A Little Southern Comfort

July 23, 2007 at 11:56 am 4 comments

okra-blossom.jpg

I have always enjoyed a nice helping of okra, usually battered and fried.  But I hadn’t run across this southern sweetheart’s plant prior to my work on the farm.  Talk about your “straight from the farm” pleasures – this particular plant packs a double wallop.  First, I was instantly mesmerized by its blossoms.  Creamy ivory petals hug a deeply purple heart and fuzzy-chick-yellow pistil…the sheer sensuality of its beauty instantly reminded me of a Georgia O’Keefe painting.   

okra-and-tomatoes-fresh.jpg

After I stopped starring at the flower and got to harvesting the okra – the plant’s undeveloped seed pods – I was again engrossed with how tender and delicate the okra was when it was harvested.  The stuff I had gotten in the past from the supermarket just didn’t hold a candle next to the soft pods in my hands during this mid-morning Saturday harvest.  I couldn’t slather these tender babies in batter and subject them to scalding oil. 

I went to my sagging shelf of cookbooks and pulled down a few of my most trusted.  I had always thought of okra as a southern dish, which no doubt it is.  But it turns out it must be popular in the Mediterranean too, or so one would assume since I found the recipe I was looking for in World Cook’s Collection: Mediterranean Kitchen.   Despite to book’s title, I would still classify this recipe as one with more southern than mediterranean flare. 

Regardless of the recipe origins, there’s no denying this dish is pure comfort food.  The flavors are warm but not hot.  The texture is soft but not slimy the way some okra dishes can get.   And the overall end result is a full tummy that hasn’t missed having a “main dish” when this okra is served over rice.   Really, it makes quite a nice lunch.       

okra-tops-up-close.jpgokra-insides.jpgokra-tops.jpg

OKRA WITH CORIANDER AND TOMATOES
Adapted from World Cook’s Collection: Mediterranean Kitchen

1 lb. fresh ripe tomatoes
1 lb. fresh okra
3 T. olive oil
2 small onions, thinly sliced
2 t. crushed coriander seeds OR 1 t. ground coriander
3 garlic gloves, minced
1/2 t. sugar
1 lemon, zested and juiced
salt and ground black pepper

Bring a pot of water up to a boil.  Plunge the tomatoes into the boiling water for 30 seconds, then transfer to cold water.  Peel off the skins and roughly chop.

Trim off okra stalks and keep whole otherwise.  Heat oil in a skillet and sauté onions and coriander until the onions soften and color slightly, about 3-4 minutes. 

Add the okra and garlic and continue to sauté for another minute.  Turn heat down and add tomatoes and sugar.  Stir well and simmer gently for about 20 minutes, until the okra is tender.  Stir once half-way through.  When okra is tender, add lemon zest and juice along with salt and pepper to taste.  Stir well and serve immediately over rice or by itself.

(serves 4 as side dish)

okra-with-coriander-and-tomatoes.jpg

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Ending on a High Note An Oldie, Butta Goodie

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  July 23, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Okra is my favorite. I like it slimy the best, so I usually eat it boiled. Other than fried or straight-up boiled, probably the most traditional Southern recipe would be stewed tomatoes and okra over rice. You make it just like you did the above recipe, but slice the okra into rounds and omit the coriander. I ate that all the time growing up.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  July 23, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Taylor – I knew I should have used you as a resource for this recipe. 🙂 I guess it’s the coriander that makes it “mediterranian”.

    Reply
  • 3. david chia  |  December 8, 2007 at 10:06 am

    Hello

    Wonderful site. Ladies finger – for me , after cooking your rice,
    straight away put in your ladies finger – when it is still very hot,
    leave it their until the rice is warm, the ladies finger will be just rightly cook and the fresk favour is still there, put a little of black sauce and
    eat – it is just wonderful. try it

    regards
    David

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  December 8, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    David – Thanks for the compliment. Just so I understand you correctly, you call okra “ladies finger”? I haven’t heard this reference and I’m curious as to where it came from. Please let me know if you check back. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


