Cumin Rosemary Glazed Carrots & Parsnips

January 10, 2010 at 9:02 pm 11 comments

Cumin Rosemary Glazed Carrots and Parsnips

I’m snickering to myself  a little bit here as I write today’s post.  You see, I’ve been up to no good (or rather “oh-so-good”) in the kitchen again using my weapon of choice, pumpkin, in decadent preparations.  And I would really love to share those recipes with you right now, but I’m desperately trying to behave just a bit and offer you vegetables while we all are still sorting through our New Year’s resolutions.  Veggies are good too, especially these tasty Rosemary Cumin Glazed Carrots and Parsnips. 

Ingredients

I’m rather traditional when it comes to my savory side dishes on the dinner table.  I like them to be straightforward in their savory classification, and glazed carrots have always been a little too sweet for me.  I know, I’m being a stickler, but that’s just the way I feel about basic glazed carrots.   When I want my carrots sweet, I put them in deliciously moist cakes

Ingredients Triptych

To resolve my “issues” with glazed carrots, I decided to add distinctively savory notes to them to balance the flavors to be more to my liking.  Cumin has always been a favorite spice of mine; the smoky undertones it gives to dishes being one I find highly addictive.   Rosemary, of course, is always alluring with its powerful oil and fragrance.  There’s a reason Shakespeare aligned rosemary with remembrance in the lines of Hamlet; just the slightest whiff of this herb and it carries me away on warm breezes to  sunny afternoons tending my garden or the hikes I took while traveling in Portugal where rosemary grew wild. 

Carrots and Succulents

The inclusion of parsnips also adds more depth to the savory side of these glazed carrots as I find parsnip to have a hint of dark anise in their flavor.  I find that parsnips often baffle cooks that are new to them, but they are rather easy to include in any dish that calls for carrots.  I bought my parsnips at the farmers market at the end of the season but the carrots are those that grew in my garden both last spring and fall.  It’s amazing to me how long carrots will last in storage.  What a treat to have fresh locally grown vegetables in January! 

Glazed Carrots

Rosemary Cumin Glazed Carrots & Parsnips
A Straight from the Farm original

1 lb. medium carrots
1 large parsnip
1/2 t. ground cumin
1/2 t. finely minced fresh rosemary
2 small green onions, sliced thin
2 T. unsalted butter
2 T. wild flower honey
salt

Begin by washing and peeling the carrots.  Use a sharp knife to slice the carrots in half lengthwise and trim off the thin ends so they cook evenly.  Place face down in a single layer in a large skillet or saucepan.   Add just enough water to cover the carrots completely.  Set over medium high heat on the stove.   Sprinkle in the cumin, rosemary, and just a very small pinch of salt.   Add the butter in a big hunk that will then melt down into the carrots.  Drizzle the honey over the carrots and allow to cook for 10-15 minutes until the liquid is just about evaporated and carrots are tender when pierced with a sharp knife.    Still working over the heat, toss the carrots in the skillet a few times to make sure they are getting evenly coated with the glazing that was produced by the evaporated liquids.  Sprinkle with a generous pinch of salt and toss some more. 

Remove from heat and serve while hot.  Can be stored in the fridge and reheated over low heat. 

(serves 4-6)

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Pan Seared Cauliflower & Creamy Tomato Sauce Pumpkin Bread…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Food-Fitness-FreshAir  |  January 11, 2010 at 1:18 am

    I agree that glazed carrots tend to be too sweet. Carrots are so naturally sweet in themselves! I love roasted carrots though as a side dish.

    Reply
    • 2. Jennie  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:45 am

      Ooo, I love roasted carrots too! That’s a nice way to add a smoky hint to their sweetness for sure.

      Reply
  • 3. Donna Earnshaw  |  January 11, 2010 at 5:05 am

    This looks delicious. Cumin and rosemary are my two favorite spices as well. Tell me, how do you keep your carrots from getting soft? Where do you store them?

    Reply
    • 4. Jennie  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

      Crisper drawer in a large ziplock bag with the air squeezed out of it as much as possible. The real trick though is including a paper towel that is ever so slightly damp (just spritz it with water if you have a spritzer or put three or four drops of water from the tap and then squeeze it to distribute). I can’t really explain the science behind this, I just know it works and I learned it from my grandmother. My guess is that the towel provides a bit of extra moisture when needed and then takes up excess moisture at other times. In any case, I use the paper towel on all my root vegetables (except potatoes as they will sprout). The other thing that I am very careful with is to use up (rather than store) any vegetables right from the start that have soft spots or injuries as that’s how soft rot (a very common plant pathogen) gets its foot hold and eventually will contaminate everything you are storing. Still, even I am amazed that I still have perfectly edible (albeit a little worse for the wear) carrots in my crisper drawer right now that I harvested from my garden back in June! :)

      Reply
      • 5. Donna  |  January 11, 2010 at 12:13 pm

        Excellent! I will try this. I do this with my greens, but I never thought of it for root veggies. Thanks!

        Reply
  • 6. lo  |  January 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    First of all, just look at those gorgeous carrots. Those are the real thing, baby. And I’ll bet they’d taste marvelous even eaten right out of hand.

    That said, bet this makes a gorgeous winter dish!

    Reply
  • 7. the inadvertent farmer  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Just discovering you blog…it is both beautiful and hunger inducing! Kim

    Reply
  • 8. mangochild  |  January 15, 2010 at 8:31 am

    I love parsnips and carrots, and have recently added turnips when I cook them together. Rosemary is still standing outside in my garden, so this looks like a good meal this weekend. Sometimes if the carrots are less-than-usual sweet, I’ll add a bit of honey or maple syrup from our local producers. The smell when cooking your dish, wow, must be amazing.

    Reply
  • 9. Nourishing Words  |  January 15, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    This is a beautiful and very different recipe for my root vegetables! Thanks so much. I love the idea of cumin with carrots and parsnips. Keep the good ideas coming. Your photography gets better and better, too.

    Reply
  • 10. Rosemaryandthegoat  |  January 18, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I love those little baby carrots. And they look beautiful in your dish.

    Reply
  • 11. Michael  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I also think glazed carrots are usually way too sweet and they are always mushy and gross. I think the same about what people will do to perfectly wonderful and beautiful sweet potatoes and yams. Let’s mash them up and add so much sugar (and mashmalllows???) to make them unrecognizable.

    But THESE… THESE look fantastic and sound like they are perfect with just that hint of honey to bring out their natural sweetness. And I love love love cumin which balances that sweetness so nicely.

    Looks like I need to get myself some carrots and parsnips and roast off a chicken for dinner soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 417 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

