Comfort Food, Of A Sorts

December 29, 2007 at 9:00 am 7 comments

Dried corn 

 

Here I am at 8:30 in the morning, drinking a double strength cup of tea and wondering what happened to Christmas. This year’s festive family time turned out to be a real comedy of errors that blurred the usual sleepy chats over the breakfast table and raucous dinner gatherings.  

Let’s recap — D got lost on back country roads for more than an hour, trying to find the turnoff for my parents’ house.  I ruined a batch of dulce de leche, to my great disappointment since I’d planned to use it as family gifts and shouldn’t have put making this second batch off until the last minute. Then there was the mysterious (and rather violent) stomach bug that took down first one and then later two more family members right when we were all ready to dig into the feast of holiday dishes.  Not to mention my mom couldn’t eat anything for reasons of her own.  On top of that, there was a broken furnace and a not so pleasant plumbing problem that required a hurried drive to get parts an hour away.  And on top of that, a car battery died and another car got sideswiped!  There was a funeral (old friend of the family) and a trip to the emergency room to boot.  As a result, some people left ahead of schedule while others got drastically delayed, and all of us felt a little turned on our heads.   Looking back on it now, it’s a tad bit humorous and certainly memorable.

I think I need a vacation from my vacation!!

Dried corn in pretty bowl

One thing that did go right was my first attempt at using the sweet corn I’d dried back in September.  Hopefully you gave drying your own corn a shot since this dish met with rave reviews and shouldn’t be missed.  If you didn’t, there’s still hope.  I’ve recently learned that some specialty and bulk food stores do carry dried corn, although it can be a bit pricey. 

I was eager to serve this old-fashioned creamy corn at the Christmas table because both my grandmother and aunt would be there to offer their feedback.  It was my grandmother that instructed me on how to dry corn and provided some guidance as to how to then prepare this dish.  And it was my aunt who reportedly loved eating my grandmother’s dried corn casseroles as a kid.  Their stamps of approval were definitely to be sought.  

Corn after it's soaked in milk overnight

I have to admit I was at a bit of a loss on how to get started with this dish until I found a basic recipe through a link on Foodbuzz, which I then heavily adapted.  But that recipe really wasn’t much help when it came to deciding when the corn was “done”.  I had questions aplenty.  Should there be some liquid left?  Or should I cook it until everything was completely absorbed?   What texture was I aiming to get?  Soft like regular cooked corn?  Crunchy like dried?  Should I season it heavily with salt?  Or should it have more of a sweet flavor?  Does it need to be piping hot to be good?  Or can it sit around with all the other covered dishes until everyone’s ready to eat? 

You get the idea.

Corn cooking on stove 

I went with my gut, like I usually do in the kitchen, and decided to let all the liquid absorb, embrace the resulting chewy-but-not-soft texture (after all, this wasn’t meant to be your regular creamed corn), give it a heavy pinch of salt, and not worry about when it was served.  I liked it.  My aunt liked it.  My grandma liked it.  But best of all, my cousin fell in love with it and had several helpings, vegetarian bacon and all – a high compliment indeed! 

I won’t go so far as to say this dish saved Christmas for me, but it sure was nice to have a little victory in the kitchen to combat all the other drama.  It’s comfort food, most assuredly, and perfect for any wintery day, not just a chaotic Christmas. 

Creamy corn close-up

OLD-FASHIONED CREAMY (dried) CORN
Developed with hints from my grandmother and a recipe in the Miami Herald

2 c. dried sweet corn
2 1/4 c. fat free milk
1 1/2 c. heavy cream
2 t. sugar
2 T. butter
dash of cayenne pepper
freshly ground nutmeg
generous pinch of salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 or 4 strips of cooked (soy) bacon, crumbled
1/4 t. dried marjoram

Place corn in a large heavy saucepan and stir in milk and heavy cream.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.

When ready to use, stir in the sugar, butter, cayenne, nutmeg, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 35-40 minutes until the liquid is absorbed.  Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary.  Place in warmed serving dish and top with crumbled bacon and marjoram.  Serve immediately.

(serves 6)

Old-Fashioned Creamy Corn

Entry filed under: Recipes, Veggies w/ Protein. Tags: , , , , , .

A Book & A Dish Hurry That Curry

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taylor  |  December 29, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    I know what you mean about needing a vacation from Xmas. This was my first pleasant Xmas in 5 years. My past holidays sound like yours…or worse…dead rabbit, dead cars, dead U-haul trucks, vomit, diarrhea, flu, attorneys, breakups… Let’s hope your Xmas headaches end with this year.

    Oh yeah, creamed corn…yum!

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  December 29, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Thanks, Taylor…yep, your experiences about match mine. The saga continues though so more on that another time. And, yep, the creamed corn was “yum”. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Satisfying a Craving « Straight from the Farm  |  January 10, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    […] What struck me about this Baked Dried Corn Casserole with Dried Peppers, in comparison to the previous one I had made with dried corn for Christmas dinner, was how soft the kernels were.  If I hadn’t made […]

    Reply
  • 5. Preserving More Than Just Food « Straight from the Farm  |  August 29, 2008 at 11:00 am

    […] mode) for some recipes on how to use the dried corn in savory puddings, soup and casseroles.  Here’s the first recipe for a creamy casserole using dried corn.  And if you care to, ask someone close to you of an older generation what some of their food stories […]

    Reply
  • […] then, I’ve learned of other ways of using dried corn. Before I can try recipes such as Old-Fashioned Creamy Corn or Baked Dried Corn Casserole with Dried Peppers, though, I need to build up my stock first. An […]

    Reply
  • 7. Tina  |  October 21, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Hubby mistakenly bought a packed of dried yellow corn instead of “corn grits”. Don’t know what to do w/ it. How to cook it? since package is only written in Asian characters — not sure if Chinese, Korean or Vietnamese… So i googled & saw your blog. Jennie do u think i can use the store bought dried corn kernels (not sweet corn type i guess) & achieve the same taste following your recipe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


