A Quickie

October 5, 2007 at 12:40 pm 3 comments

Okra flower 

Alright, folks!  Here’s a quick post with a quick recipe for a quick fix when you’re hungry and in a hurry to get packed for a long weekend away at a cabin in northern Pennsylvania.  That’s right- I’m going to be away for a few days hiking, taking pictures, sitting by a campfire and generally savoring Mother Nature’s best dish – the fall foliage. 

In my stead, my old college pal Christine will be posting on occasion.  A defender of justice by day, she’s a sassy cook by night and will be using some local farm produce from Montgomery County.  I can’t wait to see what she’s done when I get back. And of course I’ll bring you all some pretty pictures of mountain and the cooking experiments I’ll have finally have time to conduct at my leisure.

For today, consider the humble okra for a snack or fast side dish.  All it takes is slicing it up into 1/4 inch circles, tossing it in some seasoned flour (salt, pepper, maybe some cayenne pepper) to coat, and frying in hot peanut oil until crispy and golden.  Drain on a paper towel and sprinkle with coarse salt while still hot.  It’s that easy! 

Here are some pictures to demonstrate:

Okra

Okra Insides

Okra slices.  I think they look like stars

Mix the seasoned flours in a ziplock bag

Put okra in bag with seasoned flour and shake to coat

Use a

Fried Okra (and a little eggplant at the back)

See you next Thursday!

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

…To Finish An Apple a Day

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sam  |  October 6, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    Its too bad I found your blog when the season is drawing to a close. I have subscribed however in an attempt to see how I can eat locally during the winter. I love your pictures! Its the best part in a food blog.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  October 9, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    Welcome Sam! There’s always next season so definitely “stay tuned” and I’ll be offering interesting advice all winter too so glad to have you as a regular reader. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Week of Bread: Pita « Straight from the Farm  |  February 1, 2008 at 10:36 am

    […] this first week at least since the masses are clamoring for it.  By “masses” I mean my friend, Christine, who’s in the know about my recipes before they hit the blog, and by “clamoring” I mean she […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


