Squash Season Slows

August 17, 2007 at 8:14 am 4 comments

Well, the squash season is winding down and so I must decide what to do with the remaining yellow and zucchini squash. When the garden first starts I go through a stage of worry the zucchini won’t do well. Then the stage of excitement where I can keep up with all the squash, trying squash in both new and tried and true ways. The third stage is dread of going to the garden–how many will be there this morning?! And now I’m in my final stage of savoring each little bit and trying my favorite recipes one more time til next summer. I even called my parents to see if they had any left in their garden–nope. However, I did find  two yellow squash this morning that were on a plant that had been overshadowed by a much larger plant the past two months that is now past its peak. So maybe a few more to just slice and saute.

But, I used up most of my remaining yellow squash in a way that my son loves–Very Veggie Pizzas. If there is sliced or diced squash on his plate, he sniffs it out and “returns” it to his Daddy or me. But if it’s shredded, it goes right down! This recipe was given to me by my sister-in-law (no, not Jennie) last summer when we were in the third stage of squash season-dread. I’ve made some changes to create individual pizzas which is also helpful to personalize, hiding diced peppers under cheese for son and banana and green pepper rings and tomatoes for Daddy and me. 

VERY VEGGIE PIZZAS

 4 c. shredded yellow squash or zucchini or some combo of the two

1 c. breadcrumbs

2 eggs

1/2 c. grated parmesan cheese

1 to 1 1/2 c. mozzarella cheese, shredded

1/2 c. cheddar cheese, shredded

basil and oregano to taste

1 green bell pepper, some slices, some diced

1-2 banana peppers, sliced

1 tomato, thinly sliced

1/2 c. pizza sauce

pizza”crusts”

Shred squash, toss with some salt and place in colander in sink or over bowl to let liquid release. Let rest at least 15 minutes. Squeeze squash to drain off extra liquid. Combine drained squash, breadcrumbs, eggs,  cheddar and parmesan cheese,  1/2 c. mozzarella  cheese, basil and oregano. Mix well. Divide mixture into eighths. Form each portion into an individual “crust.”  Place on parchment paper on baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

toppingstagesRemove from oven, turn over and use a large spoon to create a small well for crusts that you’ll be topping with pizza sauce. Create pizzas to taste, topping with pepper and tomato slices, pizza sauce, remaining mozzarella cheese, cheese slices, or other toppings of choice.

 

 

Return to oven. Increase oven temperature to  375 degrees. Bake for 15 minutes.

veggiepizza

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

We all scream for … Gelato A Bit of Greek Flavor

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. FarmgirlCyn  |  August 17, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Friends and neighbors ran in terror when they saw me coming with zucchini the size of a canoe! I swear, it grows before your very eyes! One day it is a beautiful orange blossom, the next, it’s terrorizing West Michigan! I do know of folks who freeze it, but I never have. But, like you, I sneak it in to as many dishes as possible. And rattatouille is one of my favorites, so I just double up on the summer squash the recipe calls for. Won’t be long before we’re cryin’ for something fresh picked local produce:(

    Reply
  • 2. rlove1  |  August 17, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Aahhh-ratatouille that’s a great way to use squash. I haven’t made any this year, I forgot to plant eggplant at first and when I remembered, I was out of room in the garden. I haven’t had success with freezing either so soon I’ll be wishing zucchini would arrive on the doorstep!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. taylor  |  August 19, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    I made this this weekend. It was a great way to get rid of some squash – tasty too.

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  August 19, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Guess your squash is finally coming around. Glad to hear you tried it and enjoyed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


