Apple Crisp

December 5, 2010 at 8:38 pm 26 comments

Classic Apple Crisp

I visited the farmers market this weekend, walking the block between my home and the market at top speed, trying unsuccessfully to stay warm in the whipping winter winds.  I love that so many of the farmers markets here in Philadelphia have decided to hold winter markets, most every other week instead of weekly and for just an hour or two so the farmers don’t turn completely into icicles.  Being able to still buy local sweet potatoes, onions, broccoli, kale, and apples directly from their growers is such a treat and a sure cure for the winter blues. 

Classic Apple Crisp Diptych

I purchased eight large russet-hued ‘Winesap” and a few bicolor ‘Honeycrisp’  apples, having a hard time counting out my bills with my numb fingers.  I didn’t really have a plan for them at that moment, but given apples keep for quite some time, I thought I’d just store them until I had a grand idea.  Once I got home though, I realized I didn’t want to dream up a wild creative dish for them.  Instead, all I really wanted was a simple delicious traditional Apple Crisp. 

Apple Crisp

Surprisingly, I don’t make fruit crisps very often so I didn’t have a go-to recipe already.   So, after a quick online search, I came across the one below.  It seemed ridiculously easy, I already had all the ingredients in the pantry, and the recipe got great reviews.  Away I went, peeling apples and crumbling the topping.  Indeed it was easy and delicious.  This is a keeper, though this particular crisp is likely to be gone real soon…

Apples

CLASSIC APPLE CRISP
Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Filling
10 cups all-purpose apples, peeled, cored and sliced
1 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground clove
1/2 cup water

Topping
1 cup quick-cooking oats
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degree C).

Place the sliced apples in an ungreased 9×13 inch pan. Mix the white sugar, 1 tablespoon flour and ground cinnamon together, and sprinkle over apples. Pour water evenly over all.

Combine the oats, 1 cup flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda and melted butter together. Crumble evenly over the apple mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C), uncovered, for about 45 minutes.


Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , .

A Chocolate Review Warm Winter Whole Grain Salad

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grace Dickinson  |  December 5, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Love, love, love apple crisp. And winter Philly farmer’s markets! The one up by Temple closed up shop for the winter, but I just passed by Rittenhouse’s beautiful showcase yesterday.

    Reply
  • 2. Food  |  December 5, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    [...] Apple Crisp [...]

    Reply
  • 3. gretchen  |  December 5, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Yum! love apple crisp….but I’d have to add some ice cream!

    Reply
  • 4. sally  |  December 5, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Not much beats a nice warm apple crisp–especially one with yummy winesap and honey crisp apples!

    Reply
  • 5. gcol  |  December 6, 2010 at 2:22 am

    This makes me hungry, yum yum..

    Reply
  • 6. Food in Pantry  |  December 6, 2010 at 3:51 am

    Perfect with vanilla ice cream. Delicious!

    Reply
  • 7. oneordinaryday  |  December 6, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Your apple crisp looks wonderful. I just wish I didn’t dislike peeling and coring apples so much!

    Reply
  • 8. Rosemary52  |  December 6, 2010 at 8:26 am

    I have a great apple crisp recipe, too, straight out of the Joy of Cooking (or is it the New Joy of Cooking). This one has all the sugar and spices in the crisp topping – put sliced apples in the dish (I leave the peeling on), sprinkle on topping, tap the dish on the counter a couple of times so the flour, sugar and spices can drift down through the apples and cook. So easy! Now I’m going to have to make it for dinner tonight.

    Reply
  • 9. Eleanor Baron  |  December 6, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Mmmm. I make a similar one, but add in fresh cranberries for a colorful, sour contrast. So easy, so delicious!

    Reply
  • 10. fattydumpling  |  December 7, 2010 at 8:27 am

    I had one of those moments this morning–where you realize that you’d like something simpler to eat than to make something fantastically complicated. Your crisp looks delicious, my farmer’s market’s also open during the winter, so I’ll soon be making the cold trek as well :]

    Reply
  • 11. Juliana  |  December 8, 2010 at 11:02 am

    When I make a crisp, I like to double the topping blend (except for the butter) and stick half in a jar for next time. It makes it easy to do a quick and small crisp when I feel like a treat after dinner. While it doesn’t take long to mix the dry ingredients, it is nice to have it already mixed in the right ratio.

    Reply
    • 12. Jennie  |  December 8, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      Excellent idea, Juliana!! Thanks so much for sharing. :-)

      Reply
  • 13. Apple Recipes | Beneficial Farms CSA  |  December 8, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    [...] Click here for the recipe [...]

    Reply
  • 14. relishtherussian  |  December 9, 2010 at 3:28 am

    That looks delicious! I just made a quince fruit crisp the other day, I’m always looking for seasonal recipes. Thanks for the tips!

    Kate

    http://relishtherussian.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 15. Natasha  |  December 9, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    This looks delicious, I so have to try it!

    Reply
  • 16. Dinners & Dreams  |  December 16, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    I love crisps with all kinds of fruit but there is nothing like apples when it comes to baking. They’re marvelous.

    Nisrine

    Reply
  • 17. Sue  |  January 21, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Made this last night for a group of women friends and everyone loved it. With soup and a salad on a cold winter night, it was perfect. Thanks, Jenny.

    Reply
  • 18. Heather  |  January 22, 2011 at 9:20 am

    IF you ever have applecrisp leftovers use them for breakfast the next day. Take some crisp and mix it with a cup or so of steel cut oats, cover with milk and put in the fridge overnight. The next morning you’ll have the most delish breakfast waiting for you. Warm if want or eat cold. I make crisps and freeze them in small portions just for this. My kids don’t understand why their friends dislike oatmeal!

    Reply
  • 19. Cynthia  |  February 22, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I love Apple Crisp!! I can not wait to try your recipe!

    Reply
  • 20. Inger Wilkerson  |  March 21, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I bought a case of apples a couple weeks ago and I think this means I need to turn some into Apple Crisp. I almost want to ration them in the winter, but I guess warm crisp (especially a la mode) is a near perfect winter comfort food!

    Reply
  • 21. Pandaranol Apple Crisp  |  June 26, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    [...] Straight from the Farm [...]

    Reply
  • 22. Barb  |  September 13, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    I make a lot of apple crisp–a reheated bowl of it with a little milk makes a wonderful winter breakfast. Almost 50 yrs ago my German grandmother told me that if it’s good no one will notice you didn’t peel the apples. She was right, and haven’t peeled one since!I add a good handful of raisins and seldom need any sugar on the fruit, just cinnamon. Topping–butter flour, dark brown sugar, and oatmeal, mixed until crumbly. Usually have about as much topping as fruit, and the family fights over it!

    Reply
  • 23. One of My Top Ten Favorite Foods « Professor Girl  |  October 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    [...] Apple Crisp (straightfromthefarm.net) [...]

    Reply
  • 24. Pandaranol Apple Crisp  |  October 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    [...] Direct Groupement de la ferme [...]

    Reply
  • 25. Check My Blog  |  May 30, 2013 at 3:53 am

    If some one wishes expert view about blogging and site-building then i advise him/her to go to see this
    website, Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  • 26. my Blog  |  September 14, 2014 at 12:45 am

    Intelligent controls will also be provided in advanced light bars for max output
    and optimum usage. The new OLED technology offers
    a quantity of improvements over LCD including much deeper black levels (better yet than Plasma) because of an incredible contrast ratio of merely one,000,000:1.
    50 inch led light bar mounts The status bar also contains notifications for brand new messages, missed calls, and upcoming events.

    Powder coated extruded aluminum, composite nylon polymer and
    ABS, are some of the choices for the casing with the light bar.
    The benefits for that users of LED light bars cover a large area appealing:.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 424 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

