Tart 2 of 2: Snappy Fruit

October 29, 2007 at 7:24 am 8 comments

Asian Pear from North Star and Nittnay Apple from Three Springs

Why, hello there!  I have to apologize for the delay in getting this post up for you.  It was meant to be a companion piece to the chestnut tart, but life sorta got away from me over the weekend and I’m just getting back in my blog groove.  I did cook up several delicious dishes the past few days so I’m looking forward to telling you about them over the course of this week. 

But here we are now with Tart 2 of 2, an interesting mix between a cheesecake and a tartlet.  The original recipe I used was for a large tart with only pears.  Once again, I couldn’t resist the charms of my adorable three-inch tart tins.  Nor could I leave out some apples since I still had several of the Nittanys I got from Three Springs Fruit Farm the other week at Headhouse.  The Nittany apples, by the way, are a great bridge between firm baking apples and a sweeter softer eating apple.  I love biting into one as soon as I get home from work, but they also proved perfect for this tart.     

Gingersnap cookies Crumbs for crust Crust in tart tins ready for the oven Crust filled with cream cheese mixture Apple and pear slices tossed in cinnamon sugar

I think the best part of this particular tart process is making the crumbs for the crust out of the gingersnap cookies.  Put the cookies in a heavy ziplock bag, grab a rolling pin and get out all your frustrations.  Or, conversely, gather the kids together and let them have at it!  Of course you can always take the easy route and whir them in your food processor (you lucky ducks that own one!).   

Tarts ready for the oven

With crops slowing down at Weavers Way Farm, I’m starting to branch out to other farms at the Headhouse Market for my ingredients.  It’s nice to be able to incorporate a little more fruit into the mix.  We have a few baby fig trees and raspberry bushes planted in our lower field, but it will be two or three years before the farm has any real substantial fruit offerings.   I marvel at the fruit from local orchards and farms — when compared to the stuff in the grocery store bins, local fruit shines like jewels and waifs with delicate floral (and obviously fruity) scents that beg the passerby’s eyes and nose to let their mouth join in the fun.  

Tarts from the side with yummy crust

It baffles me as to why someone ever thought putting wax and other “shiners” on fruit was necessary.  The things sell themselves if you just let them be.   But I guess that’s what happened with commercial farming and shipping across the miles – fruit in the grocery store was not left to ripen on the tree so merchandisers need to polish it up to make it appealing to the consumers shopping under flourecent lights.  It’s sad (but true) how sterile my trip to the grocery store right after the Headhouse Market yesterday felt in contrast to the brisk breezes and dappled sunlight that accompanied my purchases from my brethern farm vendors.   Of course, it’s even more fun to go pick your own apples and pears this time of year.  I encourage you to browse www.localharvest.org to find some pick-your-own orchards nearby.  Once your kitchen is brimming with a bushel or two of apples and pears, get crackin’ on this tart!

Only one bite left!

Ginger Apple Pear Tartlet
Adapted from AllRecipes.com

3/4 c. gingersnap crumbs (made from gingersnap cookies)
2 T. melted butter or margarine
1/2 (8 ounce) package of reduced fat cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 plus 1/4 c. granulated sugar, divided
1 t. all-purpose flour
1/4 t. vanilla extract
1 small egg, lightly beaten
1 small apple, peeled and thinly sliced
1 small pear, peeled and thinly sliced
1/4 t. ground cinnamon

In a small bowl, combine gingersnap crumbs and melted butter, tossing well to combine.  Spray (2) three-inch removable bottom tart pans with non-stick spray.  Press crumb mixture into bottom and up the sides of the tins.  Bake at 350 F for 5-7 minutes.  Set aside to cool.

In a small mixing bowl, beat cream cheese with 1/3 c. sugar, flour and vanilla.  Add egg and beat gently or on low speed just until combined.  Fill crusts 3/4 full with filling.  Combine remaining 1/4 c. sugar with cinnamon and toss with pear and apple slices.  Arrange fruit slices over cream cheese filling. 

Place tarts on a baking sheet and bake in a 350 F oven for 20-25 minutes or until tarts are almost set up.  Push up gently on tart bottoms just to loosen the tart, but do not remove from form yet.  Allow to cool for about an hour before removing from tin, afterwhich chill in the refrigerater for at least 2 hours before serving.

(serves 2)

Ginger Apple Pear Tartlet

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: .

Tart 1 of 2: Chestnut Savoriness Chilly? Have Some Curry!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  October 29, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    You’re killing me with the tarts! Did you go to Anthropologie without me?

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  October 30, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Aw, but what a sweet death it would be if you could indeed be killed by tarts! 🙂 No Anthro – Kitchen Kapers instead, which is almost worse when it comes to kitchen cuties.

    Reply
  • 3. Andy  |  October 30, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Wow! Another great tart. The coloring is just beautiful on them.

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  October 31, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Thanks, Andy! I take it you like tarts. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Let There Be Cranberries « Straight from the Farm  |  December 5, 2007 at 11:30 am

    […] apples (see, I’m such a sucker for cranberries that I get completely distracted).  I used my beloved Nittany apples again since they are sweet and crisp, but not too firm that they don’t bake up soft in the […]

    Reply
  • 6. natalie  |  October 18, 2009 at 9:47 am

    I’m making this right now, only for a brunch and in a large tart pan–I hope it turns out–but I agree with the person above. . I’d love to see a tart with perhaps cranberry apple. . something a little more “tart!”

    cheers and thanks for the great recipes!

    Reply
  • 7. Kitchen outfitters  |  March 9, 2012 at 5:26 am

    Here are some extremely helpful advice on industrial home layout, to make an arduous course of action a tad bit more simple. Start by seated and also thinking of …kitchen faucets reviews

    Reply
  • 8. prada 携帯  |  November 15, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    prada 店舗

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


