fruit to test at a time.  I found they climaxed right around the first frost (mid-October) and slowly dwindled – perhaps in part to my persistent picking – to the final few worth gathering here last week.  It’s best to pick them when they are still very firm to the touch and let them ripen on the kitchen counter.  You can store them for several weeks in the fridge if you pick them under ripe and then ripen them at room temperature when you are ready to use them.  The way to pick a ripe hardy kiwi is just the same as the way to pick a regular ripe kiwi: press it gently in your hand and if it is springy but not mushy, it’s perfect.  I found that the later the stayed on the vine, the more of a red color they got on their skins but the red is not necessary for them to be ripe. 

Kiwi Lemon Curd Tarts

So, now that you know how to pick up the right pint of hardy kiwis at your farmers market or from a gracious neighbor’s vines, let’s talk about interesting ways to use them.  They were scrumptious in yogurt with the last of my fresh ground cherries or as an after-work snack (these things are like candy, be forewarned).  But this fun little recipe I threw together for Kiwi and Lemon Curd Tarts with a sugar cookie crust was a great way to serve up the delicate and beautiful slices of their emerald flesh.   

Bite of tart

Kiwi & Lemon Curd Tarts
A Straight from the Farm original

Crust
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1/2 cup cooking oil
1 egg
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Filling
1 pint ripe hardy kiwis, washed, dried and thinly sliced
2/3 C. lemon curd
Whipped cream (optional)

Prepared the dough for the crust:  Mix granulated sugar, powdered sugar, butter, and cooking oil together. Add eggs, mix again. Add flour, cream of tartar, vanilla, and baking soda mix together.  Take about a golf-ball sized amount of dough and press into the bottom and up the edges of small tart forms or a muffin tin, being sure to keep the dough very thin. 

Bake in oven at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until lightly brown.  Dough will puff up so when you remove it from the oven, drop it hard on the counter to deflate the dough. If it’s still too puffy, while the dough is still warm, press lightly on it with the back of a spoon. 

Loosen edges of tarts with a sharp thin knife before dumping the shells on a dish towel to cool completely.  

When you are ready to serve the tarts, spread one tablespoon of lemon curd in the bottom of each tart shell.  If using, top with a tablespoon of whipped cream.  Finally, layer thin slices of hardy kiwi on top and  serve within the day.  If you want to prepare tarts ahead, the tart shells will keep for up to a week in an air-tight container. 

(makes approximately 18 tarts)

tarts on white

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , , .

Last Minute Treat Seasonal Stuffed Peppers

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lo!  |  November 3, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    You know, I was actually introduced to these funny little fruits last year around this time. My co-op carries them — and I was attracted to them because of their adorable miniature size (they really are super cute!). I thought their flavor differed slightly from the regular kiwi — but they were definitely a treat when other local fruits were dwindling in our northern clime.

    Thanks for sharing more info about these sweeties. And photos of their natural habitat!

    Reply
  • 2. [eatingclub] vancouver || js  |  November 6, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Oh, so that’s what they are. I saw these at the supermarket the other day but I didn’t know what they were. They’re mini-kiwis. Lovely tarts.

    Reply
  • 3. Discover Unearthed  |  November 6, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I have never heard of or seen these before but a kiwi of any sort is always welcome. I wonder if growing some in the UK would be asking a little too much…?

    Reply
  • 4. Emma  |  November 9, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Wow, what funny little fruits, I’ve never seen this before! They look like miniature apples!
    The tarts look tasty and I like the way you formed the crust, it gives them a really unfussy look.

    Reply
  • 5. Chocolate Shavings  |  November 11, 2008 at 8:55 am

    That looks delicious – and reminds me that I should start baking with kiwis more often. I’m bookmarking this, thanks!

    Reply
  • 6. Claire  |  November 19, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Hey there,

    I live in PA and just found this blog, and I’m glad I did because my heart lives at the intersection between sustainability and food. (Btw I scored 90% on your quiz). Oddly enough, after reading that it was okay in a cookbook I tried eating a kiwi without peeling it. And it was okay! So that’s what I do now. I still don’t eat the ends, though.

    -Claire

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Welcome, Claire! If you got at 90%, you must be a kindred spirit and that phrase “my heart lives at the intersection between sustainability and food” is further proof (beautifully said, I might add). :) I don’t know how I would feel about eating a regular kiwi’s skin, but it’s interesting to know that I can. Thanks for the comment! :)

    Reply
  • 8. Andrew  |  December 6, 2008 at 3:49 am

    i wish people wouldn’t call them ‘kiwis’. a kiwi is a bird. kiwi is also another name for a new zealander. you wouldn’t eat either of those, whether they were peeled or not.

    these berries are chinese gooseberries. new zealand growers invented the name ‘kiwifruit’ to help market them to the world.

    another variety of chinese gooseberry is called the kiwiberry — it’s a small hairless fruit about the size of a regular gooseberry that you can throw whole in your mouth. fantastic.

    Reply
  • 9. Jennie  |  December 6, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Andrew – I appreciate your passion for correct identification of these fruits. You certainly seem to know your origins. However, the fruit in this recipe is not a chinese gooseberry. It’s a very close relative though. The best way to explain is to use the Latin nomenclature names: the gooseberries/common kiwis are Actinidia deliciosa while, as noted above, these hardy kiwis are Actinidia arguta. I am not entirely sure if the “kiwiberry” you refer to is a member of the first species or the second. Common names vary by region so that’s why I often rely on the Latin. I’ll use my resources at Longwood Gardens to find out for sure and clarify in the post. Utlimately, it’s all about how they taste though, isn’t it? And you’re definitely right there: they’re fantastic! :)

    Reply
  • 10. Home Cooking Kitchen  |  March 7, 2009 at 1:17 am

    I love the idea of using sugar cookie dough as the crust! So easy and so tasty-looking :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

