Pumpkin Bread…

January 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm 20 comments

Pumpkin Bread

I’m having a perfectly lazy weekend, one about which I’m determined to not feel guilty.  Too often these days I find myself driven nearly to the point of distraction by my “to do” lists and a need to reach some continually elusive goal.  As such, I’m a manic list keeper.  I’d type one out here for you, but I fear it’d be a bit too embarrassing.  

Pumpkin puree

It is a blessing and a curse, as you well know if you too are a compulsive list complier.  On one hand, I am very organized and, in theory, more efficient as I rarely find myself scratching my head and wondering what to do next.  On the other hand, I am by times paralyzed by the magnitude of my self-assigned tasks.  Since I feel a tremendous sense of satisfaction when crossing off completed items on the list, I think I tend to add more and more to my lists to keep the good times rolling.  But then I realize that my list for just one day  fills an entire notebook page and I experience instant exhaustion.   Does this happen to anyone else?  Is there a twelve step program for my kind? 

Eggs

Long list, err, story short, I’ve decided I need to reign in my urge to constantly be “on task”  and focus more on savoring the things I love simply because I want to, not because they fulfill some item on my to-do list.  So, at least for the remainder of the winter, weekends are finally going to be the way they were meant to be:  time with D, watching movies, taking walks, sleeping late, knitting, reading, eating a hot breakfast instead of a granola bar, snuggling with my cats… all those good things.

Spices

One of those things that I love is making bread.  I really find my stride in the kitchen when working with both quick and yeast breads.  I particularly enjoy kneading yeast doughs; so therapeutic.  But this time, I decided to make a quick bread as I still haven’t completely satisfied my craving for all things pumpkin.  And to add to the indulgence, both in flavor and in just enjoying myself on a lazy weekend, I actually then turned this delicious loaf into a breakfast/brunch favorite that you’ll just have to wait to discover in my next post.  Trust me, it is a wonderful way to spend some relaxing time in the kitchen and making a delicious dish for those you love and want to indulge!

Loaf and Yarrow

Meanwhile, this bread is super moist with a perfect crumb and hints of the warm spices that compliment pumpkin so very well.  It’s a lovely little loaf for breakfast just the way it is, served warm and heavily buttered.  But like I said, I have an extra special way to put it to good use that I’ll tell you about in the next post… stay tuned (and relaxed).   

Pumpkin Bread
A Straight from the Farm Original

1 1/4 C. all-purpose flour
1/2 C. whole wheat flour
2 t. baking powder
1/4 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. freshly ground nutmeg
1/4 t. ground cloves
1/8 t. ground allspice
1/3 C. margarin, room temperature
2/3 C. sugar
2 eggs, room temp and beaten
1 C. pumpkin puree

*If you don’t have all the spices in the recipe on hand and don’t feel like buying them all, you can use a pumpkin pie spice blend instead.  Use 1 t. of cinnamon along with 2 t. of pumpkin pie spice. 

Preheat oven to 350 F and grease one large or two small loaf pans.  Set aside.

Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices (I put all mine into a ziplock bag and shake it around). 

Cream together margarin and sugar until fluffy.  Add beaten eggs and mix well.  Add a third of the dry ingredient mix, then a third of the pumpkin.  Continue to alternate these two until all is just combined in the batter.  Do not overmix. 

Pour batter into prepared pan(s) and bake for an hour or until golden brown and springy to the touch.   To store for more than two days, wrap tightly in plastic wrap and store in fridge.  You may also freeze it. Delicious warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or turned into French toast.

(serves 12)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , .

Cumin Rosemary Glazed Carrots & Parsnips …Pumpkin French Toast

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Food-Fitness-FreshAir  |  January 17, 2010 at 9:17 am

    This looks moist and sounds delicious! I could see it with some cream cheese icing.

    Reply
  • 2. Era  |  January 17, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Mmmm, lovely. And I agree with you, I am a fanatic list maker and sometimes need to remember that there are other things. Although I’m also a great procrastinator so that tends to keep things a bit balanced.

    Reply
  • [...] Pumpkin Bread – Straight from the Farm January 17, 2010 · Posted in Appetizers  Hello there! If you are new here, you might want to subscribe to the RSS feed for great food updates. Pumpkin Bread… « Straight from the Farm. [...]

    Reply
  • 4. Ashley  |  January 19, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Wow. Just found your blog from foodbuzz. I love your photography. So clean + simple. I tend to keep myself super busy almost all day long but I have a hard time getting certain things done. I was wondering if people can be type A and type B. I think that is me. I strive for perfection and go a little crazy about some things…and then others i’m sooooo lazy, ie: paperwork, phone calls, etc. Pumpkin is one of my top 5 ingredients ever! =P

    Reply
    • 5. Jennie  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      Welcome, Ashley!! Glad you stopped by and hope you’ll drop in again regularly. I think I could be with you on the dual-type thing, btw. If you love pumpkin as much as I do, you should definitely check out “Pumpkin” in the recipe index here as there are a lot of great dishes to be made. :)

      Reply
  • 6. alana  |  January 19, 2010 at 8:55 am

    RIght there with you on the list issue- but I think bread is a fabulous remedy. Thee pics are so great- I love the orange!

    Reply
    • 7. Jennie  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks, Alana! I got inspired by those napkins (they’re from Ikea, of all places). :)

      Reply
  • 8. dokuzuncubulut  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I like it. I love spices, and use all recipe…

    Reply
  • 9. megan  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:34 am

    This looks so good. I’m hungry right now and would really like a piece of this bread. This might be my new baking project for the weekend – I was looking for a new bread to make. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 10. Jason  |  January 19, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Totally with you on the list-making. I’m sure there’s a 12-step group out there somewhere, but then again, writing down those 12 steps and penciling in time for the meeting would probably only serve to continue the problem into perpetuity!

    Reply
    • 11. Jennie  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm

      Stop making me laugh while I’m trying to write my list for the day… my handwriting is bad enough already. :-P

      Reply
  • 12. …Pumpkin French Toast « Straight from the Farm  |  January 20, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    [...] Pumpkin Bread… [...]

    Reply
  • 13. Lee Ann Foster  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Hello Jennie,

    Straight from the Farm goes straight to my heart. All that you embrace and everything you give to humanity is such an inspiration. As a long time supporter of the organic community and farmer’s markets it’s easy to identify with your philosophy.

    It must be edifying to gaze at all the photos you have mastered. Compelling.

    Reply
    • 14. Jennie  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:14 pm

      Thank you, Lee Ann, for your touching words. That is wonderful to hear! And thank you for your lovely comment on Foodbuzz which I tried to reply to but it never seemed to show up. If you have questions on your venture to plant an edible yard, please be sure to ask! :)

      Reply
      • 15. Lee Ann M Foster  |  January 23, 2010 at 12:22 pm

        Kind of you to offer advice as I go along. Thank you.

        Reply
  • 16. Catherine  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I’m in love with your blog! It’s so satisfying to find a list-making, edible yard-growing, delicious-food-cooking, visual-ethical-hilarious foodie! Love love love!

    For the record, I am the type of person who will add things to the list after-the-fact just for the pleasure of seeing it crossed off. But I’m officially distracted from my towering ziggurat of a list, and am off to go peruse your archived posts. Keep it up!

    Reply
  • 17. Emily  |  January 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I too suffer from list-addiction :) I really enjoyed your post- doesn’t this book sound perfect for enjoying a relaxed, wonderful winter?

    Reply
  • 18. Pumpkin Bread « the delish dish  |  February 6, 2010 at 11:47 am

    [...] knew I couldn’t go wrong with a recipe from another pumpkin fanatic.  I chose to make her pumpkin bread, which I thought would do an excellent job of satisfying my fall cravings, but it really just [...]

    Reply
  • 19. thedelishdish  |  February 6, 2010 at 11:50 am

    i made this recipe the other week and couldn’t believe how great it was!! disappeared before i got to make the french toast tho!

    Reply
  • [...] Fig Clafouti you’re all familiar with already from the last post.  And the dense moist Pumpkin Bread that’s made an appearance on the blog already was once again a hit.  Slices of perfectly ripe [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 424 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

