Second Times a Charm

September 8, 2007 at 4:11 pm 7 comments

Radishes Just Picked Kohlrabi Growing in the Field 

Remember spelt from the other day?  Did you try it?  Did you like it?  If you didn’t try it, are you going to?  

Whoa – what’s with all the questions?!  I just want to get you ready for another spelt recipe.  As is my standard practice, I had cooked more than the last recipe called for so as to have some on hand for another dish or two.  Since spelt takes a little “processing” with the soaking and the long cook time, it’s best done in large batches and then stored in an air-tight container in the fridge.  It’ll keep for a week or more that way. 

Kohlrabi and Radishes   Dried Raisins & Cranberries

And while you’re in your fridge, dig around to see what you’ve got rolling around in the crisper drawer.  At the bottom of mine, I found a kohlrabi hanging on from the spring still so thought that would make a nice crisp addition to the chewy softer texture of the spelt.  If you don’t have a kohlrabi hiding out in yours, look around for other add-ins such as cucumbers or peppers.  A firm apple would even be a good substitute for the kohlrabi.  I personally enjoy the little pockets of sweetness raisins provide but you could make this with just veggies if you’re not into combining food groups. 

 Radishes Sliced

As with all whole grain salads, this recipe is meant to be modified according to what’s on hand.  You could even take up foraging like some of my counterparts and add in wild onion, chives or even dandelions greens.  To cut to the chase – make extra spelt and then make a hearty salad. 

French Sea Salt (a gift from my friend Christine) Matchsticks of Kohlrabi and Radish

SPELT SALAD WITH KOHLRABI AND MORE
A Straight from the Farm Original

2 c. cooked spelt
1 small kohlrabi bulb, peeled
2 radishes, trimmed and cleaned
1/2 c. raisins, cranberries, or other dried fruit
1/2 c. extra virgin olive oil
1 lemon, zested and juiced
1 t. minced fresh marjoram (or other herb of your choosing)
1 t. honey (optional)
salt and pepper 

Slice the kohlrabi and radishes into very thin rounds – use a mandolin if you have one.  Then using a sharp knife, cut the rounds into small matchsticks.  Place in a medium bowl along with cooked spelt and dried fruit.  Toss and set aside.

Whisk together oil, lemon juice and zest, marjoram, honey (if using) and a pinch of salt and fresh ground pepper. 

Just before serving, dress the salad with the vinaigerette, tossing well.  Serve with slices of fresh tomato or cucumber on the side and a hunk of crusty bread for a complete meal. 

(serves 2)

Spelt Salad with Kohlrabi and More

Entry filed under: Recipes, Salads. Tags: .

A Melody of Flavors That’s Amore!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  September 9, 2007 at 9:40 am

    I remember the spelt. No, I didn’t try the spelt. (I tried the mini-frittatas for dinner,though) One day I’ll try the spelt. I’m hungry. I need breakfast now.

    Reply
  • 2. Andy  |  September 9, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Looks really great! I have never had spelt before but it sounds like something I would like. One of these days I may stop dragging my feet and go for it.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  September 9, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Taylor! You’re back from “vacation” – excellent! I’m missed you humorous comments. 🙂

    Andy – From the first time I had spelt about 2 years ago, I was a complete convert. I hardly eat rice anymore as it just doesn’t fill me up the same way. I hope you get to try it soon. If you find it near you, would you mind posting a comment about where you found it so others might get some too? It can be a little tough to come by. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 4. taylor  |  September 10, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    I friggin’ bought spelt! (That’s all, though.)

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  September 10, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    Another convert is about to come into the fold… Welcome, Sister Taylor! 😛

    Reply
  • 6. Iron Chef Wannabe « Straight from the Farm  |  November 13, 2007 at 10:49 am

    […] radish.  I like my radishes raw and in small quantities in leafy salads or occasionally tossed in a whole grain salad.  I still had to try it though…I’m a “wannabe” after all!  And the […]

    Reply
  • 7. "klicka här"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    “klicka här”

    “[…]d Can I just say thats a relief to seek out someone that actually knows what gf[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


