Zesty Roasted Rutabaga and Carrots

March 21, 2009 at 11:09 am 12 comments

Zesty Roasted Rutabaga and Carrots

What an interesting time of the year it is.  There’s so much diversity in the weather – shorts one day, winter coat the next, and goulashes and an umbrella the day after.  I’ve been enjoying this little adventure in atmospheric pressure, though I hope the snow is gone for good now that my tulips and alliums are pushing up through the aromatic spring earth. 

Rutabaga Carrots and a Rose

One thing that isn’t full of diversity right now is my diet.  All I’ve got left to play with in the kitchen are the same four root vegetables: rutabaga, carrots, potatoes and onions.  Luckily, I happen to really like these long-lasting staples of the winter pantry.  But even I get a little bored sometimes and wish for a new twist on the old favorites. 

Chopped vegetables

Searching around on one of my go-to resources for new recipe ideas, All Recipes, I saw this fun take on roasted vegetables, Zesty Roasted Rutabaga and Carrots.  The lemony zing is deliciously sublime, and the overall dish is quite beautiful with its bright colors and flecks of dill.  It makes a great side dish for a hearty dinner or an easy take-along for lunch since it’s as lovely at room temperature as it is warm.

This look so good

If you or someone at your table is new to rutabaga, this is a great preparation to introduce this vitamin-packed root. The orange flesh speaks to the high levels of carotene (vitamin C) that come with every delicious bite.  The rutabaga I used for this dish was in my crisper drawer since October and it was as fresh as the day it was picked.  Who ever said beauty fades?  

Three Beauties

Zesty Roasted Rutabaga and Carrots
Loosely adapted from Allrecipes.com

4 medium carrots, cut into 3 inch julienne strips
2 rutabagas, peeled and cut into 3 inch julienne strips
1/2 C. water
1 1/2  T. extra virgin olive oil
1 T. brown sugar
1 lemon, juiced and zested
1/4 t. dill weed
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 F. 

In a large saucepan, combine the carrots, rutabaga and water. Over high heat, bring to a boil and cook for 5 minutes.  Drain off water.

In a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients and toss with the parboiled vegetables.  Spread out into a single layer on a cookie sheet.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until vegetables are golden and tender.  Serve hot as a dinner side dish or chilled as a light lunch.

(serve 4)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Sweet and Savory Millet Pilaf Roasted Root & Ricotta Pizza

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. heather  |  March 22, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    wonderful contrast in colors and flavors and textures! i think i need to try this!

    thanks and cheers,

    *heather*

    Reply
  • 2. Ulla  |  March 23, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    What magical colors!

    Reply
  • 3. Donalyn  |  March 23, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Beautiful- love those veggies and your photos are gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  March 24, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Thanks, Heather, Ulla, and Donalyn! :)

    Reply
  • 5. A. Woz  |  March 25, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    do you have an enormous crisper drawer? where do you store all your root veggies from the past growing season? I had some potatoes that sprouted, I had some celeriac that shrivelled, i had some beats that grew mushy…

    BTW, have to ask about the cup that is holding those root veggies- there has to be a story behind that ? ? Right??

    Reply
    • 6. Jennie  |  March 25, 2009 at 1:46 pm

      Actually, I do…in that I have two fridges (one in the kitchen and one in the basement) and they both have generous drawers. I also initially store the root veggies in the coolest, darkest (but dry) corner of my basement in crates when I first harvest and have too many for the fridges. They are fine there for quite awhile but then I move things into the drawers as they tend to keep even longer that way. I know not everyone has the luxury of space and a basement, but if a person is serious about storing root veggies all winter in a limited space/budget, I’d suggest getting one of those college-dorm-style fidges and dedicating it exclusively to the roots. Set at about 45 F, they’ll love it in there. Also, I don’t know the science behind it, but a trick was passed down to me by my grandmother is to stick a barely damp paper towel in each bag (I use grocery store plastic bags loosely tied shut, but not sealed so it can still “breath”) of vegetables in my crisper drawer and they always seem to stay fresher. I think the idea is that the towel helps regulate the moisture: if the veg is too dry, it offers some of its moisture to keep it crisp; if the veg is too damp, the towel sucks away some of the moisture. Whatever it does, it works. Oh, and cut the tops off the beets, if you don’t already. :)

      As for the “vessel” holding the roasted vegetables in this post, I’d love to say I got it in some exotic locale, but this time this one just comes from an antique vendor near Kennett Square, PA. It’s fun though, isn’t it? Oh, well, something interesting is that it’s not really a cup or a bowl – instead it’s some sort of old egg boiling pan. It has little indents in the bottom to hold five eggs upright. Kind of weird, but very pretty. You always notice the props, Annita! :)

      Reply
  • 7. Melly  |  April 16, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Absolutely fabulous food photos!!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  April 16, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Many thanks for the compliment, Melly!

    Reply
  • 9. Missing? « My Meals Today  |  January 3, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    [...] The dinner theme this week is clearly iffy. As in, it’s clearly iffy as to whether or not I would make this dish again. Any flavor imparted to the fish was overwhelmed by the spiciness of the breading – an uncommon occurence I should note. The good news is I sliced and diced the carrots and rutabaga until my heart was content and ended up with plenty of the side dish. [...]

    Reply
  • 10. Clara  |  December 11, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Looks yummy and I am making it tonight to go with my turkey meatloaf. I grew up on mashed rutabagas and this is a great twist on the traditional dish my mother used to make every weekend.

    Reply
  • 11. Newsletter #9 08/12/13 | TWO BLACK SHEEP FARM  |  August 12, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    […] this simple and delicious looking recipe for Roasted Carrots and Rutabaga from […]

    Reply
  • 12. How To: Make the Most of Autumn Produce - Mod Vive  |  September 23, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    […] in this perfect autumn soup from The Kitchn. For a sweet side dish that pops on the plate, consider roasted rutabaga & carrots. Or, for a simple way to show off your seasonal produce savvy, whip up some mashed rutabagas – […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 411 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 411 other followers

