Strawberry Vanilla Ice Cream

June 9, 2009 at 7:07 pm 18 comments

Scoop of Strawberry Please

Time for a change of pace, my friendly readers.  We’re still in the midst of the Rhubarb Fest in the SFTF kitchen, but I seem to have misplaced the cord I need to download the latest pictures from my camera (eek!) so we’ll dive into the drafts I was holding onto until after the pink-tinged wave of recipes had subsided.  Don’t worry.  We aren’t going to stray far from the theme of seasonal sweet treats using red-hued local produce.  Indeed, Strawberry Vanilla Ice Cream is a perfect companion for just about any rhubarb concoction. 

Alpine strawberry plant with flower

I can think of very few things that are more delicious than the combination of juicy just-picked strawberries and cold rich cream.  There’s something just downright luscious about it.  Every year when strawberry season rolls around again, I hunt down a pick-your-own place and go a little crazy.  It’s typically proven to be a rather expensive splurge, but it’s worth it.  This year I planted dozens of alpine strawberry plants (Fragaria vesca ‘Semperflorens’) in my garden and in containers around my deck.  They haven’t yet produced any fruit this year, though they do have plenty of flowers and buds presently.  The glory of the smaller and sweeter alpine strawberry is that it fruits all summer long, not just in June like the more robust and common commercial strawberry (Fragaria x ananassa). 

Cream and Strawberries

While I await the arrival of my first baby berry, I was happy to chunk up these local strawberries from the farmers market, freezing them with some thick and frothy raw cow’s milk that I brought back with me from my family’s dairy farm.  I know that you all probably think of supporting your local farmers all the time by buying your vegetables and fruit from them.  I would encourage you (even nearly beg you) to not forget to do the same with dairy farmers who are selling milk and cheese and even occasionally ice cream.  Right now the small-to-mid-size family-run dairy farms of our nation are suffering horribly from a crippling price slump in the milk market.  My brother, who is trying very hard to keep the farm that’s been in our family for five generations operating, tells me just the basic daily operations of farming are causing him to pretty much hemorrhage money.   The only apparent salvation is to sell our farm’s milk (and maybe cheese too) to the public directly and hope that they are willing to buy from us instead of the supermarket.  So, please, remember your local dairy farmers too when you’re making your purchases. 

Diced strawberries

And once you’ve gotten some of that delicious farm fresh milk, be sure to make homemade ice cream pronto!!  There’s nothing quite like it…a sweet and creamy summer dream to combat the current muggy heat. 

Strawberry Vanilla Ice Cream

Strawberry Vanilla Ice Cream
A Straight from the Farm Original

3/4 C. sugar
1 C. whole milk (raw if possible)
1/4 t. salt
1 vanilla bean, split and scraped
3 egg yolk, lightly beaten
2 C. heavy cream
1 C. finely diced fresh strawberries
1/4 C. sugar

Combine sugar, milk, salt, and scraped vanilla bean and pods in a saucepan over low heat.  Stir until the mixture just begins to steam and simmer.   Place the egg yolks into a small bowl. Gradually stir in about 1/2 cup of the hot liquid to temper the eggs and return everything to the saucepan. Heat until thickened, about 5 minutes, but be careful not to boil. Remove from the heat, and pour into a chilled bowl and refrigerate for at least two hours or overnight.   

Using a slotted spoon, fish out the vanilla pods from the chilled custard.  Whip the heavy cream until it forms soft peaks and gently fold into the custard mixture. Pour into an ice cream maker, and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions.  Meanwhile, combine the diced strawberries with the remaining sugar and set aside.

When ice cream is done churning, scoop out into a container with a lid.  Fold in the strawberries while ice cream is still soft.  Cover container tightly and place in freezer to firm up, about 3-4 hours. 

(makes 1 quart)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , .

Angel Food Cake & Rhubarb Fool Cinnamon Rhubarb Muffins

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. oneordinaryday  |  June 10, 2009 at 6:27 am

    Beautiful photos and a great recipe. Thanks for sharing it!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Jennie  |  June 11, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      Thank YOU for the compliment! :)

      Reply
  • 3. plantmama  |  June 10, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Looks fantastic. I’ll try that recipe with some of the milk we get from our local dairy. There is nothing like local, fresh milk in a glass bottle. And the butter, cream, ice cream…out of this world.

    Reply
    • 4. Jennie  |  June 11, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      You said it, PlantMama! I’m so glad to hear you have the real deal to work with when making this recipe. Sure hope you’ve got some local strawberries to go along with it… :)

      Reply
  • 5. Becky and the Beanstock  |  June 10, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Wow, homemade ice cream, homegrown strawberries. ‘Nuff said, eh? Your photos are vivid enough to taste!

    Reply
    • 6. Jennie  |  June 11, 2009 at 8:43 pm

      Merci, Becky!! :)

      Reply
  • 7. k  |  June 11, 2009 at 11:51 am

    While the ice cream looks amazing – I wanted to write a quick comment on the issue you raised about your families dairy farm. I saw something about this on the news – I can’t remember if it was the NBC Nightly News or CBS Sunday Morning – but they were talking about how hard it is for dairy farmers to turn and profit and the group of farmers they interviewed had decided to become a co-op. I am not sure if that is even something that is possible or that would help – but it was allowing them to keep their farms, stay independent but have a better bargaining stance when they all came together. They had a private lable milk they sold from their coop.

    It is tragic to me so many family farms are having to give up. While I was not a farm kid, I was raised in a small farming community – my dad ran the local service station so he did the tractor tires and such – soy beans and corn – cattle and pigs. We bought free range chicken eggs from as far back as I can remember – I didn’t have store bought until I moved to Des Moines on my own and man – was that a shock in taste and color.

    You just brought up such a wonderful point about why Farmer’s Market are so important to support.

    Reply
    • 8. Jennie  |  June 11, 2009 at 8:41 pm

      Thanks so much, K. Your heart felt note really means a lot. I am actually trying to put together a grant proposal to get money to start up a private label for our farm that hopefully will be successful enough to reach out to other local farms and thus become a coop of sorts. The consumer has become so much savvier in just the past few years that it now makes this sort of independent enterprise viable for a small farm like ours. Hearing from blog readers (like you!) really helps me believe that small farms aren’t doomed, though I think dairy farmers are forgotten by times in the “buy local” mix so I just wanted to raise awareness. :)

      On another note, I’m going to make your Suzy Pudding recipe tomorrow. Can’t wait to try a childhood favorite of yours! :)

      Reply
      • 9. k  |  July 3, 2009 at 9:34 pm

        How is the grant proposal coming on? Did the Suzy Pudding turn out okay?

        Reply
      • 10. k  |  July 20, 2009 at 8:45 pm

        I wrote above about the show I watch where the dairy farmers formed a co-op – I know what show it was now – Michael J Fox – Adventures of an Incurable Optimist. The dairy farms were in NY and one of them or the co op is called – Hudson Valley Fresh Dairy Farms

        Reply
        • 11. Jennie  |  July 21, 2009 at 6:16 pm

          Thanks, K! Sorry I didn’t reply to your last comment earlier…it snuck by me somehow. :) The rhubarb recipe was quite the treat and it’s still in my “drafts” (along with several other recipes that are long overdue to be published). Thank you again for sharing it with me! And thank you for the additional info on the dairy co op. I’ll look it up. The grant proposal we are pursuing got pushed back by the gov’t agency that issued it so we’re in a holding pattern at the moment. :(

  • 12. Louise  |  June 11, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    So many wonderful strawberry recipes this summer. Oh where oh where do I begin. I know for sure, your Strawberry Vanilla Ice Cream recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing…

    Reply
    • 13. Jennie  |  June 11, 2009 at 8:42 pm

      Yah! I love getting on the short list! :) Hey, thanks for following me on Twitter, btw~ Tweet, tweet!

      Reply
  • 14. Allison  |  June 12, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Great post! I’m not even sure how I ended up here but I am so glad I did!

    We currently have dairy home delivery from our place, Mountain Dairy. The dairy truck arrives every Friday morning with my milk, cream, butter and eggs. It is such a pleasure. I have a great little retro-looking milk cooler on the porch that my dairy man piles all of my stuff into. the greatest part? All of the milk jugs are stamped with sweet sayings like, in the winter it says “the cows are warm in the barn” or “Ct milk tastes better” or cute things like that.

    I have to get myself an ice cream maker!

    Reply
  • 15. Tammy  |  June 12, 2009 at 7:47 am

    If ice cream doesn’t say summer I don’t know what does! This looks delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 16. flowers  |  July 12, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Seems great, nothing like a local ice cream..

    Reply
  • 17. Top 10 for 2009 « Straight from the Farm  |  December 31, 2009 at 12:00 am

    [...] #8.  Strawberry Vanilla Ice Cream [...]

    Reply
  • 18. "are speaking"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    “are speaking”

    “[...]c A good goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and yo vh[...]“

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 419 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

