My, oh my, what’s a girl to do?

August 2, 2007 at 12:36 pm 13 comments

Beets Close Up

Peer pressure.  It’s an ugly thing.  But as I learned in the 1st grade lunch line, when the masses cry out, you must do as they say.  I still shudder to this day when I see green jello… 

At last night’s PUFN meeting at the farm, the recipe for my chocolate beet cupcakes was in high demand.  And Taylor‘s additional prodding has prompted – nay, required! – me to “rerun” a recipe here.  The original was for a whole cake but the cupcake version is even handier, particularly for funky outdoor happy hours like last night.  By the way, PUFN meetings are growing and highly energized with a great group of people eager to bring sustainable agriculture to the forefront in Philly.  Here’s a shout out to my new buds Erin (x2), Jo, Mike, Patrick, Carl, Ilene, Patty, Becky, Cory, Phil, Jessica, and Megan.  If I missed someone, don’t be mad…It was hard to keep track of all the names.   Hope to see you all (and more of my readers) at the next happy hour in September.

Alright, now for the good stuff.    

                chocolate-for-cake.jpg   pureed-beets.jpg   swirled-beet-cake-batter.jpg

CHOCOLATE BEET CUPCAKES
Previously posted as “Chocolate Beet Cake”

1 c. margarine, softened, divided
1 1/2 c. packed dark brown sugar
3 eggs at room temp
3 oz. dark chocolate
5 medium beets/2 c. pureed beets*
1 t. vanilla extract
2 c. all-purpose flour
2 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt
1/2 t. cinnamon
1/4 t. nutmeg
confectioners’ sugar for dusting
 
To make beet puree, trim stems and roots off beets and quarter them.  Place in heavy sauce pan filled with water.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer for 50 mins or until the beets are tender.  Drain off remaining liquid and rinse beets in cold water as they’ll be too hot to handle otherwise.  Slide skins off and place beets in blender.  Pulse until a smooth puree forms.  Let cool slightly before using in cake.  Puree can be made several days in advance.

*I almost hate to add this note because I want you to use fresh produce whenever possible (after all, that is the mission of the blog).  But not everyone can spend the time cooking and pureeing fresh beets every day.  You can, in a pinch and when you’re willing to compromise a little on the quality, use canned beets from the store.  Just be sure they’re in all-natural juices.

In a mixing bowl, cream 3/4 cup butter and brown sugar. Add eggs; mix well. Melt chocolate with remaining butter; stir until smooth. Cool slightly. Blend chocolate mixture, beets and vanilla into the creamed mixture (mixture will appear separated). Combine flour, baking soda, spices and salt; add to the creamed mixture and mix well.

Line muffin tins with cupcake papers.  I use both large and standard tins with success.  Fill cups 3/4 full.  Bake at 375 degrees F for 30 minutes  or until cupcake springs back when pressed lightly. Cool in pan 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack. Cool completely before dusting with confectioners’ sugar.  Can also be iced with a creamcheese icing. 

(makes 15 large cupcakes or 24 standard size)

Chocolate Beet Cupcake

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: .

Lesson Learned A Snapshot or Two

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  August 2, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    Thanks. You’re so sweet. (This page popped up right after I found the older post.)

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  August 2, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Hey, how could I deny such a sweet lil’ thing like yourself? It was a good suggestion as I like the cupcake version better anyway. And it’s a lot faster to bake than the big cake.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  September 25, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Ok, I’m finally getting around to trying this🙂 Have several beets in the crisper reserved specifically for this. Now the dark chocolate, is that like Bakers unsweetened baking chocolate? Thanks!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  September 25, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Nope – you should be able to find dark chocolate chips by Ghirardelli or some other brand. But if not, I’m sure the unsweetened baking chocolate would be fine. I just love dark chocolate so that’s why I used it (but I do think it holds up better against the beet flavor). Can’t wait to see how you like them!🙂

    Reply
  • 5. rachel  |  January 17, 2008 at 11:37 am

    These are so neat, they go in the oven looking purple…wondering if maybe I messed up my calculations in doing about 2/3 of a batch, but Nope, they came out chocolate! Probably not many 2 yr olds eat chocolate beet cupcakes on their birthday🙂 but I know a little boy who will!

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  January 17, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Teehee, Rachel…isn’t it fun to bake with beets?? Now, would you have made enough if someone extra showed up for the festivities, say your favorite sis-in-law?? 😉 I wanna see the great beet sneak!

    Reply
  • 7. emily  |  February 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    just made your cupcakes for my daughter’s 1st birthday. they are delicious! one note though: the recipe calls for nutmeg and cinnamon but they’re not mentioned in the instructions, and so in my following i managed to miss adding them. however the cupcakes are great without them!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  February 6, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Emily – Thank goodness for readers like you who test my recipes and let me know what I accidently forgot to include. 🙂 Thanks! I made the edit to the recipe. I’m also incredibly impressed that a one-year old is having beet cupcakes for her birthday… I love it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. emily  |  February 7, 2009 at 11:04 am

    well, her birthday is today, so i’ll let you know the response. i’m certain all the adults will be pleased (i know i was when i ate one last night!)

    Reply
  • 10. sisterrosie  |  June 11, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    These look superb – how haven’t I thought of beetroot muffins before?? But wouldn’t it be fantastic to keep that gorgeously glaring colour?
    Rosie

    Reply
  • […] Recipe for Beet Cupcakes from Straight from the Farm. […]

    Reply
  • 12. Heart beets and smother them in chocolate « The Back 40  |  April 15, 2011 at 8:20 am

    […] recipe can also be made as cupcakes.  I wanted to make the cupcakes for G.’s birthday yesterday, but I couldn’t find my […]

    Reply
  • 13. "resurser"  |  October 12, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    “resurser”

    “[…]k nick blog content. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will also b dy[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


