The Real Deal

April 9, 2008 at 4:32 pm 8 comments

slices of pumpernickel

Alright, so first, let me tell you how grateful I am for the outpouring of support for my thematic tweaking of the blog and for my gutsy or wacky, depending on which peanut gallery you’re seated in, career change.  You ladies and gents rock!  I mean that!  I really have been second guessing my sanity the past few weeks so any and all morale boosters are much needed.  Did I mention I ticked off another decade this past week too?  I’m not telling you which one, but let’s just say I’m fearful I’ve left the “young woman” stage of my life behind.  On my birthday, I was on my knees, pulling weeds, and wondering which synapse exactly in my aging brain short-circuited when I decided to leave my cushy manager’s position for *this*.  Fortunately, I’ve since halted plans to surgically remove that faulty synapse, realizing after planting several 10-15 feet tall trees among towering 200 year old Hemlocks today, that this new role is pretty darn cool. 

Molasses

So anyway, eons ago, when the temperatures were below freezing (strange how that seems far in the past already), I had those wonderful Weeks of Bread.  Remember?  And in one of those carbohydrate crazy posts, I showcased a recipe for Pumpernickel Bread that proved to be a bit untraditional and promised to make a stab at a more traditional recipe in the near future.  Well, let’s see…3 months later, I’ve finally got that traditional Pumpernickel Bread recipe for you.  This batch was much more along the lines of what most people think of when they imagine those dark, dense loaves with a molasses nip in the flavor. 

Dough

It is very time consuming though, so be forewarned.  And it still didn’t meet the standards of the pumpernickel aficionado (D), supposedly too “homemade” tasting.  Um, yes, it is homemade, my dear; how insightful of you.  I personally enjoyed its moist dense interior and crackly exterior, but I guess D was expecting, yet again, a loaf much more similar to that which he buys in the store.  Take that review for what it’s worth.  I would suggest trying this recipe for yourself and, assuming you like it as much as I did, planning to bake big batches of it at a time and freezing it until ready to use.  The fermenting period, coupled with the long sauna session in the oven, make this particular bread a bit difficult to “whip up”.  For the record though, the initial step of getting the ingredients incorporated into a dough is one of the fastest and easiest of any bread I’ve ever made. 

unbaked loaves

As may be foreshadowed by my slowness to post this recipe, making traditional pumpernickel is only for those with some reserves of patience or mad multitasking skills. 

Traditional German Pumpernickel Bread
Taken from The Practical Encyclopedia of Baking

4 C. rye flour
2 C. whole-wheat bread
2/3 C. bulgur wheat
2 t. salt
2 T. molasses
3 ½ C. warm water
1 T. vegetable oil

Lightly grease two loaf pans and set aside.  Combine the rye flour, whole-wheat flour, bulgur wheat and salt in a large bowl. 

Mix molasses with the warm water and vegetable oil.  Add liquids to the flour mixture and combine to form a dense dough.  (You do not need to need this bread at all, just mix with a spoon.)

Divide dough between the two prepared pans, pressing it into the corners and leveling the top.  Cover with lightly oiled plastic wrap and let sit in a warm place for 18-24 hours (the longer the better). 

When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 225 F.  Remove the plastic wrap from the pans and then cover them tightly with aluminum foil.  Fill a roasting pan or other large baking dish three-quarters full with boiling water and carefully place on the lower rack of your oven.  Place covered loaf pans on the top rack directly above the pan of water.  Bake the loaves for 4 hours.

Raise the oven temperature to 325 F.  Uncover the loaves and add more water to the pan below them if needed.  Bake for another 40-45 minutes or until the loaves are firm and the tops crusty. 

Let cool in the pans for a few minutes before turning out onto a rack or towel to cool completely.  Wrap tightly in plastic and let “cure” at room temperature for 24 hours.  Serve sliced thinly, topped with cold cuts or pate.

(makes 2 loaves)

 

Traditional Pumpernickel Loaves

Entry filed under: Bread, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Do Not Adjust Your Monitors Fiddling Around

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nick  |  April 9, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Oooh, nice and healthy bread. It looks delicious, I may have to whip up a batch of this. Excellent pictures, thanks!

    The Peanut Butter Boy

    Reply
  • 2. gkbloodsugar  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:58 am

    I can almost smell it from here. That is some perfect Pumpernickel

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Oooh, thanks! I’ve been looking for something like this… definitely going to give it a shot!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennie  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Nick, GK, & Sarah – It’s indeed some lovely pumpernickel! Glad you all enjoyed the post/recipe so much. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Cheryl  |  May 14, 2008 at 10:11 am

    It looks lovely; I can’t believe I missed it when you first posted. I don’t see anything that looks like a rising agent in the ingredients, meaning I’ve gone past my limited understanding of bread chemistry. What do these do while they’re sitting warm for 18-24 hours? Should I expect them to expand in size?
    I will give this a try next time I’ll be home to supervise (between weeding bouts, I suspect.)

    Reply
  • 6. Jennie  |  May 14, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Cheryl – You’re right…there’s no levening agent in this recipe. The bread dough does NOT rise at all. Pumpernickel (or at least the traditional kind) is meant to be very dense so there’s no need to get the air bubbles yeast creates. The reason for letting it sit out so long is to let it “ferment”, deepening the flavor of molasses. So, don’t worry about it doubling in size or anything. Just let it sit, warm and happy, and then bake it off. Enjoy!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Carlyn  |  January 6, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I just found your website, and its fantastic! I think I’m coming a bit late to the conversation, but just to add:
    The reason why this Pumpernickel doesn’t taste like anything you buy in the store is that most store bought Pumpernickels are a hybrid of Pumpernickel and Sourdough, which gives it that extra kick and a different texture. I haven’t tried to make it myself, but perhaps adding a sourdough starter to the mix would give it that more ‘store bought’ taste.
    Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  • 8. Jennie  |  January 6, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Welcome, Carlyn! Interesting tidbit you shared. I didn’t know that and am now very curious to try the sourdough starter. Hmmm… perhaps another round of bread recipes are in order this winter! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Google Add to My Yahoo!

All text and photos © 2007-2012 Straight From the Farm. Contact straightfromthefarm (at)gmail(dot)com to ask for permission before reprinting in any format.

Archives

Fill in your email address below to get new posts sent to your inbox so you'll never miss a great recipe!

Join 460 other followers

Favorite Photos

LNF Tags1923

LNF Tags1922 copy

LNF Tags1921

LNF Tags1919

LNF Tags1918

LNF Tags1917

LNF Tags1916

LNF Tags1915

LNF Tags1914

LNF Tags1913

More Photos

My site was nominated for Best Food Blog!

CookEatShare Featured Author
view my recipes
CookEatShare Featured Author

The Foodie Blog Roll


