Lesson Learned

August 1, 2007 at 5:00 pm 6 comments

Eggplant blossom

All of you are going to say “Duh!” when you hear about my evening yesterday.  I mean, who’s stupid enough to turn on the oven when it’s 90 degrees and with 90% humidity outside?  And even if they do, surely they wouldn’t think to crank it up high for over three hours.  Well, okay, fine, if they’re going to do that, at least they retreated from the kitchen for the whole time, right?  They didn’t?!?!  Wait a minute!  There was a fan in there at least, wasn’t there?  NO?!?!   Geezsh, you’re stupid, Jennie. 

Well, my ambition got the best of me.  I’d had a stressful day at the office and after D serenaded me with a song about our OCD cat, Zeppo, who loves to drink water out of the bathtub facet, I thought I’d best get to work on a new post and also make some chocolate beet cupcakes for the PUFN Happy Hour at the farm tonight.  I’m one of those “I can’t sit down until I’ve checked every item off my to-do list, even if it means I pass out from exhaustion just before the last spoon is fished out of the bottom of the dishwater” kinda gals.   

Eggplant

I was thinking roasting and stuffing eggplant would be a simple enough recipe to do while I cranked out the cupcakes.  I was heating up the oven anyway, so why not?  Why not indeed…because the eggplant too longer than I expected and the kitchen temperature topped out at 99.8!!!  (Before you question the validity of that number, I have one of those indoor-outdoor thermometer thingys so I know it really was 99.8.)   I was sweating like a  marathon runner.  And while both the eggplant and the cupcakes turned out as desired, I was too pooped to bother eating either of them by the end.   

Scoured Eggplant Flesh Inserting garlic slices into eggplant

All I could manage was to drag my dripping wet self up the stairs to the blessed air conditioning of the bedroom and flop down to finish a chapter of my book before falling asleep.   Which reminds me…if you’re enjoying this blog’s farm and freshness theme, you should read Stronger Than Dirt, a candid and clever retelling of a Brooklyn couple’s efforts to start a farm. 

One final thought before I get to the recipe:  if you made or are making the herb-infused oil I posted last time, this eggplant is a grand opportunity to start using it.  Otherwise, just use some fresh herbs and regular olive oil to replace the herb oil indicated. 

Eggplant ready for roasting

Oh, and one more thing… I have to thank my coworker Carol for the idea of scouring and stuffing the eggplant with garlic before roasting.  That little trick did wonders for the final outcome. 

Okay, that’s all.  Now for the recipe.

Roasted Eggplant Halves  Tri-color Couscous  Stuffing for Eggplants

ROASTED STUFFED EGGPLANT

3 medium-to-large eggplants
5 T. herb-infused oil (see paragraph above if you don’t have any)
4 or 5 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced
coarse salt and fresh ground pepper
3/4 c. uncooked tri-color (or regular) couscous
3/4 c. water
1 T. butter
1 large fresh tomato
1 T. lemon juice (optional)

Preheat oven to 325 F.  Wash and dry eggplants.  Trim off stems and halve lengthwise.  Scour eggplant flesh with a sharp knife, being careful not to cut the skin.  Insert slivers of garlic into the cuts in the eggplant, evenly distributing six or more garlic slices in each eggplant half. 

Place eggplant onto a foil-lined baking sheet.  Drizzle herb-infused oil evenly over the eggplant and spread it to coat the entire top of each half before sprinkling on salt and pepper to taste.   Place baking sheet in oven. 

Check eggplant after 45 minutes to see if it is soft and browned.  If not yet soft, check back at 15 minute intervals until no “spring” is left in the flesh when you press on it.  The time it takes to reach this point varies according to how fresh and firm the eggplant was to begin with so it might take up to 1.5 hours altogether. 

While eggplant is roasting, bring water, a pinch of salt and butter to boil.  Remove from heat and stir in the couscous.  Cover and let stand for 5 to 10 minutes.   Fluff with fork and set aside.   Dice tomato, place in medium bowl and set aside.

When eggplant is soft, remove from oven and let cool for a minute or two so you don’t burn yourself when handling it.  Carefully scoop out the softened flesh, keeping the outer edges and skin intact.  Add scooped flesh to tomatoes and stir in the lemon juice.  Add the couscous to the mixture and season to taste with salt and pepper. 

Stuff eggplant shells with the couscous mixture and serve immediately. 

(makes 6 side dish servings)

Roasted Stuffed Eggplant

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

The Late Bird Gets the Worm…er, Free Goodies My, oh my, what’s a girl to do?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linette  |  August 1, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Yum!! I can’t wait to pickup all of the goodness at Weavers Way Co-op and make this delicious meal for my family!! Thanks Jennie:)

    Reply
  • 2. taylor  |  August 1, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Not to take away from the glorious eggplant recipe, but somehow (even with all the eggplant photos), I read the story about the hot kitchen and the mention of chocolate beet cupcakes, and giddily thought I was going to scroll down to the cupcake recipe. Maybe there are more beets to be harvested at WW, and that recipe will make it into a post. (Fingers crossed)

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  August 2, 2007 at 6:33 am

    Linette – I can’t wait for you to pick up some of the goodness too. Please leave feedback about any recipes you try. I’d love to hear of variations and additions. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  August 2, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Taylor – you, my dear, are an addict. I can tell. I sense the gleam in your eye… It’s okay, all the various Daves are hooked too. 🙂 Well, the recipe is kinda on here already under “chocolate beet cake” but I’m thinking after last night’s numerous recipe requests at PUFN, I’m going to repost as many readers have joined since that early original post. I hope there’s at least one or two cupcakes left at home to photograph…🙂

    Reply
  • […] at the farm, the recipe for my chocolate beet cupcakes was in high demand.  And Taylor’s additional prodding has prompted – nay, required! – me to “rerun” a recipe here.  The original was for a […]

    Reply
  • 6. Purple Power! « Straight from the Farm  |  September 18, 2007 at 10:29 am

    […] start incorporating more purple produce into your diet today with fun and healthful recipes like this one or this one.  Or even this one!  Oh heck, why not one more!  See, it’s easy to get more […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


