Iron Chef Wannabe

November 13, 2007 at 10:49 am 10 comments

Daikon Fettuccine

It’s a good thing I’m camera shy.  Otherwise I might have tried out for the Food Network’s The Next Iron Chef show.   I don’t often get to watch the real Iron Chef show but when I do, I’m ridiculously intrigued with how creative the chef’s get with unusual secret ingredients.   I wish I had that constant challenge before me, forcing me to routinely try new things and stretch my limits.   Then again, I don’t think I could bring myself to touch an eel, let alone cook it. 

Daikon Radishes

Chef Morimoto is one of my favorites on the show.  Besides being partial to a chef who makes his home (by times) in Philadelphia, it seems to me he embraces the element of “unexpected” in his dishes more so than other chefs.  He does that in his restaurant and cookbook as well.   Take a look at the menu if you don’t believe me.  When I saw Daikon radishes at the Headhouse Market last week, I knew immediately that I had to try my hand at one of Morimoto’s recipes I’ve been eyeballing for awhile. 

Soaking the noodles

These big unwieldy radishes are very long and straight with a relatively mild taste.  They’re a cornerstone in many Japanese dishes, including salads, soups and dipping sauces.  But as far as I know, Morimoto’s the only one that’s turned them into a deceptive fettuccine dish.  To tell the truth, it was curiosity that was tugging me to try it, not my taste buds as I really had my doubts about an entire dish of cooked radish.  I like my radishes raw and in small quantities in leafy salads or occasionally tossed in a whole grain salad.  I still had to try it though…I’m a “wannabe” after all!  And the ingredient list didn’t involve any raw fish.  Definite bonus!

A farm heirloom tomato - in November!

The sauce called for basil, which is now out of season here in Philly, so I took the opportunity to break out my first basil ice cube.  It proved to be the perfect amount of basil to balance against the peppery radish.   I changed a few other components of the sauce as well since I’d rather keep using fresh local tomatoes while I have them.  I just can’t believe I do still have them – it’s mid-November for cryin’ out loud!   If you’re making this outside of your local tomato season, substitute a can of plum tomatoes and their juice for the fresh tomatoes and tomato paste I have listed. 

Frozen basil cube melts into onions and garlic

So, does it taste like fettuccine?  No.  But it is mighty tasty in its own unique way.  I really didn’t notice the radish flavor much at all.  The biggest hint as to the origin of the “noodles” was the slight crunch they had.  The sauce, the real flavor agent in this dish, was superb and might become my new stand-in for fast pasta dishes.   One word of caution though before you take on this recipe yourself – make sure you have a good vegetable peeler.   Once you have one, you’ll be ready to do battle in true Iron Chef fashion!

Tomato Basil Sauce

Daikon Fettuccine with Tomato Basil Sauce
Adapted from Morimoto: The New Art of Japanese Cooking

2 large daikon radishes (about 1 lb)
2 large heirloom tomatoes
3 T. tomato paste
3 T. extra virgin olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 t. sugar
1 t. salt
1 T. frozen basil puree or 2 T. fresh basil chopped

With a vegetable peeler, peel the outer skin of the daikon and discard.  Continue to peel the diakon lengthwise to create “fettuccine noodles”.  Soak “noodles” in cold salted water for at least 20 minutes or up to overnight. When ready to prepare fettuccine, drain “noodles” on a kitchen towel while preparing the sauce.

To make sauce, heat oil over medium-high and saute onion and garlic until softened.  If using frozen basil, add it along with the onion and garlic to begin melting.  Dice the tomatoes and add to saucepan.  After tomatoes are softened, about 2 minutes, add tomato paste, salt and sugar.  Stir well and simmer for 3-4 minutes.  Season liberally freshly ground black pepper. If using fresh basil, add it now. 

Add drained “noodles” to sauce and toss gently to coat.  Cook for 2-3 minutes until heated through.  Serve immediately, mounded up in bowls (the sauce is rather runny) and garnished with parmesan cheese shavings. 

(serves 2)

Daikon Fettuccine with Tomato Basil Sauce

 

Entry filed under: Purely Vegetables, Recipes. Tags: .

Don’t Mind Me In A Word: Decadence

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. albert  |  November 13, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    that looks absolutely awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  November 13, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Thanks, Albert! It is a little unsettling though how very much it looks like pasta. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. taylor  |  November 13, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    This would be good for people who are (still!) trying to avoid carbs. Kind of like shirataki noodles…which I was never fond of.

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  November 13, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    Yay. Atkin’s dieters everywhere – indulge! God bless ya, I wouldn’t last a day on that crazy diet. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Melissa R. Garrett  |  November 13, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Wow! I’m not fond of radishes, but I would definitely try that dish!

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  November 14, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Melissa – See, that’s exactly what I was thinking when I made it!🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Amy  |  December 4, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    So … how did this taste? I just bought some daikon radishes and was thinking of making this tomorrow night. Do the radishes taste radishy?

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  December 5, 2007 at 7:14 am

    Hi Amy – This didn’t really taste all the radishy. It also didn’t taste like pasta, but that wasn’t a bad thing. It’s hard to explain but really you’re just gonna taste the sauce with a slight hint of sweetness in the background from the radish. Soaking the noodles in salt water takes away most of their radish flavor (if you really like that flavor, don’t soak them more than a minute or two). I definitely recommend trying it. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Susan  |  June 3, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    This looks fabulous. I love daikon. I just bought a spiral sliicer to make veggie noodles (also known as a spiraliser or spirooli slicer) and I love daikon noodles. Made zuchinni noodles too but liked the daikon better. I eat the noodles raw with a variety of sauces I concoct or I find recipes like yours to try. Thanks for the tip about soaking the radish…Check out the spiral slicer – it is so amazing. Mine is made by the Benriner Co Ltd and made in Japan. Other brands are significantly cheaper but the blades are not as sharp and do not last as long. Can’t wait to try your recipe.

    Reply
  • 10. "on yahoo"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    “on yahoo”

    “[…]i You produced some decent points there. I looked on-line for the issue and l py[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


