Ending on a High Note

July 22, 2007 at 7:22 pm 7 comments

heriloom-tomatoes-at-headhouse.jpg

This morning I scurried over to the Farm to pick a dozen squash blossoms and a couple fennels on my way to the newly established Headhouse Farmers Market on 2nd Street, just off Philly’s colorful South Street.  My mission: to bring some truly interesting items to Weavers Way Farm’s stand at the Market.  After dropping off my goods with Farmer Dave at our table, I took a stroll around.

The Market was amazing, both in its diversity of produce and people and in its beautiful colors and smells.  You’ll have to take my word for it since I forgot to reset my white balance on the camera, resulting in less than stellar photos.  This kickoff event for the Headhouse Market was really one of the last events in the “Buy Fresh Buy Local Week”, promoted and organized by Pennsylvania Association for Sustainable Agriculture (PASA).  With literally dozens of invigorating events throughout the past week, it seemed only fitting to finish it all off with the best imaginable farmers market.  Even Weaver’s Way Co-op Manager, Glenn Bergman, was surprised by the market’s sheer volume of local produce. He said something to the effect of “It’s just so darn European!”

headhouse-farmers-market-kickoff.jpg

Indeed, the Headhouse Market reminds me of strolling the riverbanks  in Lyon, France, during the Sunday market there.  I am so encouraged to see the urbanites in Philadelphia embracing this “food chain renaissance”, returning to the high quality flavors and heriloom varieties in a way that Philly’s founders (who built the Headhouse Square Shambles in which this market is housed) would have greatly appreciated. 

What I appreciated seeing the most was two chefs stop by our table, choosing to take Weavers Way Farm produce for the “Chef Cook-off” event being held in conjunction with the Headhouse Market’s grand opening.  While I didn’t get the opportunity to see who won, I’m sure our produce was put to good use. 

So, while “Buy Fresh Buy Local Week” has indeed ended on a superb high note, don’t think this is it.  “It” is just beginning.  For one, Weavers Way Farm is just starting to pump out the best of its harvest for the season.  No doubt the same can be said for all the other farmers at Headhouse today.   If you didn’t visit today, visit next week and the week after and again and again.   If you don’t live in Philly, I’m sure there’s a similarly unique farmers market near you.  Join the swelling chorus of voices singing the praises of local farmers and their harvests. 

headhouse-market-ww-farm-stand.jpg

Entry filed under: Extra Credit, Farm Notes. Tags: .

Crunchy Goodness A Little Southern Comfort

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joselle  |  July 23, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Just another market to add to the list. Sounds like a great time.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  July 23, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Joselle – you bettcha! I hope you get a chance to browse there. Get some of Franklin Fountain’s blueberry ice cream too while you’re there.

    Reply
  • 3. Joanna  |  July 23, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    I didn’t realize WW farm was at the Headhouse market! I still haven’t visited the Sunday market yet, and I considered doing it this week — but I was up late drinking on Saturday night after the Slow Food/Farm to City event (at the Shambles, in fact). Plus, since I visit markets Tues.-Sat., it’s a little hard to make the time to visit them on my days off, as much as I love farmers’ markets.

    (I’m not sure if I’ve introduced myself — I’ve known about Weaver’s Way for about a year, since I have friends who are members and friends who are on staff. But I only joined about a month ago, when I realized I’d be visiting the Thurs. market in front of the co-op weekly. See, now I work part-time for Farm to City, visiting almost all the markets as a sort of market manager. Oh, I also volunteer at the Fair Food Farmstand, which is how I got the FtC job. Those are my local food credentials. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  July 23, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Joanna – next time you get a chance, stop by the market or the farm itself to introduce yourself in person. Sounds like we’ve got a lot in common. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Glenn  |  July 23, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Great time at Headhouse….thank you…
    GB

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  July 24, 2007 at 7:10 am

    Glenn – enjoyed chatting with you!

    Reply
  • 7. "advice"  |  October 12, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    “advice”

    “[…]k Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look nj[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


