Risky Business

August 23, 2007 at 11:22 am 4 comments

Purple (sweet) Peppers Growing in the Field

 

I am not a fan of hot peppers. 

There.  It’s out in the open.  I can stop lowering my eyes and muttering excuses every time a coworker offers me the hot peppers at the bottom of the pizza box that held our “working lunch”. 

A customer at Headhouse this past weekend bought several of our Hungarian Hot Wax and Poblano peppers.  As is my habit when someone makes a determined b-line for our table and buys gobs of a particular vegetable, I asked her what she had in mind for all those peppers.  Turns out she adores the heat in her dishes and makes a hot pepper saute to put on her sandwiches throughout the week. 

my mix of hot peppers to be fried

Hearing her enthusiasm, I had a flashback to much younger days, growing up in a rural farming community in central Pennsylvania.  Every 4th of July, my small town hosted the county’s biggest one-day festival that focused primarily on two things — a parade burgeoning with homemade floats built mostly out of crepe paper and tin foil and ridiculous amounts of homemade food.  Now,  I could break away from my main storyline here to tell you about all the floats I rode on that won the grand prize…I was Lady Liberty, Pocahontas, Dorothy… okay, let’s just stop there.

Instead, let me tell you about a particularly popular item in the many food stands at the celebration – fried pepper and sausage sandwiches.   At age eight, I started out working the soda stand, where a bunch of us kids concocted the Graveyard – a giant cup of every kind of soda we were selling that would literally rot your teeth out on the spot and make you see Yoda floating before you.  The soda stand was right next door to the sausage stand. 

Sliced Hot Pepper

Now, I was never a fan of sausage, but the smell of those fried peppers (and onions) made me hungry even after I’d eaten two buckets of homemade french fries with extra vinegar and salt.   I hadn’t the guts to eat those peppers though until a few years later when I “graduated” to helping in the sausage stand.   Alas, the delights of my nose far surpassed the delights of my taste buds.  I wasn’t a fan of eating those fried peppers.  But they never stopped smelling good.

The delectable smell popped back into my brain after talking to my pepper buyer at Headhouse.  As taste buds are wont to do, mine have changed over the years and so I thought I’d give fried peppers another go.  It was a risk, especially considering I don’t like hot peppers in particular.  But I thought if I knocked out all of the seeds and balanced the hot ones with one sweet pepper, I just might have a chance. 

Dear readers, it’s good to take risks.  Very good indeed! 

Fried Peppers and Onions

Fried Hot Pepper Sandwich Topping

1 poblano pepper
1 hot wax pepper
1 sweet/regular pepper
1/2 of a large onion
1 T. extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Wash and remove seeds and stems from peppers (reserve a few seeds from the hot ones if you like extra heat). Slice the peppers and the onion into similarly thin strips. 

Heat the oil in a small skillet until nice and hot.  Add peppers and onion and stir regularly until they are soft and brown around the edges.   Add salt and pepper to taste and remove from stove. 

Serve immediately on top of a burger or other sandwich.  You can also make extras and store in an air-tight container in your fridge for up to a week, using it to garnish and enhance many quick dishes. 

(makes enough to top 4 or 5 sandwiches)

Fried Peppers Sandwich Topping on a Veg Burger

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Alone with Many Eggplants Sorbet Swirl!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  August 23, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    Looks delish! Peppers – sweet or hot – are much better when you cook them.

    I hope you threw candy off those floats. I hate it when there’s no free candy.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  August 23, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Oh, you bet we threw candy! And one year we had some weird theme and about 25 water guns shooting at the crowd. Good wholesome hometown fun! I’m so glad you’re familiar with it. And with the delights of fried peppers. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Danielle  |  October 4, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Those sound great ! Can you can them after cooking them ? I was wondering if I made a large batch I could can them some how ? Any help or ideas would be great.

    Thanks
    Danielle

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  October 4, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Danielle – I think you might be able to store them for longer if you put them in oil in an air-tight jar. I don’t think you could can them in the traditional sense as I’m not sure what liquid you would use to cover them (when you can you need to fill in any air pockets with a liquid to keep oxygen off the food and prevent decay). But covering them in olive oil and just putting them on the self should keep them for awhile longer.

    Although, now that I think about it a bit longer, you might want to experiement with freezing them before using the oil option. Frozen fresh peppers keep well so maybe these would be okay too.

    Sorry I don’t have a definite answer…I’ll ask around in my “canning circle of friends” and see if anyone has any ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


