More Method Than Recipe

July 2, 2007 at 6:42 pm 3 comments

beet-in-the-ground.jpg

A month or so ago I started making microwave potato chips, thanks to the guidance of some other clever food bloggers.  Enjoying the extra crisp, non-fat version of the great American snack, I wanted very much to be able to share it with my own readers.  But, alas, the farm doesn’t grow potatoes.  Since my mission for the blog is to only post recipes featuring produce harvested at the farm, I was at a bit of a loss.  Then I got the bright idea of making kohlrabi chips during my obsession with that vegetable earlier this summer.  Note to self and all of you: kohlrabi, for all its delights, doesn’t make good microwave chips. 

I also tried beets at that time, and they didn’t really work since it was a real challenge to cut them uniformly thin.  Fast forward to today: my new mandoline with its shiny blade cutting magic enters the scene.  Oh baby, what a difference this kitchen gadget makes! I don’t really have room for many gadgets with my lack of cabinet space, but this one is worth its shelf space and then some.  With the aid of the mandoline to make the beet slices all paper thin, new heights were reached in the arena of Beet Chips

beets-sliced-for-chips.jpg

And so, with giddy glee, I pass along this method for making beet chips that rival those overpriced Terra Chips in all the fancy grocery stores.   I’m thinking I might get myself a bag of those and try each of the root vegetables listed.  Perhaps you should too…

BEET CHIPS

Ingredients
1 beet per person being servedbeet-chips.jpg
butter flavored cooking spray
salt
pepper

Required Tools
Microwave
Mandoline
Parchment paper

First a word about the required tools for this recipe.  You really need to have a mandoline to slice the beets uniformly thin.  I tried making these beet chips before I got the mandoline and they just didn’t work.  If you’re a master knife wielder, you might be able to manage without the mandoline.    Secondly, parchment paper is pretty key as I tried both paper towels (chips stuck to the towel) and wax paper (didn’t soak up the moisture).  Finally, microwaves vary, as we all know.  Mine is fairly high powered (I think) so play with the cooking time to match your own microwave. 

To make beet chips, slice beets as thinly as possible, applying almost no pressure to the mandoline when running the beet over the blade.  Lay beet slices out in one layer on parchment paper, being careful not to overlap the slices.  Spray slices with butter spray and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Place another sheet of parchment paper over beet slices.  Using a cutting board or baking sheet to aid in transport, move the beet slices/parchment paper sandwich to the microwave.  (Do NOT put the cutting board or baking sheet in the microwave.)  Cook on high for 3 minutes.  Check to see if slices are crisp.  If not, cook for 30 seconds more and check again.  Continue with this method until you’ve established the correct time needed to produce crisp, but not blackened, chips. 

Repeat process for all the slices, being careful to reduce time as necessary as your microwave heats up and gets more moisture in it with multiple batches. 

(1 beet serves 1 person)

about-to-eat-a-beet-chip.jpg

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Great ‘Zukes! Not for the Faint of Spicy Heart

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  July 5, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    I’m kicking myself right now for not purchasing this super-nifty small (I also lack room for kitchen gadgets) metal mandolin I saw this week.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  July 5, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    Taylor – How are your knife skills? 🙂 I was thinking that if I didn’t have a mandoline, I might have tried these in the oven instead, on really low heat (say 200) until they got crisp. But I have no evidence that such a method would work. If you’re game, give it a go and report back!

    Reply
  • 3. "funny post"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    “funny post”

    “[…]n Can I recently say such a relief to locate somebody that truly knows what t 2g[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


