Seasonal Stuffed Peppers

November 6, 2008 at 4:12 pm 10 comments

Golden peppers

It’s a whole new world, folks.  No, I’m not talking about the recent election results, although they certainly change things around here a bit.  What I’m referring to is the aisles of the farmers market.  Gone are the piles of tender greens, tomatoes, summer squash, beans, and flower bunches (I miss them the most).  Also gone are the colorful stacks of sweet and hot peppers, a commodity I wish I capitalized on more often.

skilet of peppers

I love the fresh taste of sweet peppers, although I’m rather impartial to their hot cousins.  But as much as I love them, I usually forget about them when it comes to main dishes.  Instead, I corral them into salad fixin’s and flavorings for summer soups and stir-fries.  Great snacking vegetable too when paired with a good dip. 

pepper halves

Fortunately for me, I had three gorgeous golden sweet bell peppers somehow hanging on in my crisper drawer up until this past week.  I chalk up their longevity to two things: my lack of attention to my crisper drawer, else they would have been eaten over a month earlier when I got them, and the amazingly long lifeline of vegetables gotten straight from the farm/garden.  These were as succulent and colorful as the day I got them from my mom’s garden. 

Barley and cinnamon

Since these were the last fresh peppers I was going to see for a good eight months now that frost has killed off all the pepper plants in the region, I took extra care in thinking about their preparation.  Out came the stack of cookbooks that somehow always ends up leaning precariously over the edge of my dining room table, threatening the welfare of my feline housemates.  Bingo!  I re-discovered an old favorite that would be the perfect jumping-off point for creating an autumn version of the classic Stuffed Pepper recipe. 

carrots and cranberries

Barley, cranberries, cinnamon, carrot, pumpkin seeds… all these wonderful seasonal flavors melded perfectly with the soft juicy flesh of the peppers.  This dish proved to be extremely satisfying – indulgent feeling almost – and yet it was very healthy.  I really enjoyed the textures of the chewy barley and cranberries with the crunch of the pumpkin seeds.   All told, I wouldn’t change a single thing about this recipe and wish I’d only thought of stuffed peppers sooner in the season so I didn’t have to wait so long to make them again.

Pepper stuffed with barley and spices

Somewhere along the way, I forgot D doesn’t like peppers so I had plenty of leftovers.  I put all the remaining stuffed halves on a cookie sheet and flash froze them before wrapping them individually in plastic wrap and foil and putting them in a labeled freezer bag.  Not a bad what to extend the pepper season after all.

Skillet of peppers

Peppers Stuff with Cinnamon Barley
Adapted from Fresh and Simple Vegetable Dinners

4 C. vegetable or chicken broth
3 cinnamon sticks (or ½ t. ground cinnamon)
½ t. salt
2/3 C. uncooked pearl barely
½ C. shredded carrot
¼ C. chopped red onion
½ C. dried cranberries or golden raisins
3 large sweet peppers (red or yellow work best)
½ C. shredded mozzarella cheese or chunked feta
½ C. water
2 T. spiced pumpkin seeds or sliced almonds

In a large saucepan, combine the broth, cinnamon, and salt.  Bring to a boil and then add the barely.  Reduce heat to low and cover, simmering barely for about 45 minutes until the barely is starting to get tender.  At this point, stir in the carrot and onion and continue to cook for another 5-7 minutes until the vegetables are tender. 

Remove the saucepan from the heat and stir in the cranberries/raisins and let stand, covered, for five minutes. Drain off any excess liquid and remove the cinnamon sticks.   If you’d like to make this recipe in two stages, now is the time to stop and refrigerate the barely mixture until you’re ready to continue (stores for up to four days).

Wash and halve the peppers lengthwise down the middle, removing the seeds and ribs.   Stir the cheese into the barley mixture and spoon into the pepper halves, pressing and mounding the mixture.  Carefully place the peppers into a skillet and add the ½ cup of water.  Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to low and cover.  Simmer for 5-10 minutes until the pepper flesh is fork-tender and the barley is warmed through. 

Sprinkle with pumpkin seeds and serve immediately.  Or, place on cookie tray and flash freeze (this just means freeze it before packaging for storage).  Wrap each frozen pepper half in plastic wrap and foil before storing the halves together in a heavy freezer bag.  Thaw in the fridge or on the counter before microwaving to reheat and serve.

(serves 6 as a side or 3 as a main)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Summer Swan Song Apple Rhubarb Jam

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melanie  |  November 6, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    my first comment on this blog, though i’ve been following for a while. these peppers sound heavenly and i’m itching to try a variation. i have to wait to see what comes in my csa share saturday! beautiful photos!

    Reply
  • 2. Alexandra Harcharek  |  November 7, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Sadly, my local supermarket doesn’t have barley. Do you have any suggestions to replace it with another grain? I’m thinking maybe quinoa or cous-cous.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Alexandra – Actually, the original recipe in the cookbook called for cous-cous so you can certainly try that, just adjust the cooking time for the grain (you’d probably just want to bring the broth and cinnamon and salt up to a boil first and then add the cous-cous and let it sit for five minutes. maybe saute the carrots and onions quickly on their own and then stir it all together…). Let me know how you make out. :)

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Melanie – Love first time comments! I hope you get some CSA peppers now so you can give these a shot. Good luck! :)

    Reply
  • 5. Lo!  |  November 7, 2008 at 11:46 am

    What a different filling for stuffed peppers. I love the cinnamon in here.

    And I’ve got to admit, I share your reflections on the farmer’s market. I wish, now, that I’d taken better advantage of the pepper bounty while it lasted… so much more could have been enjoyed & frozen!!

    Reply
  • 6. Andrea  |  November 8, 2008 at 1:31 am

    I wish I had some peppers magically sitting in my fridge! But you’re right, things I buy at the farmers market just last…longer. I am a total sucker for stuffed peppers, and I love the fruit in this recipe. Yum, sounds fantastic!

    Reply
  • 7. therealchiffonade  |  November 10, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    What a great dish, and I know that my BF “BigBear” will love it. Dave has finally found a job in Atlanta, so we will be sneaking out of our trailer park in Clearwater, Florida, and into a brand new (subprime loan) trailer house in Atlanta.

    To celebrate, I am making the Bear these peppers!

    Louise Wyers (I am SOO happy!)
    http://profiles.aim.com/chiff0nade

    Reply
  • 8. DocChuck  |  November 11, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Although the recipe seemed alluring and the photos were beautiful, this recipe had entirely too much roughage for me, sorry. It took me days to become regular again.

    Reply
  • 9. Karen  |  November 13, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I made these the day after you posted this because I thought they sounded so good, and they completely lived up to expectation! We made enough for left overs and enjoyed them for a couple of days in a row. They heated up beautifully and we really easy to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply
  • 10. john  |  July 18, 2011 at 6:46 am

    this is a nice recipe, i love just do these type of cooking stuff. i did it yesterday and was awesome. thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 417 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

