Summer Fruit Cobbler

August 29, 2010 at 9:30 pm 12 comments

Summer Fruit Cobbler

Just in time for Labor Day, a perfect classic fruit cobbler recipe!

Black Berries

Somehow this summer has completely blown past me.  How did I displace the entire month of August?!  For that matter, what about July and June?  I guess this is just what happens when you launch your own business and handle every aspect of it yourself.  It’s been a fun summer though, full of beautiful flowers and new friendships with the lovely folks that buy them.   And since I now spend two days a week selling my blooms at farmers markets, I’ve been getting quite the assortment of fresh seasonal fruit from other farmers to bring home.   These guys have the best peaches.  And these guys have the most amazing Asian pears.  And these guys have to-die-for black berries. 

Summer Fruit

I’m still growing nearly all my own vegetables, but fruit, particularly anything growing on trees, is tough to manage in pots on the deck so I depend on getting to know a few key fruit growers to be sure I stay fully stocked with nature’s candy.  There have been two notable growing- fruit-in-a-pot successes this season though.   There were a half dozen of the most darling and delicious miniature melons.  Little Gem is an heirloom variety that was quite happy to climb up the lattice around our deck and dangle delicate melons from the vines without fear of them falling from their own weight.  The taste was sweet and superb. 

Summer Fruit

The other success story was the blueberries.  Last year I put a blueberry bush (‘Bluegold’) in a very large pot on the deck and crossed my fingers that it would make it through the winter in one piece.  Not only did it survive, it thrived!   I picked gobs of perfect blue orbs off it over the course of late June and July.  I had to protect the bush from marauding birds and squirrels by fitting it with a custom-made “shower cap” (row cover fleece with an elastic band sown around the bottom so I could put the fleece over the bush and secure it with the elastic around the pot).  

Take a bite

The berries went into my breakfast yogurt and pancakes mostly.   But I did save a pint of them specially to make a wonderful summer fruit cobbler.  This is just the perfect thing for a relaxing backyard get-together…perhaps you’re having one of those real soon for Labor Day.  It should be mandatory to serve it with a large scoop of vanilla ice cream, but I won’t go so far as to dictate your entire dessert menu.  Peaches are at their peak still, but local blue berries might be hard to find.  The recipe is really just a blueprint for a cobbler that will showcase any combination of fruits.  Just stroll through your local farmers market and pick out what looks the most tempting and juiciest.  You really can’t go wrong. 

Height of Summer Fruit Cobbler


Height of Summer Fruit Cobbler

A Straight from the Farm Original

Filling
2 T.  cornstarch
1/4 C. cold water
1 C. sugar
1 T. lemon juice
1 t. freshly grated nutmeg
1 vanilla bean, scraped
a pinch of ground ginger (optional)
1 C. fresh blackberries, rinsed and drained
1 C. diced fresh peaches (about 3  peaches)
1 C. fresh blueberries
1 C. diced fresh plum (about 4 plums)

Topping
1 C. all-purpose flour
1/2 C. white sugar, divided
1 t.  baking powder
1/4 t. freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 t.  salt
6 T. cold butter
1/4 C. boiling water

Preheat oven to 400 F.  Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and sit a baking dish (9×9 or 6 small ramekins) on top.
In a mixing bowl, dissolve the cornstarch in cold water. Whisk in 1 cup sugar, lemon juice, nutmeg, vanilla bean, and ground ginger.  Add the fruit and toss to coat evenly.  Transfer to heavy pot over medium heat and bring to a boil, stirring regularly.

While the fruit cooks, make the topping.  In a medium bowl, mix the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt. Cut or rub in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in about a 1/4 cup boiling water just until mixture is evenly moist.

When the fruit is boiling steadily, take it off the stovetop and immediately (and carefully) transfer it to the baking dish on the tray.  Drop dough by spoonfuls onto the top of the fruit. Place cobble in the preheated oven and bake 25-30 minutes or until dough is golden brown.

While the cobbler is still warm, sprinkle the top with a little extra sugar to give it some crunch.  Serve with ice cream, whipped cream or just a drizzle of heavy cream. 

(serves 4-6)

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , .

From the Archives: Summer Berry Pavolova Project Food Blog {my chance at fame?}

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Food-Fitness-FreshAir  |  August 30, 2010 at 6:39 am

    I love fruit cobbler. It’s one of my favorite summer treats. And it can even be really delicious with a whole wheat crumb top. We’ve been trying to grow fruit trees back home…The bugs are constantly attacking them!

    Reply
    • 2. Jennie  |  September 3, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      Yeah, fruit trees are hard to grow…lots of pests and diseases attack them. That’s why I’ve left it up to the professionals to supply me with peahes, apples, and pears. :-) Lve the idea of a whole wheat crumb top! I’ll do that next time.

      Reply
  • 3. oneordinaryday  |  August 30, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Your photos are beautiful. How lucky that you have so many local places to find fresh fruit! I like the idea of planting blueberries in a container. I think I’m going to try that on my deck. : )

    Reply
  • 4. shayma  |  August 30, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    J, your photos are my favourite from all the food bloggers out there- i simply adore them. x shayma

    Reply
  • 5. Veronika Rojas  |  August 30, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    I absolutely love that you are so well rounded when it comes to growing your own fruit and veggies. It is just such an amazing gift!

    Reply
  • 6. Nourishing Words  |  August 31, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    You’re beautiful photography leaves me drooling every time. Cobbler wasn’t on my labor day weekend list of things to cook, but it is now! Peaches are just finishing here in New Hampshire; hopefully I’ll be able to get my hands on a few more. Thanks for this inspiration!

    Reply
  • 7. whatwouldcathyeat  |  August 31, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Oh my god, I’m literally drooling. I’m going to try to make a non-butter version of this for my heart healthy blog!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  September 3, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Thanks everyone for the compliments! I hope you all get a chance to try the cobbler! It’s really such a perfect send-off to summer. :)

    Reply
  • 9. Alisa  |  September 5, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I just love your photos. Ive been learning to make great shots like this with my camera and I hope someday it can get as beautiful as yours!

    Reply
  • 10. latte to tea  |  September 9, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I bought many peaches yesterday. I wanted to eat summer fruits as much as I can before it gets too cold. I still have some left to make cobbler. Thank you so much for the beautiful recipe.

    Reply
  • 11. Pandaranol Summer Fruit Cobbler  |  November 9, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    [...] Straight from the Farm [...]

    Reply
  • 12. Kimberly  |  December 13, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    it is all SO lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 427 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers

