Let There Be Cranberries

December 5, 2007 at 11:30 am 13 comments

Local cranberries and apples

I’m really hoping you like cranberries.  Why?  Because I’m about to load you up with several recipes in a row for them.  I was fortunate enough to get four pints of locally grown cranberries at the Headhouse Market over the course of a couple weeks.   Now I’m realizing it’s time to get some of these posts up before the alluring season of fresh cranberries passes us by. 

Self-rising flour sits on top of recipe

I have a dream to some day tromp around a cranberry bog and help harvest these little jewels.  Odd dream?  Perhaps.  Regardless, I mistakenly thought I’d have to travel far to do such so hadn’t put my dream into action.  Before you get excited and think that I did get to harvest cranberries and am about to report on it, I haven’t.  But I have recently learned of a couple cranberry farmers in New Jersey and hope to pay them a visit soon.  You’ll be the first to know when I do.

Sliced and whole cranberries

Is it just me or is there something magical about these itty bitty fruits?  Their color is my favorite in the whole wide spectrum.  In fact, I had the paint for my kitchen walls specially mixed to match a cranberry I carried into Lowes with me.  Talk about getting some weird looks.  I also string them on fishing line to create a garland for my Christmas tree. Fun, right?  Beyond their color, the tartness of cranberries seems to fit, surprisingly, into any number of sweet or savory dishes.  How do they do it?? 

Cake batter in ring pan

Since there are many more cranberry posts to come over the next few days, I’ll save the “this is why cranberries are good for you” dialogue for one of those.  At the moment, all you need to know is that this Cranberry and Apple Ring Cake is delicious, moist, and super easy to make.  It’s one of those cakes that I throw together for potluck gatherings, and it always meets with “Yum!” and “Wow, this is so moist.”    While it could be made with frozen cranberries, I’d strongly suggest using fresh for a more vibrantly flavored and moister cake.

Oh, and I almost forgot about the apples (see, I’m such a sucker for cranberries that I get completely distracted).  I used my beloved Nittany apples again since they are sweet and crisp, but not too firm that they don’t bake up soft in the cake.  You could also use Honeycrisp, Gala, or Fuji.  Or, if you don’t like apples all that much, try your favorite variety of pear instead. 

Just be sure to use the cranberries! 

Slice of cake with cranberry jelly on top

 

Cranberry and Apple Ring Cake
Adapted from The Practical Encyclopedia of Baking

2 c. self-rising flour
2 t. ground cinnamon
¼ t. freshly ground nutmeg
¼ t. ground cloves
½ c. packed dark brown sugar
1 large or 2 small eating apples, cored and diced
¾ c. fresh cranberries, larger ones cut in half
4 T. sunflower oil
¼ c. unsweetened applesauce
2/3 c. apple cider
Cranberry jelly* and/or apple slices to decorate

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Lightly grease a spring form ring pan. 

Sift together the flour and spices, then stir in the sugar.  Toss together the diced apple and cranberries before stirring into the dry ingredients.  Mix together the oil, applesauce and cider before adding to the dry ingredients. 

Spoon mixture into the prepared pan, spreading out batter into an even layer.  Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the cake is firm to the touch.  Remove cake from the pan and let cool completely on a wire rack. 

To serve, drizzle with warmed cranberry jelly and apple slices. 

*To make your own cranberry “jelly”, simmer half a cup of fresh cranberries with 3 tablespoons of sugar and enough water to cover until reduced and somewhat thickened.  Takes about 8-10 minutes. 

(serves 8 )

Cranberry and Apple Ring

Entry filed under: Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , , , .

Good to Go Stuff and Stuffed

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. realworldmartha  |  December 5, 2007 at 11:37 am

    I love cranberries!!! Thanks so much for the recipe. It looks yummy! I don’t think it’s a strange dream. I would like to do that as well. I am very curious about the process myself.

    Debbie aka The Real World Martha (S)

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  December 5, 2007 at 11:49 am

    Debbie – Whew, I don’t feel so weird anymore, thanks to you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Patricia Scarpin  |  December 5, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    I do like cranberries, Jennie – this cake looks wonderful!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  December 5, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Why, thank you, Patricia! I hope you’ll try it sometime.

    Reply
  • 5. taylor  |  December 5, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Can you make one of the posts about the bouncing abilities of cranberries?

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  December 6, 2007 at 7:21 am

    What an interesting idea…. sure! Although you’re the mad scientist so perhaps you should write the post and I’ll just provide the pictures and recipe. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. lawnwake  |  December 6, 2007 at 7:50 am

    :mrgreen: Sounds yummy!

    Reply
  • 8. glorialamor  |  December 6, 2007 at 11:03 am

    I LOVE CRANBERRY JUICE CAUSE IT KEEPS ME FROM HAVING BLADDER INFECTIONS. BUT I CANT HAVE CRANBERRY SAUCE BECAUSE IT HAS SUGAR IN IT AND I AMTYPE 2 DIABETIC AND ALSO SUGAR IS THE REASON I GET BLADDER INFECTIONS. BUT THE PICTURE OF THAT C RANBERRY CAKE LOOKED YUMMY. THANK YOU, GLORIA

    Reply
  • 9. Jennie  |  December 6, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Thanks Lawnwake and Gloria! Sorry you can have the cake, Gloria, but glad to know you’re enjoying “eating” with your eyes. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Christine  |  December 8, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    Ooh, please let me know when you go to the cranberry farm…I want to go too!

    Reply
  • 11. Jennie  |  December 8, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    You’re first on my “I gotta call…” list, my dear Christine. Next fall, shall we? 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. If Only « Straight from the Farm  |  December 11, 2007 at 10:33 am

    […] you were expecting a cranberry recipe today (as previously promised), I do apologize.  I still have two tasty cranberry concoctions to share with you later this […]

    Reply
  • 13. kopa guld i dubai  |  April 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    kopa guld i dubai…

    […]l Hey, have you possibly wondered to publish about Nintendo Dsi handheld? oa[…]…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


