The Late Bird Gets the Worm…er, Free Goodies

July 31, 2007 at 12:59 pm 3 comments

marjoram.jpg

I’ve worked a few farmers markets over the years.  My longest stint was at a stand in the Allentown Fairgrounds Market, a large indoor three days week affair.  I learned a lot from that experience, the most valuable lesson being that it pays to be late to farmers markets. 

sage.jpg

Now, we all know that the old adage claims the early bird gets the worm, but that’s not entirely true.  Many farmers markets start slashing prices about an hour or two before closing.  As the farmers start thinking about breaking down their tables and repacking their crates, they’d rather unload the remaining produce through a few ridiculously cheap transactions than put those highly perishables veggies back in the truck.   I could recant many a funny tale from the Allentown market about patrons lining up beside the stand, three or four deep, oogling a pint of this or that, but waiting for the cry “Half price!  Everything’s half price!”   Once that shout rang out, the proverbial free-for-all ensued with more than a few smack downs over a particularly juicy item.   Strangely, it was usually the little old ladies that were in the thick of it! 

oregan.jpg

At the Headhouse Farmers Market on Sunday, I was once again shouting “Eggplants, three for a dollar!” (previously priced a buck apiece) and “Get your fresh herb mixed bunches for a buck!” (a third of the original price for the separated herbs) and so on and so forth.  Now, don’t you all go thinking this inside scoop means you should only show up at the last minute at the market and gobble up the goodies for real cheap.  There is a downside — namely, the produce has usually been picked over and you’ll have to accept a few bruised fruits and past-peak veggies.   Plus, it’s important to buy at full price to support the farmers who no doubt would prefer to turn a profit. 

basil.jpg

But moving past the merits of full price and cheap, there’s a whole ‘nother category: FREE!   This category is available mostly to those of us manning the stands.  Once all the tables are broken down and the trucks pulled up for loading, an exchange of, “I have way too many of X left, you want some?” and, “Hey, yeah, I’ll take X, but you’ve gotta take some Y or Z from me cuz I can’t be bothered to take them home,” begins taking place.   Thus it was that Flat Rock Farm, another great Philadelphia urban farm, so generously gifted me with an abundance of fresh herbs, among other things. 

chopped-herbs-in-jar.jpg

Since I already had a bunch of basil from Weavers Way Farm, I was practically able to roll in the heavenly scents of sage, marjoram, oregano and two kinds (purple and green) of basil.  I decide there was only one thing to do to use up this herbal bounty, considering how much I had and how steady a supply I have between my own herbs and the farm.  It was time to begin brewing herb infused oils.   These may very well be my homemade Christmas gifts this year. 

herbs-floating-in-oil-1.jpg

This simple technique allows the discerning chef to extend the flavors of the summer season the way a hoop house extends the industrious farmer’s growing season.  Once made, the oils retain the fresh and powerful flavors of the herbs for months.  Use some basil-infused oil on a nice ripe tomato in December and you’ll swear it was July.   And the palette of these oils is limited only by your imagination.  Use the same “brewing” method for any number of combinations.   

Who’s got a good combination to share?  And what dishes have you enhanced with herb-infused oils?  C’mon, share the love! 

herbs-floating-in-oil.jpg

Herb-Infused Oil

1 c. canola, sunflowers, light olive, soy or any other mild oil
1/2 c. chopped fresh herbs*

*Use any single herb or mix of herbs.  For this particular post, I used sage, marjoram, basil and oregano.  You can also add lemon zest or garlic for additional flavor.

Wash and dry herbs thoroughly.  Remove leaves from stems and roughly chop to release the natural oils.  Place herbs in the bottom of a mason jar or clean empty spagghetti sauce jar.  Add oil and seal tightly.  Swirl oil and herbs to combine a bit.  Let jar sit for 4 to 5 days at room temperature. 

Once herbs have infused the oil over several days, strain oil through fine mesh seeve to remove herbs.  Return oil to jar and seal tightly again.  Store in refrigerator for up to 6 months.  Use as you would any other oil, but expect some wonderful extra flavor. 

(makes 1 cup of oil)

herb-infused-oil.jpg

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Bread Bowls Beware Lesson Learned

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  July 31, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    Be careful! I made some herb infused oil once, thinking it’d be a great Xmas gift, and it molded. I’m not sure how you go about making sure everything is sterile when making oils. Maybe it’s like canning. I don’t know. That moldy oil freaked me out; I never tried it again.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  July 31, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    Good call! I was planning to seal it like I would jelly or pie filling. Now I know I’m not just being OCD. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. veggielove  |  December 11, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    *sigh* I wish that were true at my farmers market. Unfortunately, it only seems to happen once every few months! That’s what I get, I suppose, for living in a trendy area.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


