My General Approach

June 12, 2007 at 2:35 pm 4 comments

It dawned on me just now that perhaps I should let the world (i.e., those of you who have been so kind as to visit my fledgling blog) know how I generally approach cooking.  After all, if you’re going to trust my recipes, you’d best be aware of my quirks.  So, what follows is neither a compulsory nor a comprehensive list: 

–  Nutmeg makes everything better. And when I say everything, I mean everything.

– I don’t use conventional eggs.  That kind you get in the pour carton is all I ever use.  Real eggs kinda gross me out.

– My micro plane will be buried with me.  I love it that much.

– One should always have a fresh lemon in the house.
 
– Never put tomatoes in the fridge (if they’re going ripe too fast, roast them and put them in tupperware for the next pasta dish you make).
 
– I don’t measure salt in recipes.  The pinch-n-dash system hasn’t failed me yet.

– It was a hard lesson for me to learn but ALWAYS finish all chopping before firing up the stove.  Everything comes out so much better when I’m not scrambling to finish dicing the onion.

– I’m not really passionate about cooking.  But I am passionate about fresh ingredients. My true love is baking but it doesn’t really use many fresh ingredients or else this would be a blog about baking instead of cooking.

– I really prefer a tiny kitchen to a large one. It’s much more efficient to have your cutting board, sink and stove all within three feet of each other, ya know?

– There’s usually some style of accordion music playing in my kitchen, either tango or french.  Can’t really explain why…

– I rather abhor the microwave. Give me a gas stove top any day. But I do love that new-fangled zapping machine for making microwave potato chips.

dresses hanging out to dry on my parents’ farm

Entry filed under: Extra Credit. Tags: .

A Not-So-Photogenic Radish Salad We Met Online

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  June 12, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    I’m with you on just about all of this (except maybe the eggs and the cooking passion disclaimer, but I get what you’re talking about). I’m glad you’re loving the microwave chips, I can’t believe I got someone to buy a mandoline just for that recipe. I don’t usually have much use for the microwave either, except for those chips and a couple of other things.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  June 13, 2007 at 7:58 am

    Hey Mary! Thanks for stopping by to see my blog! Seriously, those chips have changed my life. 🙂 Very worth the investment in a mandoline. I’m still debating if I should get that little contraption that holds up the slices in the microwave though… that’s a tough sale.

    Reply
  • 3. Emily  |  June 22, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Mmmmm… those potato chips are so yummy!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  June 25, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Those chips were especially good because you were diligent about making sure they didn’t go up in smoke.🙂 I wish I had your services for tonight’s blog bonanza feast. Next week perhaps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


