Old to You, New to Me

March 31, 2008 at 12:18 pm 20 comments

Triangles for bread and butter pudding 

Bread and butter puddings.  How many have you made?  A few?  Maybe a dozen?  Well, apparently I’m way behind the rest of you because I’d never even heard of bread and butter puddings until just the other day when VegeYum mentioned them as one of the things she cooked when she was first starting out.  I have, mind you, made bread puddings before, but they are decidedly different, or so it seems to me.  For one thing, bread and butter puddings let you play with your food by cutting sandwiches into triangles.  I always cut my sandwiches into triangles when the fillings allow so this was a real selling point for me.

Bread and butter

From what I can gather, I guess bread and butter puddings are rather a staple in the U.K. and its former colonies. I wonder where it got lost along the way when the pilgrims came to these shores?  Oh well, it doesn’t matter now.  I’ve happily claimed any long lost bread and butter pudding heritage after making this Berry Bread and Butter Pudding.

Spreading jam

I’ve still got a few jars of Sparkling Holiday Jam hanging out in my cupboards so I thought that would be a great flavor to use in my very first bread and butter pudding.  I then decided I’d even go so far as to make the bread, using that old trusty stand-by, Miracle Bread.  (I didn’t have to though as I remembed a loaf I had in the freezer still. Sweet!)  I just wish I still had some of that fresh milk left from the ice cream I made last week.  Store-bought worked just fine.  Although, after considering the amount of butter going into this dish, I decided to use fat free milk and was please with how creamy the flavor was still.  

Stacked up triangles in baking dish

I really loved this “pud” straight out of the oven, while it was still steamy and wafting with cinnamon and fruity smells.  But I had some again (just now actually), chilled, and it was equally good, just quite different in nature.  When it’s warm, you really get a distinct set of textures in your mouth: creamy softness from the bottom parts that turned almost to custard juxtapose against the crisp toasted points of bread that have a little extra crunch from the sugar.  When it’s served cold, this pudding’s textures are more harmonious, but the fruity flavors are noticeably intensified.

Pouring eggs and milk mixture over bread

I have a birthday coming up…shhh, for goodness sake, don’t tell anyone!  I’m thinking about having some friends over for a casual meal and some good port wine. I think this bread and butter pudding would be an easy-crowd pleaser that could serve as a bridge between the savory dishes and the double chocolate fudgey birthday cake.   It’ll be good evidence too that you can teach an old dog new tricks! 

Golden top of bread and butter pudding

Berry Bread & Butter Pudding
Adapted from Cooksister

8 slices of white bread (this recipe for homemade works great)
½ stick of butter, softened
½ C. strawberry or other berry jam (this recipe for homemade works perfectly)
1 C. mixed dried cranberries, raisins, and blueberries
3 T. raw sugar (use light brown sugar if need be)
2 t. ground cinnamon
2 eggs
2 ½ C. fat free milk

Lightly grease a baking dish and set aside.  Generously spread one side of each slice of bread with softened butter. Stack slices in pairs with buttered sides together.  Generously spread the top side of each pair with jam and flip that slice over so the jam is sandwiched inside and the new top side is a buttered side.  Repeat with all four “sandwiches”. 

Cut sandwiches into quarters to create triangles and then shingle triangles, buttered side up/out, with the points facing upwards in the baking dish so they are evenly spread over the whole dish.  Sprinkle mixed dried berries over the bread triangles and then dust evenly with cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of the sugar. 

Beat the eggs and whisk together with the milk.  Pour evenly over the bread and sprinkle with the remaining tablespoon of sugar.  Allow contents of dish to sit for 15-20 minutes to soak up the liquid. 

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Bake the bread pudding for about 45 minutes or until lightly set and golden brown.  Serve warm or cold on its own or with a dollop of whipped cream. 

(serves 5-6)

Serving of pud

Entry filed under: Preserves, Recipes, Sweet Treats. Tags: , , , , , , .

Exotic Concoction A Teaser

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VegeYum  |  March 31, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Wow, wish I was there to help you demolish this. I looks wonderful.

    Reply
  • 2. radish  |  March 31, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Mmm… bread pudding.. one of the most perfect things in the world.

    Reply
  • 3. Penny  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    yup, we LOVE Bread and Butter Pudding here in the UK, unfortunately haven’t made it for ages due to need to keep waist line in check. Watch out for burnt raisins though – YUK
    Penny

    Reply
  • 4. swandiver  |  April 1, 2008 at 1:04 am

    I really want to try this. I think I’m going to try and use a homemade brioch instead.

    Reply
  • 5. nug  |  April 1, 2008 at 3:39 am

    thanks for the recipe, looks yummy and easy🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  April 1, 2008 at 6:51 am

    VegeYum – Thanks for turning me on to it! You’re welcome any time to come help me demolish food. 🙂 By the way, I saw we’re co-judges for the next Click! Event. Very cool! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Jennie  |  April 1, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Radish and Penny – You mean to tell me you both knew about Bread and Butter Pudding and didn’t think to mention it to me before??😉

    Swandiver and Nug – Using brioch would be perfect and, yes, it is very easy. Let me know if you both make it and how you liked it… 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. simplekitchen  |  April 1, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I have try this recipe with several modification for example I dont cut the bread into the triangle shape and I used fresh grape instead of raisins. It tastes soooo good and my kids like it very much. Thank you again Jennie …

    Reply
  • 10. gintoino  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Its been a while since I last came to your blog (toooo much work, to less time to do the things I like – I have been feeding myself on frozen piza for the past two weeks and done almost no gardening), and I sure missed it. This bread and butter pudding sure looks/sounds delicious. I had eard about bread and butter puding but never tried it. Oh, and the icecream from the previous post…..I started looking for that matcha powder but no such luck until now. I really want to try it!

    Have you tried the massa folhada yet? If so, how was it?
    We have a few recipes of bread based pudings here in Portugal. If you’d like I can try to find some and email them to you.

    Reply
  • 11. Kimi  |  April 1, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Love your blog, can’t wait to try some of these recipes!

    Reply
  • 12. VegeYum  |  April 1, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Dont you just love how this starts – a chance comment, a link to a blog, falling in love with a recipe and cooking it, someone else cooks it, and so it goes. Totally fascinating.

    I mentioned to you in my email that I also used to cook a recipe with meringue on the top – this morning I remembered it was called Queen of Puddings! The recipes that I have found all use fresh breadcrumbs, which you can make from your bread, but I used to make it like a b&b pudding and then put the meringue on top of this. Here are some places to look. An Australian one first.

    http://www.cuisine.com.au/recipe/queen-of-puddings

    http://happylovestrawberry.blogspot.com/2007/12/shf1-proof-of-pudding.html

    http://bread-water-salt-oil.blogspot.com/2007/04/queen-of-puddings.html

    http://www.tesco.com/recipes/product.aspx?R=1118&bci=19%7CDessert (a lovely plum version)

    See you in CLICK!🙂 Glad we are doing it together.

    Reply
  • 13. Jeanne  |  April 1, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    What a lovely adaptation of the recipe I posted! I love the colours & can almost smell it colming out of the oven from your lovely pictures🙂

    Reply
  • 14. gintoino  |  April 1, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    See what I mean? I just commented twice on your blog…I really am too tired…

    Reply
  • 15. Jennie  |  April 2, 2008 at 7:51 am

    SimpleKitchen – Lovely adaptations to the recipe and I like your post on it. 🙂

    Kimi – Thanks!! Come back often. 🙂

    Jeanne – Thanks so much for helping me achieve bread and butter pudding nirvana. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Jennie  |  April 2, 2008 at 8:03 am

    Gintoino – I’ve missed having your comments! Working too much? That’s no good. 🙂 And frozen pizza for dinner? 😦 The bread and butter pudding is very easy and quick so you should have that for dinner sometime soon. Yes, please send bread pudding recipes from Portugal! I haven’t had a chance to attempt the folhada yet (so much has changed for me over the past few weeks – it’s been very busy and I can’t wait to tell everyone about it but need to find some time to write a post about it). It will probably be another week before I can attempt the pastry. But I still dream of it at night! 🙂

    You should get some sleep! Commenting twice is okay though…I have a “master” delete button. Very handy sometimes. 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear all about your new plants in the garden this year! I am starting quite a bit myself. Can’t wait to exchange ideas/photos!

    Reply
  • 17. Jennie  |  April 2, 2008 at 8:05 am

    VegeYum – Yes, getting this recipe idea from you and then seeing how much of an impact it has is quite fascinating. I love it! 🙂 Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you for these new pud recipe ideas! Can’t wait to try! 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. gintoino  |  April 2, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Bread and butter pudding for dinner….now, that’s an idea! If ever I can get home before 10 pm tonight I will do it. I will try it with my home made pomegranate jam! And maybe some fresh strawberries from the garden? Hmmmm I can feel my taste buds getting all excited…

    Reply
  • 19. Gretchen Noelle  |  April 2, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Personally, I haven’t done anything quite like this, but it is a great idea! I love that it has the jelly in there. i wonder what it may be like as a PBJ bread pudding with some nuts chopped in. I may have to make some white bread and hop to it!

    Reply
  • 20. "at bing"  |  October 12, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    “at bing”

    “[…]m Just desire to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your post i 4k[…]”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


