Between the Rain Drops

April 16, 2009 at 8:58 pm 15 comments

Eternity_Flowering Quince

Ah, the sound of shoes squishing through soggy spring soil….

Well, the rainy days continue here just when the blooms of the magnolias, flowering quince, cherries, forsythia, tulips and anemones are at their peak.  In between showers, I slipped on my slicker and goulashes and went to take a few photos before all the beauty got washed away.  Spring is such a lovely season, but its flowers are awfully fleeting, which no doubt makes them all the sweeter. 

What’s your favorite spring flower?  I think I’m rather partial to magnolias as a whole and to this specific apricot shade of the flowering quince.  But really, when you get down to it, they are all shockingly beautiful in their own unique ways. 

Enjoy!

Flowering Quince

Anemone

Magnolia and azelea

Cherries and Magnolias

pink tulips

Forsythia and cherries

Magnolia and Pierus

Entry filed under: In The Garden. Tags: , .

Chocolate Silk Pie Flights of {Fancy}

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elena  |  April 17, 2009 at 9:58 am

    This spring gorgeousness took my breath away…!
    Thanks so much for a beautiful post.

    Reply
  • 2. J.T.  |  April 17, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Beautiful pictures – we are about a month behind you in blooms but thanks for giving me a taste of what is to come!

    Reply
  • 3. Leyla  |  April 18, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Beautifull!!
    Thank you!!

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey Kerr  |  April 18, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Jennie: Your photos get more beautiful all the time. Thank you for bringing such loveliness to our online lives!

    Reply
  • 5. Leyla  |  April 18, 2009 at 7:24 am

    My fav. ones are poppies.

    Reply
  • 6. Chelle  |  April 18, 2009 at 11:32 am

    I think my favorites are magnolias too – our tree is blooming right now and it is just so pretty. We were afraid with snow just a week ago or two that it might not make it this year, but it looks so beautiful now so it must have been okay!

    Reply
  • 7. Travelingmama  |  April 18, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Wow. I just stumbled across your blog and love it! Your photography is gorgeous! I cannot wait to see more!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  April 18, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Thanks, everyone, for your lovely comments! You’re all as sweet as these flowers. :)

    Reply
  • 9. lo  |  April 18, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    OOOh. Simply GORGEOUS.
    I think spring is one of the most beautiful times of the year. Sloggy earth and all. These photos remind me of what my yard will look like in the days to come — new shoots all abloom and getting ready for the fruits of the season.

    The hyacinths in my neighbor’s yard have just begun to bloom, and they’re spreading their intoxicating nectar everywhere. Definitely a favorite… but, in my heart of hearts, I can’t wait for the first lilacs. Truly the scent of the season for me! And lovely, to boot.

    Reply
  • 10. MegaGood  |  April 20, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    I ADORE these photos. Happiness all around.

    Reply
  • 11. Kathy  |  April 27, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Beautiful photographs! Do you mind if I save these to my computer and print them on a scrapbook page for my mom for Mother’s Day? I’m a full time mom who loves to scrapbook and garden in my spare time and for Mother’s Day, I am giving my mom some pots of herbs I have started from seed – I would love to add these beautiful pictures to her card
    I’m on my way to view more of your blog – I’m guessing you’ll have some gardening tips for me(?) ;)

    Reply
    • 12. Jennie  |  April 27, 2009 at 2:10 pm

      Sure, Kathy, feel free to use them for your own personal use, just don’t sell or publish them. Thanks so much for asking! I was actually thinking of using one of these for my own Mother’s Day card. :)

      And, yes, there’s gardening advice to be mined here in the archives. Enjoy!!

      Reply
  • 13. aember  |  May 17, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Wow, just stunning photography! Ran across this post browsing for food blogs, & you took my breath away. You have a real gift, thank you for sharing such beauty as you see it. I like to grow herbs, too, trying my hand at tomatoes this year–will browse your other posts.
    Blessings of the growing season to you!
    aember

    Reply
  • 14. Summer’s Nearly Here « Straight from the Farm  |  May 19, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    [...] share with you my latest travel photos from Puerto Rico.  I hope that no one minds when I put up a post of photos unrelated to food.  I know you all come here mostly for the food.  But pretty pictures are worth a visit too, [...]

    Reply
  • 15. "prova detta"  |  October 12, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    “prova detta”

    “[...]i Wow, superb website layout! How long have you been websiteging for? you mad ae[...]“

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 423 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

