Grandma’s Zucchini Bread

September 2, 2009 at 4:09 pm 6 comments

Zucchini + Bread

What a weird summer season we’ve had here in the southeastern corner of Pennsylvania.  August alone, which is typically a month of brown lawns and shriveled leaves on trees that are too thirsty, has dumped more than 10 inches of rain on our already sopping wet and ungrateful heads!   I’ve always thought of rain in summer as the best gift you could give a gardener.  Now I know that there is indeed such a thing as too much of a good thing. 

Zucchini

Thanks to the abundance of moisture this summer, my vegetable garden has been a flop, literally.  Every plant has flopped over in submission to the routine deluges that pour from cloud-infested skies.  My tomatoes were long ago ripped out, the victims of the insipid late blight.  The bunnies beat me to my beans once the plants started splaying themselves out at perfect bunny nibbling height.  Moles took refuge in the broken down rhubarb leaves – massive thanks to the tropical moisture levels – and have made a mess of my alpine strawberry patch.  And, alas, the vine crops – namely summer squash, zucchini, and cucumbers – have all literally split open their stems, unable to cope with the sheer volume of water in the soil.    

In the basket

Needless to say, it’s been a challenging summer.    All of these crops are among my favorites and as we have unceremoniously rounded the corner into September this week, I find myself in a state of shock that somehow summer never really “happened” this year and it’s not going to at this point.  A summer without sun-warmed vine-ripened yellow tomatoes alone is one that just doesn’t make sense in my homegrown obsessed brain.

Grandmas Zucchini Bread

Fortunately, before my zucchini plants gave up the ghost, they did yield a bagful of long green fruits.  Contrary to many folks’ experiences, even my own in childhood, zucchini is not proving to be a prolific producer in my garden in recent years.  I have funny memories as a kid of neighbors trying to con other neighbors into taking their surplus zucchini, even though everyone in my small hometown was growing the stuff.  We probably could have collectively baked a million loaves of Zucchini Bread and sent them to some poor hungry nation on the other side of the globe to ease world hunger.  Really, we had that much surplus!    In more recent memory, in travels up through New England’s back roads, I’ve seen big boxes of zucchini along the roadside with an honor payment system – “5 for a $1″.    If only I were lucky enough to get that many anymore!

Moist delicious slices

With the harvest that I got this summer, there was only one thing to make from them.  My grandma always put her surplus zucchini in a delicious and moist quick bread that had us kids fooled for quite some time, not realizing we were being tricked into eating this icky green vegetable!    Just like Chocolate Beet Cake, Zucchini Bread packs a lot of healthy vegetable into a tasty sweet treat.   As my grandma journeys through her golden years, I’m trying to make a point of collecting my favorite of her recipes and get them perfected while I still have her experienced hand to guide me.    And, of course, I love sharing them with you!   These are the kinds of recipes you don’t see in your ordinary cookbook, right? 

Tisket a tasket

~

 
My Grandma’s Zucchini Bread

3 eggs
2 C. sugar
1 C. vegetable oil
2 C. grated zucchini
3 t. vanilla
3 C. flour
1 t. salt
1 t. baking powder
1 T. cinnamon

Spray a large loaf pan with nonstick spray and set aside. Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Mix together eggs, sugar, oil, zucchini and vanilla together and set aside. In another bowl or a ziplock bag, mix together the flour, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients, mixing just until everything is evenly moist.

Bake for 1 hour or until golden brown on top and springy to the touch. Let cool before cutting. If desired, loaves freeze very well to keeping. Just wrap in plastic wrap and place in a freezer bag.

(makes 1 large loaf)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , .

From the Archives: Beet Cake Summer Chowder

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mangochild  |  September 3, 2009 at 5:23 am

    It really is amazing how odd this garden year has been. Here in CT, most of the big summer veg (tomatoes, strawberries, etc) were drowned, but the zucchini, corn, and peaches have been amazing. I’ll really remember the corn I think. Thanks for sharing the bread recipe.

    Reply
  • 2. musketnuss  |  September 3, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Your photos are beautiful and the bread looks really tasty. I think I’ll try this one out! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 3. ADMIN  |  September 3, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Here in Wisconsin, we’ve gotten a moderate amount of rain. But our temperatures!! It’s been cold! cold! cold!! The gardens are in shock. I’m finally getting my first of the season tomatoes — and it’s September! Totally crazy.

    Your photos guaranteed that this wasn’t just another regular old zucchini bread post :) Thanks for that — and happy eating!

    Reply
  • 4. Summer Chowder « Straight from the Farm  |  September 5, 2009 at 10:22 am

    […] features a beautiful pair of summer squash (“pattypans” to be exact).  You might remember that I lamented in the last post about my serious lack of summer squash this season.  Low and behold, one of my sad-looking squash […]

    Reply
  • 5. Michele  |  October 6, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I make this every year too. I add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 cup raisins & 1 cup chocolate chips. It is delicious!

    Reply
  • 6. Top 10 for 2009 « Straight from the Farm  |  December 31, 2009 at 12:00 am

    […]  #10. Grandma’s Zucchini Bread […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 429 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

