A Not-So-Photogenic Radish Salad

June 5, 2007 at 2:27 pm 4 comments

Easter Egg Radish Peeping from the Soil

Ya know, for something that is SO beautiful in the field, I probably should have chosen a recipe with a more aesthetically pleasing final dish presentation.  But, alas, I did not stop to ponder this philosophy before diving into the Ukrainian Radish Salad, and now it’s just too yummy not to post.  The photo at the bottom of the recipe is the result of nearly 50 tries before I could get this salad to smile.  By the end, I felt a certain kinship with it since I don’t consider myself to be overly photogenic either. 

 Radish Pile Radishes and Scallions
 Radishes Being Sliced Radish Hearts 
radishes straight from the farm to the table 

If you want to preserve the color of these beauties, you may wish to dress the salad in just vinegar and oil instead of adding the sour cream.  But I would go ahead with the full recipe again myself since the flavor is a nice blend of creamy and spicy.  Ultimately though, I was just as happy with slicing these mild radishes, crisping them up in an ice water bath and then salting each slice before popping it in my mouth.  But such a simple approach doesn’t make for a very interesting post, now does it? 


UKRAINIAN RADISH SALAD
Adapted from Madhur Jaffreys’ World Vegetarian.

2 c. thinly sliced radishesRadishes and Herbs Mixed
2 scallions, cut into very fine rounds
   (use both white & green parts)
1 clove garlic, finely minced
3 T.  fresh dill, finely chopped
1 T. extra virgin olive oil
1/2  t. salt (be generous)
1/4 t. cayenne
1 c. lite sour cream
1/4 t. paprika


In a bowl, toss the radishes, scallions, garlic, dill, extra virgin olive oil, salt, and cayenne. Mix well and then add the sour cream and paprika.  Mix well again.  Chill at least three hours before serving to let the flavors marry.   The final outcome makes a nice alternative to coleslaw.

(makes 3-4 side dish servings)

Ukrainian Radish Salad

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Delicate Balmy Summer Tea My General Approach

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennie  |  June 6, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Be the first to comment! Tell me how you found this blog…

    Reply
  • 2. fallenangel65  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I am vegetable illiterate. Purple scallions? How cool! The radishes are beautiful. I am living my gardening vicariously through you – atleast this season.

    (sorry for recapping your theme in my comments – not intentionally being a goof, I guess it just comes naturally sometimes.)😉

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  May 30, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    What a great way to use radishes! Grew radishes this year (don’t usually) with hopes of making this. Yum, different is good!🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  May 31, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Thanks, Rachel! 🙂 I hope you enjoy! Let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


