A Little Something Extra

June 26, 2007 at 6:38 pm 3 comments

scallions-chopped.jpg  crisp-ingredients-mixed.jpg 

When I got home from the farm over the weekend, I had a very big pile of scallions that I hadn’t really planned on getting.  Who knew an excess of scallions could lead to such a fun and fancy evening that I will appropriately dub “Backyard Blog Bonanza”?  Here’s what happened.

I started contemplating how to use the scallions.  I came up with an idea of a salad, but wasn’t so pleased.  Then the idea of a salad led me to a gourmet beat salad I’ll post shortly.  That led me to think about how to make a fancy starter dish even fancier.  That led to Parmesan Scallion Crisps to address the original excess of scallions.  That lead to the realization that I needed an audience to fully appreciate how much work and thought I was putting into creating fancy salad stuffs.  All of which culminated into a fun and casual dining experience with some great friends chowing down in my backyard (really it’s the front, but that doesn’t make for nearly as catchy a title) on several dishes created specifically for the blog. 

Thus it came about that the spark for this gastronomic gala, a humble bunch of scallions, was transformed into a little something extra special for a nice salad.  The crisps would also go nicely with a bowl of soup. 

Guests at the first ever Backyard Blog Bonanza

As for the Backyard Blog Bonanza, it was such a big hit, we plan to do it again sometime, although D has forbidden me from doing it every week due to the monstrous pile of dishes it created in our oh-so-tiny kitchen.  For once, I have to admit he’s right. The recipes to be posted this week were all served at the BBB and met with rave reviews.  If you’re having a summer dinner party in the near future, perhaps you’d care to follow the same menu.  If nothing else, try the parmesan scallions crisps the next time you want a little somthin’ somethin’ with your dinner.crisp-cheese-goo-up-close.jpg

Parmesan Scallion Crisps

1 c. freshly grated parmesan cheese
2 scallions
1 lemon
1 t. freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Finely mince both the white and green parts of the scallions.  Spread out on a paper towel and dab to soak up as much of the “juice” as you can.  Place dried scallions in a small bowl along with the grated cheese.  Zest the lemon peel and add to the bowl along with the pepper.  Toss together until well mixed.   Drop tablespoons of the mixture onto the baking sheet, leaving at least 2 inches between piles.  Bake for 7-8 minutes until brown and crisp.  Let cool 5 minutes before gently peeling off the parchment paper.  Use on top of salads or soup. 

(makes 7-8 crisps)

parmesan-scallion-crisp.jpg

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Let’s Talk “Shop” Color Me Yummy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jolynna  |  June 26, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    What fun!

    Your scallion crisps look good. I am also going to try your beet cake recipe. My neighbor sells them at her vegetable stand, but I didn’t want to tackle pickling.

    Anyway, I will be sure to come back for more of your recipes.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  June 26, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Hi Jolynna! I hope you do try the beet cake because that was the best recipe I’ve posted to date. I dream of that cake at night. These crisps are so simple, they make a nice complement to just about any dish. Let me know if you like them!

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  July 1, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    I was visiting my sister-in-law this weekend and she told me she molds her parmesan crisps into little bowls by laying them over custard dishes when they come out of the oven. She then uses the parmesan bowls for little apppetizer salads. She’s so clever! Thanks for the tip, Rachel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


