Kohlrabi & Carrot Salad

January 3, 2009 at 5:25 pm 18 comments

Salad up close

Here we are once again, standing on the doorstep of a brand-spankin’ new year.  Every January there’s a sense of resolve in the air around my house.  I wouldn’t go so far as to say I make resolutions.  I don’t have a mind that operates in those clearly defined terms.  But I do assess my current situation in life and think about where I’d like to see myself heading over the next 365 days. 

Carrots Kohlrabi

I’ve never been a slender woman, although since high school I have been a fitness fanatic with a nicely toned body.  Unfortunately, the chaos of changing careers, moving into our first house, taking on freelance assignments to supplement the drop in pay by going back to school, and giving up my daily bike commute, my hips have been sadly spreading over the past year.  So, for the first time in years, I find myself starting this particular new year with the same misgiving about weight that so many do. 

Dressing ingredients

To that end, I’m on the hunt for recipes with fresh flavors but fewer calories and lower in saturated fat.  This recipe for Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad is a bright colorful way to start off and tasty enough to help me keep my resolve.  It’s a quick lunch, crunchy enough to make you feel full, or it’s a nice little starter to curb your appetite at the start of dinner.  Kohlrabi in particular seems to me to be a great vegetable for satisfying some of the more common cravings out there:  it’s got the crunch of a pretzel but the slight sweetness of an apple.  Sprinkle it with a little salt and it’s surprisingly satisfying.

Dressing

While I was lucky enough to have all these ingredients still handy in my larder (the sorrel is still growing in a pot in the shelter of south-facing wall of the house), you might have to resort to conventional grocery stores to get yours.  You can substitute scallions for the sorrel if need be. Or you can just wait for spring as all of these ingredients are quick to return to the farmers markets once the weather warms again.   Will our collective resolve last that long?

chopped vegetables

So tell me, what are some of your tricks for eating healthy?  Mine is air-popped popcorn spritzed with a little butter-flavored non-stick spray and tossed with salt.  It tastes just as good as any microwave bag, but with far less fat (really, just about none) and it’s far cheaper to boot. 

Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad

~

Kohlrabi & Carrot Salad
Adapted from Cookthink

2 medium kohlrabi, peeled and thinly sliced
3 medium carrots, thinly sliced
3 large sorrel leave, thinly sliced
2 T. peanut butter
2 T. rice  or white wine vinegar
1 t. fresh lemon juice
2 t. water
1/2 t. fresh ground black pepper
1/4 t. kosher salt
1/4 t. toasted sesame oil
1 T. chopped roasted peanuts

Prep the kohlrabi, carrots, and sorrel and combine them in a medium bowl.

Combine the remaining ingredients, except for the chopped peanuts, in a small bowl and whisk to combine them. Pour the dressing over the kohlrabi and carrots, and refrigerate for 1 hour before serving.  Garnish with the peanuts just before serving.

(serves 2)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes, Salads. Tags: , , , .

Frosty Festive Treat Of Colds and Lil’ Black Dresses

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  January 3, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Sounds great. Think I could make this with turnips instead of kohlrabi? I have a whole bunch from my winter CSA and nothing I really feel compelled to make with them.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    You have a winter CSA? I’m incredibly jealous! You’ll have to tell me more about it…

    Yeah, I think the turnips would work, as long as they’re fairly mild. Maybe go a little easy on the lemon juice if they do have some zing.

    Reply
  • 3. ttfn300  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    ooh, i had seen that at the farmers market, but didn’t know what to do with it… next year!

    Reply
  • 4. A. Woz  |  January 3, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    I’m hearing you on the healthy eating issue. I love to cook, i rarely bake, I eat good nutrient dense food, all the right stuff, but portion size is what gets me. I’m starting to use smaller bowls- and I mean the ramikin size! Love that you still have some Kolohrabi (sp) around…that just makes me think spring. Thanks for another great recipe. Your photos are beautiful enough to eat. You are very talented– thanks for sharing your gifts.
    A.Woz
    annitawoz.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 5. Jenn S.  |  January 4, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Yum! This looks healthy and delicious! I’ve got a giant kohlrabi lingering in my crisper from our winter CSA as well – it will be turned into this salad for sure!

    Reply
  • 6. Lo!  |  January 5, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    This time of the year always makes me crave the “good for me”… it’s funny how veggies start calling my name again after a bit of a holiday hiatus. This looks like the perfect antidote for the mid-winter blues.

    Reply
  • 7. Louise  |  January 6, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I’m not in the habit of making resolutions but I tell ya, this Kohlrabi and carrot salad sure does tempt me to resolve to eat more veggies and drop in more often. Thanks for sharing

    P.S. I’m so bad at eating healthy but, I do make yogurt at least once a week and drink it everyday!

    Reply
  • 8. A. Woz  |  January 7, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=99054419

    now what might u do w/ lentils??

    Reply
  • 9. Jennie  |  January 8, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Ah, good question! I love lentils and have several recipes for them here on SFTF and some others that I’ll have to make a point to post. Heres what’s I’ve got:

    Swiss Chard & Barley Lentil Soup

    http://straightfromthefarm.net/2007/10/20/swiss-chard-barley-soup/

    Roasted Root and Red Lentil Soup

    http://straightfromthefarm.net/2008/04/20/roasted-root-and-red-lentil-soup/

    Red Lentils & Chive Blossoms

    http://straightfromthefarm.net/2008/05/14/red-lentils-and-chives/

    Mid-Summer Salad with Basil Dressing

    http://straightfromthefarm.net/2008/07/22/mid-summer-salad-with-basil-dressing/

    Couscous & Lentil Burrito

    http://straightfromthefarm.net/2008/09/04/couscous-burrito-recipe/

    Reply
  • 10. mona  |  January 8, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I tried making this salad, only I shredded the kohlrabi and carrot instead of slicing thinly — sort of like a cole slae. I think it needs more dressing that way, it tasted a bit light when I was done. Thanks for a nice and healthy way to use up the kohlrabi we had in the fridge!

    Reply
  • 11. Kimberly  |  January 9, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I read peanut butter and sesame oil and immediately I want to throw in crushed red pepper to the dressing for a little heat – I am not a pepper head – but I do like to make my brow sweat. I have never had kohlrabi before and that is what I love about this blog – you present things in such away that it inspires me to start looking for items to experiment with.

    My favorite good for you food are lentils. I think they are just so functional, so fast, and so chalk full of good stuff that you can’t go wrong. The little pink ones that look like salmon colored sprinkles or jimmys cook so fast and get so creamy that I will just through a handful of them in a pot of water with a boulion cube, some garlic, some red or green curry paste and some basmati rice and let them cook up, stir and it is a satisfying little porridge. I get the same satisfaction from the creaminess of the lentils that I do from mashed potatoes which, behind soup, is my all time favorite comfort food. :)

    Reply
  • […] Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad […]

    Reply
  • […] Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad Roasted Garlic Scapes and New Potatoes Garlic Mustard Pesto Pea Shoots in Fillo Dough […]

    Reply
  • 14. mia makes . . . » Blog Archive » csa: SPUTNIK!  |  August 18, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    […] from Straight From the Farm: 1 small kohlrabi, peeled and thinly sliced 1 medium carrot, peeled and thinly sliced 1 T peanut […]

    Reply
  • 15. Ellen  |  July 6, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    This looks yummy. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 16. Trying Something New  |  August 18, 2011 at 8:39 am

    […] Soup with Cranberries (uses kohlrabi leaves) Roasted Vegetable Medley Spicy Kohlrabi and Corn Kohlrabi & Carrot Salad June Salad with Buttermilk […]

    Reply
  • 17. Argauiwa  |  May 7, 2012 at 3:46 am

    An envelope http://opydusefyh.de.tl preteen sluts model this chick has to been of the hottest babes that i have ever had the pleasure of watching and trust me i watched this very close , beautful body , face the package!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 18. Harvest Guesstimate for June 21st | jewishlocalgreens  |  June 17, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    […] to the farmers, we will see these items on Thursday:  Bok Choi, Carrots, Garlic Scapes, Kale, Kohlrabi, Lettuce Heads, Salad Turnips, and Salad […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

