Three’s a Collection

September 11, 2007 at 10:30 am 3 comments

Swiss Chard  

This is the third post in just a week with a salad recipe.  Am I boring you?  I hope not.  At least this one includes pasta so it’ll stand up as a main dish in a pinch.  Certainly makes a nice lunch.  In any case, my mom used to tell me that there was some sort of design rule that states that once you have a group of three similar things (dishes, tea kettles, thimbles, those weird spoons they sell at tourist sights), you have a collection.  Well, in one short week, I’ve gotten myself a collection of salad recipes.  Fancy, eh?   To celebrate, there is a new “salads” category on the side bar so feel free to click it in the future to see if my fledgling collection is growing much.

Trio of Colorful Peppers

In case you haven’t noticed, this blog is vegetarian.  It’s not really meant to be – there are even a few guest posts with chicken in them – but since I don’t really eat meat and I am writing about a vegetable farm, it just sorta happened.  I bring this matter up because I am going to be trying to make more suggestions for incorporating meat into my recipes, even if I don’t cook them that way myself.  

This time around I’m giving bacon a shot.  There are vegetarian versions of bacon on the market and the one I used this time was surprisingly good.  Since I don’t do the meat thing myself, I would love to see some comments moving forward from readers about how you incorporated or think you might incorporate meat into a given recipe.  It’s good information to have as a reference.  I thank you in advance.  Now, on to the third in a collection of salad recipes!

Pile of Chopped Swiss Chard Basil Vinaigrette Just ShakenFinished Pasta Salad

PASTA SALAD WITH SWISS CHARD & BACON
Adapted from All Recipes.com

2 c. uncooked rotini or other pasta
1 bunch Swiss chard (10 or 12 stems)
3 small bell peppers  (purple, red or yellow)
6 pieces of bacon*
1/2 c. vinaigrette**
salt and pepper

*I used a vegetarian version of bacon from Lifelite that was quite good. 

** Use your favorite bottled brand or make Basil Vinaigrette by whisking together 1/3 c. extra virgin olive oil, 2 T. of apple cider or sherry wine vinegar, a generous tablespoon of honey, a generous tablespoon of finely chopped fresh basil, and 1 small finely minced garlic clove. The honey makes this vinaigrette ever so mildly sweet so it’s a wonderful contrast to the salty bacon in the salad.

Cook pasta and bacon according to package directions. Drain and cool bacon on a paper towel before cutting into small pieces.

While pasta finishes cooking, prepare swiss chard by removing stems and the thicker portion of the main “vein” since that part is stringy and tough.  Stack chard leaves and roll into a “cigar” to then slice into very thin ribbons.  Prepare bell peppers by removing the stems and seeds and slicing into very thin strips. Place both chard and peppers in a large bowl. 

Drain pasta and give it a real quick rinse in cool water. You want it to still be a little warm but not terribly hot so it takes off just a little of the rawness from the vegetables but doesn’t cook them. Make sure pasta is thoroughly drained before adding to the bowl of swiss chard and pepper.  Add the bacon and pour on dressing sparingly until you reach your desired amount and toss to coat.  Salt and pepper to taste.

(serves 2 as a main dish or 4 as a side)

Pasta with Swiss Chard and Bacon

Entry filed under: Recipes, Salads, Veggies w/ Protein. Tags: .

That’s Amore! Purple Haze and Autumn Days

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Il.  |  September 14, 2007 at 9:51 am

    I’d probably make this with some shredded chicken – grilled would be good but grilling weather might be almost over (for us here in Michigan at least).

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  September 14, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Il – Chicken sounds like a good fit, although I liked the salty bite of the (fake) bacon in contrast to the sweetness of the basil vinagairette. Keep the recipe modification ideas comin’!

    Reply
  • 3. Pat  |  June 15, 2008 at 11:30 am

    I have a share in a CSA this summer. Each I get about 14 pounds of fresh produce. I wasn’t sure what I would do with the chard, but this recipe sounds terrific. I plan to try it both with bacon and with chicken. And an added bonus, I can use some of the bountiful peppers and fresh basil. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


