Week of Soup: Zesty Zinger

January 17, 2008 at 10:30 am 8 comments

Lovely golden carrots 

I find myself giggling over here, tucked behind my computer monitor.  What’s so funny, you ask?  I’m just realizing as I type in this post for Citrusy Cream of Carrot Soup that I’ve already discussed the two things I was planning to this time… 

I was going to rave about A Good Day for Soup
PBeen there. 

I was going to talk about how adding the parsnip gives just a hint of extra sweetness. 
PDone that

And here I was trying to get a really diverse group of soup recipes together for you.  Now I’m starting to feel a bit sheepish…

But, wait!  This recipe is unique!   How many of you have managed to mix the three distinct flavors of sweet, tart, and creamy all into one bowl of vitamin C and beta-carotene overload?!?  Hands in the air, people!   Yeah, that’s what I thought.  I only saw two hands.  The rest of you will find this recipe refreshing, both on the page and in your mouth. 

I’ll step aside now and let the pretty pictures do the rest of the talking. See, carrot soup is good for your eyes!! 

Lemon and orange flanked by carrots
More carrotscarrot soup

Carrots and Parsnipssliced shallots, carrots and parsnipCan't get enough of these pretty carrotsCitrus chaos!

Citrusy Cream of Carrot Soup
Adapted from A Good Day for Soup

1 c. vegetable stock
1 1/2 c. sliced carrots
1/2 c. chopped parsnip
2 shallots, minced
1/4 t. fresh thyme, lightly chopped
1/2 T. honey
2 T. fresh orange juice
1 t. fresh lemon juice
2 T. plain yogurt
salt and pepper
orange slices for garnish

In a medium saucepan, bring stock to a boil.  Add carrots, parsnip, shallots, thyme, and honey.  Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 30 minutes.  Remove from heat and pulse with an immersion blender or in a regular blender.  Add orange and lemon juices and blend until smooth.  Stir in yogurt.  Taste for salt and pepper before serving garnished with a dollop of yogurt if desired. 

Can be eaten warm or chilled.

(serves 1-2)

Citrusy Cream of Carrot Soup

Entry filed under: Recipes, Soup. Tags: , , , , , .

Week of Soup: Sweet Heat Week of Soup: Anything Goes

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nick  |  January 17, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    You made me laugh when I read your post. The soup looks great, thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
  • 2. veggielove  |  January 17, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    That looks amazing… maybe I’ll try it with the leftovers from the orange pound cake I’m making tomorrow…

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  January 17, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Nick – I’m so glad someone out there gets my snarky sense of humor! 🙂 Thanks for letting me know!! And now I feel less silly for having laughed out loud when I wrote that last line…😉

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  January 17, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Veggielove – Thanks! Orange pound cake, eh? Will you be posting the recipe?? I like the sound of it!

    Reply
  • 5. veggielove  |  January 17, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    I’ll post it if it tastes good. : ) I’m much more excited about the marionberry jam and local cream I got to go with it; it’s the only non-lemon dessert I could think of that I could pull of using both with.

    Reply
  • 6. veggielove  |  January 29, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    🙂 Turned out great! I just posted it. Unfortunately, didn’t have leftover orange. Hmmmph. Will plan better next time.

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Excellent, Veggielove!! Thanks for the report back! 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Joanna  |  March 11, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    I made this soup tonight. 🙂 I liked many things about it — the short ingredient list (almost all obtainable at the Farmstand in the middle of winter! — and even though I need to make another batch of stock, the simmering stage made it easy to just substitute water instead of brothe), the simple prep, and most of all the explosion of flavor (much needed after a long and horrible day at two jobs). The flavor is so vivid, but you’re right that it’s such a juxtaposition of flavors too! The earthiness and sweetness of the parsnips, the citrus, etc. I mean, you said this all. But I’m agreeing, in a rambling sort of way. (Did I mention that I worked two jobs today?) I think it’d go really well with roasted chicken!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 459 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


