Summer’s Nearly Here

May 19, 2009 at 9:11 pm 5 comments

Ah, what a glorious day it was here in southeastern Pennsylvania.  How about where you are?   I spent all evening in my garden until the darkness nudged me to finally go inside.   And now I’ve just remembered that I didn’t share with you my latest travel photos from Puerto Rico.  I hope that no one minds when I put up a post of photos unrelated to food.  I know you all come here mostly for the food.  But pretty pictures are worth a visit too, right?  Enjoy and dream of lazy days beside the pool or on the beach.  They’re nearly here! 

Oh, and I nearly forgot to mention my favorite gastronomic experience in Puerto Rico: the coffee!  What amazing cups I had from several of the local grower’s beans.   Intense flavor and notes of spice and vanilla, but absolutely no bitter after taste.  Maybe that after taste comes from all the fumes when it gets shipped hundreds of miles away… nah, but there is surely a difference between coffee gathered just an hour away and that which comes to us in an airplane. 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Extra Credit, Taste of Travels. Tags: , .

Roasted Asparagus Risotto Chocolate Pavlova

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diety  |  May 20, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Amazing photos! And you know, they make me sad. Why ? Because when I look out of my window all I see is the concrete jungle and gray sky. No palms, no beaches, no sun ……
    I guess it’s high time to start saving for a trip to Puerto Rico ;)

    Reply
  • 2. oneordinaryday  |  May 20, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Great photos are definitely worth a post!

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  May 20, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Beautiful photos! Can you tell us where you stayed in Puerto Rico? I am dying to go in February and can use the tips. Thanks!

    Reply
    • 4. Jennie  |  May 21, 2009 at 5:42 am

      Karen – I stayed here: http://www.wyndhamriomar.com/
      It was beautiful for sure, but very pricey. Beware of the hidden fees ($15/night), maid service ($2.50/night), mandatory bell hop ($7), etc.. But, yes, it was lovely and in a good location for visiting San Juan and the rain forest and other sites.

      Reply
  • 5. Evelyn Rodriguez  |  March 17, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    How to make Puerto Rican coffee
    Ingredients:

    1 / 2 cup water
    2 tablespoons coffee
    2 ounces boiled milk
    1 tablespoon sugar (or to taste)

    procedure:

    1. Mix the coffee with water and boil 2 minutes.
    2. Strain the coffee in coffee sock.
    3. In a cup, combine brewed coffee with milk.
    4. Add sugar to taste.

    PuertoRicoCoffeeShop.com
    Choose from our selection of true and delicious coffee from Puerto Rico

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

