A Starter…or a Side

August 15, 2007 at 3:31 pm 6 comments

I’ve never followed a blog until Jennie started this one, but now I’m hooked. I love to see what she’s coming up with and this blog combines two things I very much enjoy—gardening and cooking. This week, as blog sitter, I’ll be the one coming up with some dishes. Please bear with my beginning efforts and check back in this week to see what’s growing and cooking in Maryland.

 

Now—let’s start with an appetizer.

 

The first garden that I planted on my own was five years ago in Kentucky, and I was excited to try something that hadn’t been in my family garden growing up. I love to get pepper rings on my subs so I planted my first banana peppers and they sure did produce! I tried several different recipes but I honestly think that the experiment/recipe that I quickly created today is my favorite. Well, besides of course, pickled pepper rings, which I cannot seem to duplicate at home.

pepperingardenbanandjalepeppers

The inspiration came from looking at what I brought in from the garden and recalling a way I had fixed banana peppers in Kentucky, cutting off tops, stuffing with pimento cheese and chilling. I had an idea. And since we were going to be grilling our main entrée, thus follows …

Grilled Stuffed Banana Peppers

6-8 medium to large banana peppers 

8 Juliet tomatoes, seeded or ½ c chopped

1-2 jalapeño peppers, seeded

2/3 c. shredded cheddar cheese

1 tsp olive oil

Wash peppers and remove the seeds while leaving the top in tact. I cut an upside down L shape which created a flap to remove seeds. Rinse peppers. banpepseeded

 

Wash and finely chop tomatoes and jalapeños. Combine cheese, tomatoes, jalapeños, and olive oil to make filling. Carefully stuff peppers with filling, Place peppers on aluminum foil on grill. Grill at medium heat for about 10-15 minutes or until peppers are the softness you desire. I moved them around two times to make sure they were cooking evenly.

 

If you’re not especially worried about your manners, the intact top stem makes a great handle to hold while eating. I quickly gobbled mine down without any silverware, but you could always use a knife and fork.

 

Serve as an appetizer or side.

onthegrill

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Road Trip!!! We all scream for … Gelato

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  August 15, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    How nice of you to blog-sit. I absolutely love pimento cheese, but have never stuffed peppers with the mixture – just celery sticks. While the above recipe looks good, I think I’ll try stuffing peppers with pimento cheese instead. Thanks for the idea.

    Reply
  • 2. rlove1  |  August 15, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Taylor, I’m excited about blog sitting but am still learning the tech end of things.
    Enjoy your pimento cheese and peppers🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Peggy  |  August 17, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    Hi Rachel!

    What great ideas!! You are a wonderful blog sitter! I hope Jenn pays you well…HA! I really enjoy your pictures. It would be great to be as talented as Jennie and you.

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  August 18, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Peggy, I think you’re partially to thank for both of our talent and interest in these areas. Let me know if you try the gelato.

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  August 18, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    What?!? Peggy (my mom) finally posts her first comment on my blog while I’m away?? 😉 Thanks to both Rachel for a superb blog sitting job and to my dearest mommy for teaching us both how to can, pickle and saute just about anything that comes out of the garden.🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Celebrate! « Straight from the Farm  |  August 31, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    […] Grilled Stuff Banana Peppers:  An easy recipe that adapts to whatever peppers you might have on hand.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


