No Farm Required – Maine’s Wild Blueberries

August 20, 2007 at 10:32 am 4 comments

Sunset and Wild Blueberry Wine 

Relatively rested and certainly nicely tanned, I’m back from hiking miles and miles around New Hampshire and Maine.  Before I recant my tales, I have to thank Rachel once again for blog sitting for me!   She certainly puts her garden to good use!   I’m just wishing she wasn’t so far away in Maryland so I could get my hands on some of that cantaloupe gelato!!!  Maybe she’ll swap for some of the watermelon sorbet I’ll be posting later this week.

View from mountain hike in Acadia National Park

For this post, I wanted to give you a glimpse into my vacation and the bounty of Maine’s local produce.  Despite all my world travels, I had never been to Maine before, and I was struck by the beauty of the landscape and the earnestness of the community there.  Everywhere there are examples of the honor system… firewood, zucchini, and even pints of wild blueberries all sitting alongside the road with handpainted signs instructing buyers to help themselves and put their payment in a nearby box. 

Zucchini on the honor system

You really couldn’t get away from the blueberries in particular.  I think there was either a manned or an unmanned roadside stand for them almost every mile.   I also got to pick my own along the trail on top of Mount Penobscot where the small scrubby bushes were growing despite the insanely windy and cold conditions (if it was that cold in August, I don’t know how anything manages to thrive up there – the power of nature!). 

Wild Blueberry Bush

One evening, D and I decided to have a romantic sunset picnic at Pretty Marsh, a quiet little inlet on the less touristy side of the park.  Earlier in the day while shopping in Bar Harbor, I saw that a local winery makes wild blueberry wine and deemed it a perfect addition to our shoe box picnic (lacking a proper basket, we packed our cheese and crackers in the box from my new hiking boots that was still in the car).  In between snapshots of the sun setting and making a lame attempt to foil D at chess while nibbling on extra sharp cheddar, I managed to take this lovely picture of the wine’s label. 

label of local blueberry wine

In the end, while I enjoyed my brief flirtation with Maine’s wild blueberries’ rustic romantic personality, I really wasn’t so fond of the blueberries themselves (although the wine was quite good).  These rugged beauties are like anything wild… a little tough and gamey and short of sweetness.   Still, there was something special about them, especially when nibbled during a long hike.

Munching wild blueberries on top of the mountain

Entry filed under: Extra Credit. Tags: .

Beet Cake, Beware A Little of This and a Little of That

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  August 20, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    Beautiful. Glad you had a nice vacation.

    I went to a wedding on the island that Bar Harbor is on one late October, and it was freezing. The whole town was closing that weekend for the wretched winters (most people go on welfare during the winter), so restaurants were out of food, but bars were emptying liquor bottles for free. Nice place…in the summer.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  August 20, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    Yeah, it was August and in the 40s at night so I can only imagine how cold it was in October. Still, I like the idea of free flowing liquor bottles…🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Rambling Round  |  August 22, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Glad you had such a great vacation! Looks like a wild and scenic place.

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  August 22, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks! It certainly was scenic and very outdoorsy. I loved it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


