Invigorated!

February 25, 2008 at 11:49 am 7 comments

New greenhouse and old shed together 

I’m so invigorated today!  Next person that asks me how I’m doing today, I’m going to energetically reply, “Invigorated!”  I wonder if that’ll elicit anything other than the normal autopilot response, “Good.”  Doesn’t matter; I’m too invigorated to care.  

Why so charged up, you ask?  Well, there’s been lots of exciting stuff happening.  First, we got snow!  Might sound silly, but boy, was I ever missing having snow around!  I finally had two or three inches to call my very own, if only for a few days, and it made me very happy.  I got to spend Saturday crunching through the virgin whiteness of the snow covered fields at the farm, snapping pictures and sucking down the cold clear air.  Take a look at this funky “old movie” slideshow or just click “View all images” to get a more straightforward look at snowy Weavers Way Farm. 

~
~

Then, right after indulging my sense in the snowy outdoors, I took a trip over to the greenhouse to see how the seeds we planted 10 days ago were doing and give them a little pep talk (and some water).  What a world of difference it was from the white emptiness of the February fields!  The greenhouse was a riot of growth wrapped in steamy warmth and heady scents of rich soil fueling the birth of so many gorgeous little plant babies.  I nearly cried!  These little guys are just so cute and full of promise for the coming season.  Here’s my favorite picture followed by a slide show of the others.   

baby kohlrabi plants

Already on such a high, I’ve now nearly rocketed out of invigorated orbit with anticipation for my trip to Portugal this week!  I leave on Wednesday with Taylor, who’ll be my partner in crime for the first week of prowling around Lisbon, Sintra, Leiria, and Porto.  And then I’ll be retreating to (what I hope is) a lovely little old-world cottage in the remote northern part of the country to relax for another week, sipping lots of port wine and exploring rural farming practices while hiking along ancient footpaths.  Sounds heavenly, doesn’t it?

~
~

I hope none of you will be too disappointed with me when I get back and turn this food blog into a travel blog for a few days as I’m no doubt going to have lots of photos and stories to share.  In the meantime, I’ve cobbled together several posts that will pop up automatically while I’m away so you won’t be left without fresh reading material for too long. 

So I wonder how big the little plant babies will be by the time I get back?  It’ll nearly be spring!!  Now that’s an invigorating thought!

Entry filed under: Farm Notes. Tags: , , , , , .

Week 3 of Bread: Bread Bowls Walk A Crooked Mile: A Photo Tour

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gintoino  |  February 25, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Wow, is it aready this week? Your trip to Portugal sounds heavenly even to me! I did’n know you were going to Leiria…didn’t guive you any sugestions regarding Leiria. Leiria is near Alcobaça and Batalha were you will find two magnificent monasteries(really magnificent). I would strongly recomend a visit. The city of leiria itself doesn’t have much to offer (if I remember well) apart from the castle. Foodwise there is not much for a vegetarian, but you will find good wines and cheeses. The most tradicional desert from that area are “brisas do lis” and “Lampreia de ovos”. Both made from eggs and sugar mainly.
    I Hope you have a very nice trip and ofcourse I hope you’ll like my country. (we had some bad weather last week but it seems like it will improve for the next week)

    Mosteiro da Batalha http://agnazare.ccems.pt/EB23LP/Lendas/abobada/abobad1.jpg

    Mosteiro de Alcobaça

    Reply
  • 2. Jennie  |  February 25, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Gintoino – Yep, it’s this week already!! I can’t tell you how excited I am and how much I appreciate all your tips for seeing the best stuff. I think stopping by the monasteries will be easy enough to do. Great idea! I do hope the rain has let up as I saw there had been lots of rain in the forecast.

    So, are you ready for your special delivery of cranberries?!!? 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. taylor  |  February 25, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I’m ready to prowl and commit crimes…incognito with my husky, sick voice! And when I get back, I’m going to go to work outside with all the lovely plants!!! Yay! or as you might say, “invigorating.”

    Reply
  • 4. VegeYum  |  February 26, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Oh it is so very, well, WHITE. Still quite warm here, and heading up towards 35C in a few days.

    Happy travels, can’t wait to read your stories.

    Reply
  • 5. Jennie  |  February 26, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Taylor – I can’t wait to demolish all the local cheese and pastries… some people might find being a vegetarian challenging in Portugal, but i’m considering it a perfect excuse to indulge in the two food groups I love best! 😉

    VegeYum – Thanks for the well wishes!

    Reply
  • 6. Christine  |  February 26, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Have a great trip!! I can’t wait to see all the photos! Just remember that you can’t bring wine back on the plane…well, you can’t pack it in your carry-on, anyway. (We forgot and had to give up a bunch at the Paris airport…silly us…a bottle of wine is, in fact, more than 3 ounces…)

    So bring home pastry instead!

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  March 12, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Christine – It WAS a great trip! 🙂 I’ll be sure to tell you all about it. I did try to bring several bottles of port back in my checked luggage. Low and behold, the lovely folks at the Phila airport decided to smash one of the bottles while unloading my bag so I was literally dripping port wine as I rode the SEPTA trains home… talk about getting some looks from people! 🙂 I wish I could have brough home pastry, but I confess that I couldn’t resist eating all of it right there and then! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


