We all scream for … Gelato

August 16, 2007 at 10:15 am 13 comments

I’ve grown up with homemade ice cream as an important part of summer events. In my country community there were entire summer festivals focused around homemade ice cream. We even had homemade ice cream at our wedding reception. However, I don’t recall of ever hearing about gelato until two years ago when we started to tell our friends we were going to Rome, we were given advice to “try the gelato.” How could you not?!  I think we had gelato every day we were in Rome-YUM! But to make it at home… well Jennie’s suggestion and the 5 cantaloupes in the fridge are what led to me to do some research, and ultimately to this post. Note-2 more lopes appeared this morning!

lopeingardenlopesinfridgecutlope

Through some online searching I’ve learned that gelato has a milk, cream, sugar, and egg base somewhat like ice cream, with gelato usually having more eggs and milk and less cream. Sorbet is a fruit/syrup base, though it seems that not everyone names their recipes accordingly. After comparing six different gelato base recipes, I’ve developed the following recipe for cantaloupe gelato. If you follow this recipe, you may want to then use your egg whites for Jennie’s Blueberry Pavlova.

This recipe is for a 4 qt ice cream maker, remember we’re serious ice cream makers. If you have a 2 qt countertop type maker, you’re going to want to cut this in half.

Cantaloupe Gelato

4 c. cantaloupe puree (about 2 perfectly or slightly overripe cantaloupes)

8 egg yolks

1 ¼ c. sugar

4 c. 2% milk (most recipes called for whole, some for 1% or skim)

2 c. light cream

Cut cantaloupes in half, remove seeds and then scoop out fruit being careful to not include any of the green rind. Puree till liquid smooth. Each half yielded approx 1 to 1 ½ c of puree. I used one melon that had been in the fridge and one that was sun temperature (had just come in from the garden). It is a little more difficult to achieve liquid puree using a chilled melon, so I would suggest using room temp melons.

Separate eggs and beat in sugar until thick.

Over medium heat, cook and stir 2 c of milk and 1 c of cream in large pan until small bubbles form on the side of pan. Temper the egg mixture by ladling some of the milk mixture into eggs and whisk until smooth. About 2 ladles should be enough. Then slowly add the egg mixture to the milk mixture and cook and stir over medium heat until foamy and mixture coats the back of a spoon. Remove from heat.

coatspoon

addpuree

 

Stir in puree. Then add remaining 2 c milk and 1 c cream. Pour gelato base through some sort of strainer to catch any bits. Chill several hrs or overnight.

Then follow directions for your ice cream freezer.

(makes a little shy of 4 qts)

freezer

gelato

Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: .

A Starter…or a Side Squash Season Slows

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  August 17, 2007 at 7:53 am

    This looks amazing. I am definitely going to try it, along with the pavlova!

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  August 17, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Mmmm..sounds like a *sweet* weekend. Wishing you success with both!

    Reply
  • 3. Sorbet Swirl! « Straight from the Farm  |  August 24, 2007 at 11:21 am

    […] more of them on here while they last!  Also, if you didn’t already, check out Rachel’s Cantaloupe Gelato from last week…she may have married into the family but she’s as hooked as the rest of […]

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  September 6, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Tried this gelato using 4 c pureed peaches (10 peaches) and it was even better than the cantaloupe. And so much better than ice cream with peach chunks. Every bite was peachy and creamy smooth!

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  September 7, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Excellent! Now I know what to do with the ones in my fruit bowl currently threatening to go past their peak. Peach gelato tonight, Baby! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. growitgreen  |  July 18, 2008 at 8:16 am

    I love gelato, I havent found a shop in my small town in S.C that makes it so I have to make it myself when I get a craving. I appreciate all of the recipes I can get my hands on.
    Check out this “cool” article at “http://www.foosita.com

    Reply
  • […] DESSERTS Straight from the Farm ~ Cantaloups Gelato The Best Soup Ever ~ Cantaloupe & Black Pepper Sorbet Bake My Day ~ Cantaloupe Ice […]

    Reply
  • 8. daniel  |  September 24, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    I made some this summer when I was trying to catch up with my C.S.A. oversupply – totally delicious! Thank you!

    Reply
  • 9. Forest  |  June 29, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    I tried this recipe the other night, but after pulling the unstrained gelato base mixture out of the fridge the next day, the mixture had a sour aftertaste. Has anyone run into this problem and know it’s cause? It was not sour the night before. Thanks

    Reply
    • 10. Rachel  |  August 24, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      Did you mean bitter?? I tried this and mine came out very bitter after sitting in the fridge for a few hours. I tried googling the problem and I guess some fruits contain a enzyme that breaks down the protein in the milk. Perhaps the whole mixture should be cooked?

      Does anyone know?

      Reply
      • 11. Anthony  |  October 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm

        I have this problem too with 2 different recipies, one where I cooked the melon and one where I didnt. Cant figure it out. Maybe chilling the custard before adding it to the melon will keep it from getting bitter

        Reply
  • 12. Rita  |  February 6, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I am in the middle of making this right now. I thought I would be the exception and not get the bitter taste but I am getting it too from my mixture. This is upsetting getting to the point of almost ice cream and all the work that I did to get ‘BITTER’. I wish the farm people who posted this recipe would address this issue instead of not achnowledging it is a problem………..post a recipe u are responsible for updating it with any issues.

    I did notice that once I strained my melon into the milk custard mixture it immediately began to turn bitter so I opted to chill this mix in my ice cream maker quickly, instead of putting this in my frig, and spin it around a few times but otherwise I am letting the ice cream maker do its thing. I sure hope this turned out well otherwise I will not be a very happy camper with this website or recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
    • 13. Jennie  |  February 6, 2011 at 8:44 pm

      Rita – While I appreciate your concern and always welcome feedback, we have not yet figured out what causes the bitterness sometimes while it doesn’t others so there is nothing to update in the recipe itself. The comment thread associated with this recipe should have given you fair warning that it may not be the most foolproof gelato. This site is simply a hobby. I do not get paid for it in any way whatsoever. It is not a professional website as I think you may have mistaken it to be. You are welcome to continue to use this food blog as a resource if you like, or you are certainly welcome to look elsewhere for your recipes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


