Potluck Pretties

November 5, 2007 at 8:36 am 10 comments

A tender pea shoot in the morning light

What a whirlwind of a weekend!  The kickoff event was a lively potluck dinner party for Philly’s own food bloggers on Friday evening.  With 25 foodies slotted to attend, I was more than a little nervous about what dish to take.  I knew I wanted the key ingredient to be from the farm.  And I wanted it to be creative and just plain pretty on the plate.  It’s downright intimidating coming up with something for such a crowd of critics and cooks. 

Apples, pepper and cranberries for chutney

Of all the things currently holding on through the frosty nights at that farm, the most elegant by far are the pea shoots.  The cute little curly cues on the end of their stems always tickle my fancy.  And the taste of pea shoots is like a reduction of pea flavor…highly concentrated freshness that might not typically be associated with autumn fare.  Nonetheless, peas grow just as well in the fall as they do in the spring so I decided to showcase them in an h’ourderve along with a more “autumnally correct” chutney.  Wrapping the two in a couple sheets of fillo dough seemed simple enough to do in the short time between the end of my work day and the start of my weekend at the potluck.

Chutney ready to cook

In truth, I bit off a tad more than I could chew this time (pun fully intended).  But, as with so many great things, necessity – or rather a lack of time – became the mother of invention, or at least what prompted me to read the box.  In the past, I’ve tediously and carefully brushed each layer of fillo dough with melted butter, a step that takes considerable time.  Pressed for time and lacking a recipe since I was basically making it up as I went along,  I skimmed the fillo dough’s packaging for a baking time and happened to see that the directions suggested spraying the sheets of fillo with butter-flavored cooking spray as an alternative to brushing them with melted butter.  Viola!  Where the heck have you been all my life, you beautiful shortcut you??!  

Crimson Chutney

Armed with the cooking spray, I knocked these babies out in record time.  The first tray didn’t meet the quality test though and stayed home due to stringy stems that I hadn’t thought to cut into bite size pieces.  Once I broke them into one-inch segments and removed any noticeably tough stems, the second tray came out perfectly.  I cut them in half and still had a full plate to take to the potluck.

Pea Shoot Pile Up

These little lovelies make great appetizers for any dinner party, but a word of caution about traveling with them.  If you have far to go, assemble the wraps at home, but ask your host or hostess if it’s okay to bake them on-site since the wraps are best hot out of the oven. 

Assembling the wraps

You’ll have to pardon the poor photos this time around.  I would have liked to have done more of an illustrative step-by-step photo series for the making of the wraps, but, as you’ll remember, I was crammed for time.  I’m really surprised I remembered to take as many photos as I did! 

Cover the exposed pea shoots with tin foil to avoid scorching Wraps golden and fresh out of the oven

Thanks goes out to Marisa at ForkYou, etc., for hosting the smashingly successful potluck.  I met a lot of great folks, none of us nearly as socially awkward as you might expect in a group of bloggers.  I thank the food and superb wine (provided by David from PhilaFoodie) for that.  Here are a couple shots of the spread and the crowd.   

Beautiful spread at the potluck! 

Food bloggers chit chatMore philly food bloggers chit chat

Pea Shoots and Crimson Chutney Wrapped in Fillo Dough
A Straight from the Farm Original

Crimson Chutney
2 c. chopped sweet cooking apples (Nittnay, Fuji, etc.)
2 c. whole cranberries, washed and dried
1/4 c. minced onion
1/2 c. raisins
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 medium red pepper chopped
1 T. grated fresh ginger or 1 t. dried ground ginger
3/4 c. packed brown sugar
1/2 c. white wine vinegar

The Rest of It
fresh pea shoots – a handful for each serving desired
1 package of fillo dough
melted butter or butter flavored cooking spray

To make the chutney, combine all ingredients in a large non-aluminum pot (most heavy pots are fine).  Stir together and heat over medium heat until a liquid begins to form.  Reduce heat to low and allow mixture to simmer for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent scorching.  Chutney is ready when everything is tender and most of the liquid has been absorbed.  Remove from heat and allow to cool before continuing with this recipe.  Chutney is very versatile and can be used with many vegetable and meat dishes.  Store in the fridge in an air-tight container for up to two weeks. 

To assemble fillo wraps, begin by preparing the pea shoots.  Carefully break each shoot into 1 inch pieces, removing any really tough stems as these get stringy when cooked.  If using, melt the butter and set out the chutney so you have an easy assembly line ready.  Once set up, open fillo dough and brush or spray a sheet at a time with butter/spray, folding in half and then folding down two inches to form a 4″ x 4″ square.  Repeat with a second sheet of fillo, brushing or spraying both sheets again before placing one on top of the other.  I made two sets of squares at a time before covering remaining fillo dough with a damp towel while I assembled the wraps. 

To make wrap, place a line of chutney (about 1 tablespoon) from corner to corner and then place a handful off pea shoot pieces alone the line of chutney, allowing the shoots to stick over the edge of the fillo just a bit.  Starting at an “empty” corner (one that doesn’t have chutney and shoots on it), tightly roll fillo up over the filling.  Some pea shoots should be peaking out of the open corners.  Place wrap on baking sheet prepared with non-stick spray.  Repeat process for as many wraps as you desire, being sure to only make two at a time and cover the fillo dough with the damp towel so it doesn’t dry out and become unmanageable.

Once all wraps are assembled, preheat oven to 350 F.  Brush or spray wraps with butter and lay strips of tin foil over the exposed pea shoots to keep them from scorching during baking.  Carefully place tray in the oven, making sure the foil stays in place.   Bake for 20 minutes or until fillo is golden and flakey. 

Remove wraps from oven and place on cutting board.  Using a sharp knife, cut in half on an angle.  Serve immediately arranged on a bed of cranberries or individually with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar if desired.

(makes up to 40 h’ourderves, enough for 20 people)

Pea Shoots and Crimson Chutney Fillo Wraps

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Something for Sweetie Worth Mentioning

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. swirlingnotions  |  November 5, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    I just found your site through VegeYum and I’m so glad I did! So I must ask a question . . . when did you plant your peas? I’m in Northern California and have been trying to coax the last tomatoes from the vines, thinking I’ll get my peas in next weekend . . . well maybe next weekend. Am I too late?

    Looking forward to poking around more on your blog . . .

    Reply
  • 2. taylor  |  November 5, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Um…I’d say it was nice meeting you, but I already know you! Which is nice. Also nice were the pea shoot and chutney phyllo wraps. Nice. I’ll say nice one more time…nice!

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  November 5, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Swirlingnotions – Welcome! I always love a new reader chiming in with comments. 🙂 About the peas, I’m actually in Pennsylvania so not entirely sure as to the planting time in Northern Cali. What growing zone are you? We’re in Zone 7 here and planted the peas from seed back in late September. I’m thinking you might be in zone 8 so you could probably still plant them to get pea shoots out of them but you might not get any peas if they don’t have time to bloom and mature before frost. If you ask me, it’s totally worth growing them just for the shoots. Yum yum!!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  November 5, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Taylor – Yes, it was “nice.” Very very nice. 🙂 Although I would say it’s more than just “nice” to know you, but I’ve always been the needy one in this relationship.😉

    Reply
  • 5. hoganfe handmade handbag originals  |  November 5, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    Thanks for the great recipe!

    Reply
  • 6. e  |  November 7, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    Jennie –

    Any idea why I can’t see your pictures from this post? I’m dying to see your shots from the potluck and the process of making those yummy peashoot appetizers!

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  November 7, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Really, they’re not showing up for you?? Huh, they’re on my screen but with all the wacky WordPress things going on lately, I guess it’s conceivable that some readers can’t see them. 😦 Hmmmm…would you mind trying again later and if you still can’t see them, I’ll make sure you get a look at them on flickr.

    Reply
  • 8. LisaRene  |  March 3, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Your blog is great, I’m having a lot of fun looking around.

    Chutney is so delicious and versatile. I need to start making homemade chutney instead of purchasing it. Homemade is always the best!

    Reply
  • 9. Jennie  |  March 12, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Thanks, LisaRene! This chutney is so very easy – definitely try making it yourself! 🙂

    Reply
  • […] Kohlrabi and Carrot Salad Roasted Garlic Scapes and New Potatoes Garlic Mustard Pesto Pea Shoots in Fillo Dough […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


