Curried Broccoli Chicken Casserole

July 4, 2009 at 11:29 pm 12 comments

Broccoli

I’m sure you’ve all had some version of a chicken and broccoli casserole in your day.  Usually it’s a tad ho-hum, isn’t it?  Comfort food though, I’d venture to say in its defense.  Well, today’s recipe – a spin on this homemaker’s favorite weeknight go-to meal – is anything but ho-hum, thanks to an infusion of warm Moroccan flavors.

Bread cubes 

Awhile ago, one of my roommates made this casserole, sharing with me that it was a long-standing treat in her house growing up.  I could certainly see why just from the aroma alone that flooded the house as it baked.  I had a few nibbles of it and asked for the recipe, but alas never did get the specifics in the end.   The flavors stuck in my mind though.  Hints of curry, lemon, thyme and lots of broccoli goodness!

Chicken and broccoli in the dish 

I had one of those moments the other night where I stood with a glazed-over stare, holding the freezer door open in a horrifyingly energy inefficient way, wondering what the heck to have for dinner.  There were some vegetarian chicken strips in there which are definitely a staple in our house’s dinners, but I didn’t want to do the same ol’ thing, ya know?  

Curried Broccoli Chicken Cassarole 

Then I shook my head, closed the freezer door, and opened the fridge door, prepared to impart upon it the same zombie stare.   I was jolted out of my haze when I saw the heads of fresh broccoli I’d just picked from my garden and remembered this delicious Curried Broccoli Chicken Casserole.

Take a bite 

Curried Broccoli Chicken Casserole
Adapted from several sources, including my roommate

1 large head of fresh broccoli or 1 package of frozen florets
1 package of Morning Star chicken strips
OR 2 C. uncooked chicken breast cut into cubes
1 small can of cream of broccoli soup
1 T. curry powder
1 T. lemon juice
2 T. mayonnaise
pinch of salt and pepper
1 T. butter, melted
2 C. stale bread cubes*
1 T. dried herb mix (marjoram, oregano, basil, etc)
1 C. shredded sharp cheddar

*I used a baggett that I cut into 1 inch cubes and left sit out on the counter for the afternoon so they got a little stale. 

Preheat the oven to 375 F and grease a 9” x 13” baking dish with nonstick spray.

If using frozen broccoli, thaw it on medium power in the microwave.    Cut broccoli florets into small pieces (about the size of your thumb) and lay in the bottom of the baking dish.

In a skillet over medium-high heat, cook the chicken just until it begins to brown.  If using Morning Star strips, try to break them into slightly smaller pieces while they’re cooking.  Remove from heat and spread over the broccoli in the baking dish.
 
In a mixing bowl, combine the soup, curry powder, lemon juice, mayonnaise, salt and pepper.  Pour mixture over the chicken and broccoli, spreading it out as evenly as possible.
 
Toss the bread cubes with the melted butter and then with the dried herbs (if in a pinch, I think you could use premade seasoned stuffing cubes here).  Spread the seasoned bread cubes over the baking dish, pressing down on them lightly.  Top with shredded cheese.

Bake covered for 15 minutes and then uncover the dish and bake for another 15 minutes until the dish is bubbly and golden.  Serve immediately.

(serves 8 )

Entry filed under: Recipes, Veggies w/ Protein. Tags: , , , .

June Salad with Buttermilk Dressing Simple Supper

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mags  |  July 5, 2009 at 12:55 am

    lolol… laughed myself silly over the freezer/fridge stare. I’ve done that so many times.

    this sounds like a true comfort food recipe.

    I love your blog.. and your photos. I know I’ve said it before, but I’m all about being redundant…lol

    Reply
    • 2. Jennie  |  July 5, 2009 at 10:07 am

      Haha, now you’re the one making me laugh, Mags. :) So glad I’m not a lone in my staring contests with the freezer/fridge! Thanks, as always, for your lovely comment!

      Reply
  • 3. Kevin  |  July 5, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Anything with curry in the title catches my attention. I like broccoli casseroles and adding chicken and currying it sounds really good!

    Reply
    • 4. Jennie  |  July 5, 2009 at 10:09 am

      Kevin – Curry is such a wonderful flavor, isn’t it? I’m glad to hear you enjoy it so much too.

      Reply
  • 5. Jennie P.  |  July 5, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Jennie — Love the website. Love the recipes. Love your writing. Love the photos. You’ve inspired this lazy old vegetarian to start cooking, again, starting with this curry recipe. Thank you. — Jennie P.

    Reply
  • 6. Danielle  |  July 6, 2009 at 2:51 am

    Oh joy… this looks like anything but ho-hum! Thanks so much for the recipe :)

    Reply
  • 7. Gryfino  |  July 8, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Amazing! This is what I call culinary genius – taking a good old regular dish and adding a twist that turns it all around :)
    I know what we’re having for dinner tonight ;)

    Reply
  • 8. Becky and the Beanstock  |  July 9, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I’ll have to skip the chicken but I am always looking for broccoli recipes. Curry is one of my favorites too — I might just work the flavor into anything. (curry pizza is my new current obsession). The combination of the curry and the Italian herbs is an interesting juxtaposition – I’m looking forward to trying that.

    Reply
  • 9. lo  |  July 9, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I totally should have read this post yesterday when I was wracking my brain for what to do with that head of broccoli. This looks delicious! I’m intrigued by all the flavors packed into this dish.

    Reply
  • 10. Morta Di Fame  |  July 13, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I LOVE BROCCOLI!!! NICe PHOTOS!

    Reply
  • 11. Becky  |  September 23, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Maybe sounds crazy but I love broccoli casserole so much I make it every year for Thanksgiving (as my main dish!) I like Indian spices too so this sounds wonderful. I might chop up my favorite breaded chick’n patties to use in this. Thanks for your beautiful site and all the imaginative and brilliant ideas for getting more veggies in our diets. I’ve been living on too much PB & J lately.
    Thanks again!!!

    Reply
    • 12. Jennie  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:40 pm

      Oh good, Becky, I’m so glad you love this recipe and find the site overall so helpful! That’s what I’m here for. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 428 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 428 other followers

